AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2003, 02:12 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

Unhappy dead pc :( help for a noob plz..

help me all you clever wonderfull people!

plz

i have just added a router to my broadband connection so that i could get the internet etc upsatirs... we set it all up and it worked like a treat after setting some settings..
next day i played a cd on my compy w/o the internet as we were going to be putting the network cable up permanly the next day...
the day that we were meant to be putting wires up i was up early for some reason and so i turned on my compy as norm and it was dead.. well the HDD was it wont boot a thing from it or even let me load windows... has it had it..... next problem i put the origional in after taking the one that was in out and went to boot it up.... it starts to load windows but after about 20s of loading up my screen goes blank and it starts beeping at me.. the whole lot has cut out exept the beeping.. it beeps high then low for about 2 secs a time so its hi lo hi lo etc etc...
has anyone got any ideas of whats going on with it.... its stll under warentee so im going to take it back if i cant get help here lol

thank a bunch peeps.....
any help grately appreciated even if all u can tell me is that it is totaled

XmadmoeX
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2003, 05:57 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Can you provide some more details of the equipment you have? For example, what make the motherboard is. Does the old hard disk spin up at all?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2003, 07:30 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

I'm assuming all fans are spinning and nothings over heated.
Re-set the bios using the jumper on the motherboard and see if you can get into the bios setting as fast as you can, check the voltages and temps and make sure nothing is too abnormal.
Check the tops of the capacitors on the motherboard for any signs of leaking - looks like brown goo, possibly a bit crusty. If you CPU is compatable with your other pc's you might want to try swapping the cpu's over. The high, low, bios beeping is usually bad news, I cant remember exectally what they mean cus my systems have been stable for years
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 04:55 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

hi,lo,hi,lo --does it sound like a british police car siren ? If so, clear the cmos with the jumper placed in the "clear cmos" position with the psu unplugged and even the battery removed, for about 15-30 seconds. Then reverse the procedure and try to boot up. Sounds like either you overclocked it too far and the cpu or psu or memory can't handle it.
Bob
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 10:44 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

ok peeps

police car type noise it is...
no brown goo and i have overclocked it yet lol im only a begginer lol
HDD spins up and trys to boot

will load windows thta i installed previously and have forgotten all p/w too (woops) anyway... wen i try to load up the windows installer that is when it beeps....

also beeps if i go into bios so im stuck lol ... will try clearing cmos after i go offline tonite... thanks to all that have helped so far... any more is very welcom!!

nothing has over heated either its never reached above 38 degrees c

thanks peeps
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2003, 03:33 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

hey peeps... i thinks its fixed

well thanks for the advice i have reset the cmos as you all said with the jumper.. anyway i am on that very pc not typing this to you guys so its fine for now... exept...

wen i get to the POST screen it finds my HDD and CD-ROM but it fails the floppy....

what is says is: floppy disk(s) fail (40)

what does this eman and how can i cure it!!

again thanks for any help and to the help that has been given!!

chrs dudes!
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2003, 05:32 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

that means when you were fiddling inside the computer you pulled out something on the floppy. check the ribon cable and power connector. If the floppy light is on all the time you've got the floppy connector on backwards.

I've read you posts again and have a theory.
are you fans spinning slowly at all?
It's possible your motherboard has an alarm feature that will attempt to shut down the system if it detects your fans have stopped and ommit a high low warning sound. Look for signs of any dust build up or dodgy fans.
you should be able to dis-able this feature in the bios if it is the problem.

Its a long shot.

i'd recomend re-installing windows again, you said that it will boot an installation of windows, a re-install will be a good stability test, it should install with no errors at all. If you do get problems then you've possibly got a hardware fault.

Try swapping out any and all the parts you can to try to isolate the problem.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2003, 02:12 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soul99
that means when you were fiddling inside the computer you pulled out something on the floppy. check the ribon cable and power connector. If the floppy light is on all the time you've got the floppy connector on backwards.

I've read you posts again and have a theory.
are you fans spinning slowly at all?
It's possible your motherboard has an alarm feature that will attempt to shut down the system if it detects your fans have stopped and ommit a high low warning sound. Look for signs of any dust build up or dodgy fans.
you should be able to dis-able this feature in the bios if it is the problem.

Its a long shot.

i'd recomend re-installing windows again, you said that it will boot an installation of windows, a re-install will be a good stability test, it should install with no errors at all. If you do get problems then you've possibly got a hardware fault.

Try swapping out any and all the parts you can to try to isolate the problem.
hey m8y thanks for the advice i will try out the floppy... the light is always on ive just got new cabling for it some cool UV reactent ones sdo i must have put it in the wrong way *woops* i have reinstalled windows and the lot is working fine.. well it was last nite ill do like you said withe the floppy cables and test... then hopefully ill be on here tonite..
the PC badges are wicked.. the free ones from here that is
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2003, 02:13 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

im gonna take one home from work.. an older floppy drive that is just to check if it is ded or not :P
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 07:40 AM
CamoAlien's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 72

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmoe
hey m8y thanks for the advice i will try out the floppy... the light is always on ive just got new cabling for it some cool UV reactent ones sdo i must have put it in the wrong way *woops* i have reinstalled windows and the lot is working fine.. well it was last nite ill do like you said withe the floppy cables and test... then hopefully ill be on here tonite..
the PC badges are wicked.. the free ones from here that is

If the light on the floppy drive is continuously lit, then it means that you have plugged the cable into it backwards.
Make sure that the side of the cable with the red stripe is lined up with Pin 1 on the 34-pin floppy connector.
__________________
Rei Ayanami - 2x 850e | SGI Zx10 | 3d Prophet II GTS 64m DVI | SGI 19" CRT | 1024mb RAM | IBM 36Z15 | Fujitsu MAP3147NP | Enermax FS-981xpss & eg651p-ve | 3Com 3c996b-t
Misato - XP-M 2600+ | K7S5A | 1024mb PC3200 | FX5950U | WD1600JB - See them all
Asuka - 2x 667b | Supermicro P3DRE | FX5200 | SGI 19" CRT | 384 RDRAM | 3Com 3c996b-t | PX716-A | HP 9200s
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 10:05 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

yay.. or should i say NOOOO

lol thats that problem fixed....

if you look at my other post about ram i have solved thta problem

anyways i have fixed that prob and the floppy probe... but is there no end to my troubles!! :@ my HDD will not boot windows now and askes for boot disk.. but windows dont make em!! argh... im so sending this pc back to where it came from.. well without all my mods to it well my lights and cables anyway... ARGH!!!
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob Help SA66 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 4th September, 2005 12:57 AM
Hi - noob needs help. tbourner Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 22nd August, 2005 03:17 PM
Noob ? DKMOC AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 24th May, 2005 01:50 PM
Help a nOOb with first oc :) T-boz AMD Motherboards & CPUs 29 18th March, 2004 08:09 PM
Heh Heh! my first post here! i'm a nOOb again rasputin'sliver Random Nonsense! 16 24th September, 2002 12:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0