AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2003, 07:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Posts: 7

flashed bios and cannot get into winXP

Flashed the bios using magic flash, finished ok rebooted and the bios was corrupt? Went back to the default setting and it will not load winxp. When I tried to start system again says that file system32\ntoskml.exe missing? When I try to reboot using the xp disk it keeps saying virious files are corrupt, different one each time, whats going on, how do I get out of it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2003, 08:27 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

it try reflashing the bios again, might fix the coruption
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2003, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Posts: 7

I can't get my system to boot.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th September, 2003, 12:50 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

ok you have a dead bios, you either need to buy a new one or you can try a hot swap flash with another motherboard of the same type. This involves booting the working motherboard into dos, removing the bios chip while the pc is still on and then inserting your dead chip in its place, then proceed to flash the bios in the normal manner. If it boots successfuly after this then power down and swap the bios's back, or just use the other one as you now have 2 working chips anyway
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th September, 2003, 04:05 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Any computer shop worth its salt will have a bit of kit that'll flash your bios ex-situ. It might be quicker, cheaper and easier to get the local geek in the local store to recover your bios than to start pulling live chips out of other PCs...
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th September, 2003, 10:23 AM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

Hey i WAS that local geek doing this with live boards all the equipment you need is a motherboard set up on its box, the perfect test rig. Its dead simple to do, just be carefull not to break the bios socket housing, then your really screwed!
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to get a new flashed bios chip for 8RDA3+PRO? SHOUTSAMD EPoX MotherBoards 7 11th March, 2006 06:30 PM
Flashed bios have a problem Reaper1 64 Bit computing 2 13th June, 2004 04:08 PM
Where can I get a newly flashed BIOS? Suggestions? Chilliwilli EPoX MotherBoards 4 10th February, 2004 11:59 AM
I flashed my BIOS, I hope I did it correctly? killem1x1 EPoX MotherBoards 10 17th October, 2001 04:34 AM
BIOS, hot-flashed done Lionfish OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 5 14th October, 2001 02:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0