AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2001, 03:10 PM
wyrlwyn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Phoenixville PA
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to wyrlwyn

shim + 0 thermal paste = -$100

ok, i'm a moron...
i bought a thermaltake mini super orb and useda shim, with no thermal paste. within 20 seconds of booting the system, i fryed my 1 gig athlon. my questio is, since it was in the middle of reading the ram, would that have wiped the motherboard or the bios?
i have an asus a7v133, and the athlon is dead. my question is, if i buy a new athlon, it should work fine right(with thermal paste and no shim)?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2001, 07:25 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Rule #1: Always use thermal paste
Rule #2: Not too much though!



Oh dear, sorry to hear you fried your chip. See rule #1. My guess is that your motherboard is still fine. Get a new chip, and you should be rockin' again.

This time, apply a paper thin layer of thermal paste (see rule #2) between the CPU and the heatsink. You can still use the shim if you want to, but then make sure to put grease in between all the 'layers' (Like this: Cpu, grease, shim, grease, heat sink, fan).

The grease will fill the small spaces between the CPU and shim and/or heat sink to avoid small air pockets that can turn VERY HOT, but also to increase thermal conductivity.

Good luck with it!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2001, 08:04 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Allan
This time, apply a paper thin layer of thermal paste (see rule #2) between the CPU and the heatsink. You can still use the shim if you want to, but then make sure to put grease in between all the 'layers' (Like this: Cpu, grease, shim, grease, heat sink, fan).
I wouldn't recommend putting any thermal paste on the shim. The shim's job is just to prevent excess pressure from being applied to the corners of the silicon, rather than helping conduct heat.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2001, 04:42 AM
wyrlwyn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Phoenixville PA
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to wyrlwyn

i know i didn't apply enough thermal paste, i didn't put any on.i understand i fryed the cpu, my question is that if the cpu is fryed DURing the post of the bios, will that destroy the bios for good? or since the biso is read only, and you can turn a computer off during the loading of the bios, would it still be ok if the cpu is fryed while reading, kinda like pulling the plug on a hard drive while your reading a web site, it would just stop. but i now that a web site and the bios are very diffrent, thats why i'm asking, would the bios be messed up?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2001, 05:37 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

naw it shouldnt mess the bios. 95% chace your OK
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2001, 03:13 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

it'll be fine. It's the same as hitting the reset button or turning it off during boot up.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2001, 04:59 AM
wyrlwyn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Phoenixville PA
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to wyrlwyn

well, i'll have to get a cpu then.
so, i'mg ueesing since the mobo probebly isn't busted, my xtasy geofroce3 ti 500, game theater xp, 56k modem, and 768 megs of mircon ram should be ok as well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2001, 11:27 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

yeah. the only way they wouldn't be is if your power supply fried them, but I don't think that's the case here.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2001, 04:57 AM
Qube's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: :: Canada ::
Posts: 24
Send a message via ICQ to Qube

It's the shim. You cannot use any shims with ThermalTake orb coolers.
__________________
We're Cooling for a better Canada...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th December, 2001, 05:44 AM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Shouldn't use shims at all. Heat sinks are that hard to put on. Just attach the first side, use the slack on the clip to lay the heatsink down flat, then attach the other side.

The rest of your computer should still be fine. As long as the CPU socket doesn't look melted or damaged, it should all be fine. Especially your expansion cards and RAM. A burned CPU should send any power spikes anywhere. They just melt. Fast.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does thermal paste need to be re-applied? T RAND Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 19th July, 2007 09:45 AM
No thermal paste QSDT Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 21st October, 2005 08:13 PM
Applying thermal paste Agentsmith413 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 6 12th September, 2004 04:38 PM
Thermal paste application and removal karbon86 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 16th June, 2004 01:46 AM
Where to buy heatsinks/thermal paste/ etc... Neofate EPoX MotherBoards 4 13th February, 2003 07:36 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0