AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2003, 02:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 7

Unhappy Epox 8KRA2 dead?

I've just bought a brand new Epox 8KRA2 and a Athlon XP3000 CPU (retail box).

When I powered up for the 1st time, the mobo went immediately to FF on the POST and then nothing else at all and just sat there.

I've read other posts on this forum which have given me different indications as to what might be wrong, but never for this exact model of board.

One by one, I've eliminated everything apart from the CPU & mobo.

I thought it might be the CPU at first, but the fan on the heatsink starts up and keeps spinning throughout, as does the fan on the graphics card etc... so there is power getting through (a 360W PSU).

In peoples experience, do you think that my new mobo is faulty or that it MIGHT be the CPU causing the mobo to get stuck on the initial FF ?

Surely, the CPU would have its own POST code if it was faulty?

I've tried resetting the CMOS to no avail, reseating RAM (and different sticks), different graphics card, different PSU, different hard drive etc..

Help please...this is urgent!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2003, 04:49 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Naturally this comes up quite often. The only way to be sure of your MB is to remove it from your case and test with just CPU, ram and video card.

Good Luck!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2003, 09:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 7

If you read my post, I've already done that and it just gives the same FF on power up and nothing more.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2003, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotlips69
If you read my post, I've already done that and it just gives the same FF on power up and nothing more.
im having the very same problem, but with an Epox 8KHA+ mobo and an XP 2000+ ... seems like somethin in my case overloaded the card somehow ... im in the process of trying to rebuild my comp .... and those parts were spanking new too ... seems to be a bad time to buy Epox or somethin *shrugs*
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2003, 08:04 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotlips69
If you read my post, I've already done that and it just gives the same FF on power up and nothing more.
Actually I did read your post. Nowhere in it do you say that you've tested outside of your case.

If you've done that, I'd test a second known good PSU. That is known to work well with your board.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2003, 12:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 7

Sorry Daniel...having reread my original post, I didn't actually say that I'd tested the board outside the case.

I have now tried the board with an alternative PSU (300W) just for testing purposes that definitely works OK with another mobo and I still get the same result.

In your experience, what would changing the PSU achieve assuming that both were rated as 300W+ ??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2003, 12:52 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Hi hotlips69, to be honest I really haven't had any experience with the VIA KT600 chipset. What was at the back of my mind is that 300watts may not be able to provide sufficient power to you chip and chip set.

now that I've cleared to cob-webs out, what kind of power does your board look for, is it anything like the NForce boards?

Also my thought was that a badly performing PSU might be frying your gear.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2003, 01:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 7

According to the official manual that came with the board, you should use a minimum of a 250W PSU.

I've tried both a 360W & 300W PSUs now with the same result.

Incidently, in the last few minutes, I've tried my new Athlon 3000XP CPU that was potentially faulty in another mobo (Epox KT266) that I knew works ok, and the system boots up fine, so I now know that the CPU is working ok.....leaving the Epox 8KRA2 as the 99% certain culprit of my FF problems!

Can you please explain exactly what you mean when you talk about a dodgy PSU "frying" your equipment?
Will an underpowered dodgy PSU also "fry" hardware, or just make it unstable?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2003, 02:30 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Just what I've been told rather than established fact... than Power fluctuations and spikes can do damage to motherboard and add-ons.

I'd say you've made a good faith effort and that RMAing the board seems like the next step.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2003, 02:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 7

Just to let you know...I've just received a replacement 8KRA2 board, and thankfully this works perfectly with all my other hardware.

My only query about this new board is that it is revision 1.1 as opposed to revision 1.0 on my faulty board.

Does anyone know what the difference is or what was fixed?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2003, 02:29 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Glad it worked out for you at last!! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8KRA2+ Help me please Epox Tech Andyddr EPoX MotherBoards 2 14th January, 2004 10:40 AM
epox 8KRA2+ jontybk EPoX MotherBoards 3 7th January, 2004 05:22 PM
Epox 8KRA2+ Andyddr EPoX MotherBoards 1 30th December, 2003 01:22 PM
Epox 8KRA2+ Heatsink? Aurora EPoX MotherBoards 7 25th October, 2003 11:59 PM
EPoX 8KRA2+ - where in the UK? The Running Man EPoX MotherBoards 0 13th July, 2003 11:40 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0