AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 03:11 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

Freezing.....again!!!!

I recently formatted and installed my Asus 4-in-1 drivers, SBlive driver, Asus AGP driver for win2k, IDE controller and DX9.0a


NOW, i just installed Elite Force 2 and i can't go for more than 30secs in the game w/o it freezing COMPLETELY (no ctrl-alt-del) it has to be rebooted. Ive had this problem before and ppl here have helped me i just cant find the problem this time

CPU--- 50C/122F
MB--- 30C/86F
CPU fan--- 7758RPM

+12V --- 12.524V

+5V --- 4.919V

+3.3V --- 3.36V

Vcore --- 1.84V
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)

Last edited by CaesaR; 19th July, 2003 at 03:28 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 03:30 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

What kinda power supply do you have? I know Asus has a hardware monitor on it. One that will record your voltages. Let that run for a half an hour and go and surf the web and do a few other verious things like maybe burn a CD ROM. See how your voltages hold up. I had an Asus board that would HARD LOCK at random. Turns out my 3.3v rail was runing at 2.6~3.1. It NEVER ran at 3.3v. I changed out the power supply and NO more lockups.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 03:35 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

last time i had this problem ppl were telling me it was the PSU also....but im 16 and working p/t 6hrs a week(****ty) so im not making enough money to buy anything so i cant afford to buy a psu

EDIT: but i'll see what happens with the Voltages
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 03:41 AM
water_cooler20's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 154

u could try to get one off of ebay for cheap
__________________
MY RIG:
Epox 8rda+
AMD XP 2100 "AIUHB"
XMS pc3200 ram
RADEON 9800 pro 256
water cooled
soon to be cooling w/ chilled water

RIP:
AMD Xp 2400
AMD Duron 1.ghz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 03:42 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

hmmm.....i have a account of half.com, but lets make that an ABSOLUTE last resort. I dont want to spend money on a comp thats being replaced at xmas or my bday(oct)
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 03:46 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

ok, i was on kazaa(50 downloads going at once). and i was on IGNboards screwin around and the voltages didnt move
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 03:48 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

You may wanna check our classifieds. Maybe the someone in there has one for sale.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 03:50 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

nothing there.....are u sure its even the psu ?
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 03:58 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Well maybe check and make sure all your drivers are updated then. Also how long did you run the test for? I'd let it run for an hour and then check it.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 04:56 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

ROBBIE, im thinking its a driver issue i just completed 2 checkpoints in Elite Force(btw; *drooool* i love this game) and my voltages stayed the same Except the +12 dipped from 12.524 to 12.463 The temp help at 51C & 30C
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 05:16 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Yeah, see if you have all the updated drivers and any patches for the game.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 05:44 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

All my drivers are up to date and the game it patched BUT i can now go for like 20mins until it freezes wtf!!!

btw, i reinstalled the video card driver
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 05:52 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Ummmm.... temps?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 05:56 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

MB 30

proc 50


EDIT.....ive got an 18"room fan blowing 2" away from my now open case........its gonna drop 20C


EDIT2: after about 1min of the fan its down to proc48 MB28
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 05:59 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

See how it runs with the fan pointing at it.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 06:00 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

I'll go play EF2 for a bit and post after it(enevitably) freezes
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 06:06 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

If it doesn't then my guess it would be a heat issue.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 05:21 PM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

It didnt freeze because i had that 18"fan on max.


SO, we now know its a heat issue....but how can i find out WHAT is overheating ?
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2003, 06:04 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

with a 50 degree cpu I would think it's the CPU. What kinda HSF ya using?

I just checked your sig. If your still using your Tbird 900 50 is WAY too high of a temp for that chip. I'd double check to see if you installed the HSF correctly. If your not sure on how too, let me know.

Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 20th July, 2003, 01:56 AM
CaesaR's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: West Of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 314
Send a message via ICQ to CaesaR

Rob, i've had this 8000RPM fan installed with a copper sync and all the works and it was installed professionally.


the ****ing fan sounds like a jet engine

all it says on the HS/F box is "Galaxy Cooler" then "Deluxe Socket 370/A fan-001 50594" idunno what that means
__________________
Intel P4C 2.8GHz @ 2800Mhz....for now.
ASUS P4P800
1024MB DDR 400Mhz
120gig 7200RPM 8meg Cache
ATI Radeon 9600Pro
9774 3D Marks (2001SE)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System freezing.. Nate-X General Hardware Discussion 4 8th January, 2006 05:30 PM
XP SP2 and Freezing GFX Abdul CRASHED! 9 24th November, 2005 12:23 AM
Stupid freezing!!! XeroHouR CRASHED! 4 2nd August, 2005 09:48 AM
freezing!! Rain_of_Fire EPoX MotherBoards 16 11th May, 2004 01:19 AM
BB freezing pepps2010 Mobile Devices and Networking 1 12th March, 2004 01:37 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0