AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 06:49 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

Angry Im about to cry

I took my comp in right? they told me i need a new processor. so i buy one then i get everthing back to gether, and it ****ing beeps at me, no video. it beeps for about 2 secounds then stops. i see if the video works by the fan thats on it, and yes it works. im just about to fall down and cry so pissing me off, took me 3 hours to finally get it back to gether, just to find that it doesnt work.

UGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG GGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 08:46 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

If you paid for them to diagnose it then, take it back to them and tell them that they didn't fix it the first time.
$.02
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 02:52 PM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

Quote:
Originally posted by robbie
If you paid for them to diagnose it then, take it back to them and tell them that they didn't fix it the first time.
$.02
Rob

I agree, return it and say it wasnt setup properly......if that fails start to make a big scene in the store, the last thing they want is a VERY pissed off customer making a scene infront of other customers
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 09:42 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Ouch. This biteth the big one! If the retailer is responsible, by all means tell it like it is. Remembering that honey draws more applause than vinegar. Try not to show 'em how po'd you are. If being polite doesn't get you what you want, then consider ranting.

While some etailers don't want a po'd customer on their hands, some simply don't give a rat's tail. In that case, you can wind up looking like an idiot. Sad, but true.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 01:27 AM
BMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Home Sweet California
Posts: 264
Send a message via ICQ to BMan Send a message via AIM to BMan Send a message via Yahoo to BMan

i paid him to diagnost it, not to fix it, thats another 70 bucks
__________________
AMD AthlonXP 2600@2.1Ghz
EPox 8rda+ NForce 2 chipset
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro 128 MB Zalman Heat pipe
2 256 Corsair 3500 DDr XMS 400 + 1 256 corsair value
80GB WD 8MB cache@7200 RPM -| 133 serial ata
120gb WD 8mb Cache@7200 RPm -| 133 serial ata
8x dvd+rw
40x12x48 CDRW
450 Emerex Power Supply
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 03:08 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally posted by BMan
i paid him to diagnost it, not to fix it, thats another 70 bucks
Then tell him that his diagnoses didn't fix it and he still owes you.

I deal with this all the time with my job. I have to follow up on other techs cuz they didn't fix it right the first time, or they ask me to take a look at it becuase it is beyond them.

Not to step on any of there toes they are great at what they do but sometimes a second set of eyes does ALOT of good.

I still say he owes you.
$.03
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2003, 12:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Kaarina, Finland
Posts: 40

Sometimes taking everything apart and putting it together again helps. Check and double check everything, it might help... or then not.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th April, 2003, 02:53 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

If I were in your shoes.......

Tear it down.
Reset the bios <new processor / New bios settings>
rebuild with minimal components. < just get it running>
Once it is working, start adding stuff back in.

Just my $0.02 < I'm expecting change back>

__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd May, 2003, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 42

Might be to late for a response but oh well....

From the discription of your beep error code it points toward you memory or possibly you vid card as a second choice, Typically with an award bios 1 long beep is a memory prob.

If the tech advised you to get a new processor then i would go and slap them in the face and ask for your money back because i bet that your processor was fine!!

Things to check if its not to late:

1. Check for bad earths ie make sure that you dont have any riser's poking into the board where there not required, leads dangling on the board, etc

2. Re-seat you Processor and Memory paying attention to the fact that on some mobo's Ram can sometimes need a little extra "persuasion".

3. Reset CMOS (ensure you physically unplug the power before you do this).

4. Boot with just the CPU and RAM installed only; no vid card, hard drives etc, this is fine to do and will not hurt anything. with a functioning board you should receive 1 short then 2 long beeps which advises you that the video card has a problem (yeah its not plugged in derrr? ). Which means also that your ram is functioning. If it still gives you the same beep then its a safe bet its the RAM. If it gives 1 short 2 long put the vid card in and hook up a keyboard and monitor and see if you can get into the bios, if so whoopee! And add components one by rebooting every time, just incase there are other faulty components.


Either that tech was a con artist or a moron!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd May, 2003, 06:06 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA Forums, GaulHahn!

Excellent post!


Note for BMan, "earth" means "ground."
__________________
When the world will be better.

Last edited by cloasters; 3rd May, 2003 at 06:10 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th May, 2003, 05:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 42

Thanks Cloasters
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th May, 2003, 03:39 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Thank you for the "thank you." Helpful posts are always most welcome, GaulHahn!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2003, 10:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 43

Is it possible that when he diagnosed it he made it slightly unfixable so you mite go back to him to get him to fix it meaning more money for him?
Harsh perhaps but some places are like this....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2003, 12:55 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Its probably a good idea to keep support and sales seperate.

Asking advice in shops is allways a bit awquard as they want to sell you stuff.

Email your motherboard manufacturer as there more likely to be able to give good quality advice.

What error code you you get on your epox P80P display?
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2003, 11:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 16

i agree with gaul's diagnosis. based on the beeps at boot up, make sure you have the ram in correctly. Also, obviously, clear the cmos before powering up, of course.

i'm not sure you needed another cpu in the first place. but i can't tell from here and i don't know your whole story.

again, first clear your cmos, then check that your ram is in tight and compliant (you better not be using any old double sided ddr) with your mobo, and make sure you have a working vcard. Then you can finally powerup. If all goes as it should, you can then tweak your bios to your hearts content.

after a good boot, you may want to double check the cpu tweedledum told you was faulty.
__________________
over 28 ghz in combined axp, xeon and p4 power in my bedroom alone.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0