AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2003, 08:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Aberdeen UK
Posts: 7

Epox 8KTA3 Pro mobo (kt133) won't recognise AGP card

Athlon XP2200, Epox 8KTA3 Pro mobo (kt133), 512Mb PC133SDRAMM, Sparkle GeForce 4 MX 440, Win98SE, sound disabled, all drivers from CDs supplied with kit.

AGP card isn't recognised. Doesn't display anything at boot (can't use it to access BIOS), Windows doesn't see it either. Any ideas?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2003, 09:59 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiriad2097
Athlon XP2200, Epox 8KTA3 Pro mobo (kt133), 512Mb PC133SDRAMM, Sparkle GeForce 4 MX 440, Win98SE, sound disabled, all drivers from CDs supplied with kit.

AGP card isn't recognised. Doesn't display anything at boot (can't use it to access BIOS), Windows doesn't see it either. Any ideas?
Welcome to AOA Forums, Antiriad2097!

You might try removing, then reseating the Vidcard. AGP slots are mighty tight sometimes. If applicable, did you remove the driver for a previous Vidcard before installing this GF4 MX 440?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2003, 10:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Aberdeen UK
Posts: 7

"You might try removing, then reseating the Vidcard."

Done that. Several times. Been trying AGP only, AGP + PCI, PCI only etc. AGP card has been in and out a few times. Tested it in another system and it works fine.

"If applicable, did you remove the driver for a previous Vidcard before installing this GF4 MX 440?"

Its a new build, so no previous drivers. Tried it anyway during the above tests. POST & BIOS screens should display before Windows starts regardless of drivers.

Before its suggested, yes, I've been into BIOS and set it to start with AGP rather than PCI but no change.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2003, 03:35 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

It should work , the motherboard supports 1x,2x,4x AGP and the card is 2x,4x. As mentioned,some AGP slots are very snug, you might want to place something like a piece of cardboard between the motherboard and the case to support the board while you firmly press the videocard into the slot. Sometimes you have to really press down ,making sure of course that the hold-down bracket isn't bent. What make and rating is your PSU ? You probably need at least 165 Watts TCO between 5v +3.3v .
Bob
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2003, 05:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Aberdeen UK
Posts: 7

The card is seated deeply in the AGP slot. Its sitting nice and square.

350W PSU should be good enough - even tried bare mobo, CPU and memory - no drives or anything - just to see if BIOS/POST was visible.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2003, 06:37 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

At this point, I suggest considering RMAing this mobo. Yeah, right. It's probably well beyond any warranty. Are there any beeps from this m'board?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2003, 09:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Aberdeen UK
Posts: 7

Barely days old. Bought it Friday. Returned it today, no questions asked.

Invested in an Abit NF7 nForce2 board instead. Just rebuilt, seems to be ok so far, just the OS to go...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2003, 12:37 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Well done! A KT-133 is simply s l o w compared to an nForce2. I hope this new mainboard serves you well.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2003, 06:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Aberdeen UK
Posts: 7

Thanks.

Any idea of performance comparison between the onboard surround sound system on these boards in comparison to a recent SB Live?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2003, 07:44 PM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

Antiriad2097 , I don't know about ABIT NForce2 but with the Epox 8RDA+ the onboard sound has been said to be as good as or close to the AUDIGY sound card. That would be better than SBLive. About the only complaints I've seen posted where that onboard soundchip uses cpu cycles whereas the add-on cards don't. There are also some problems with EAX reported in some games. If you have a problem with it, ask around in forums.
Bob
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help of Epox 8KTA3+PRO tony-cat EPoX MotherBoards 0 23rd March, 2004 01:03 PM
EPoX 8KTA3 Plus Pro 48-bit LBA Support fluff EPoX MotherBoards 0 17th November, 2003 01:29 AM
Epox 8KTA3 Pro mobo (kt133) won't recognise AGP card Antiriad2097 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 27th July, 2003 10:55 PM
IDE ISA Card on an EPOX mobo. Derick EPoX MotherBoards 1 1st July, 2003 09:01 AM
EPOX 8KTA3 Pro blinky EPoX MotherBoards 3 24th January, 2002 05:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0