AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2003, 11:52 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

Ram not picking up

hiya agen all you lovely peeps..

i have 2x 128 kingston ram sittin in my rig but it only picks up one stick and runs fine.. i am kind of ok with this but my compy runs far slower... it was working earlier on today picking it up and all but i took them out so i could change my floppy drive.. this of wich is now sorted out btw thanks...

any suggestions???

madmoe
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 02:16 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Check to make sure both sticks are firmly in place. Then, try testing 1 at a time to see if both sticks are good in the same dimm slot. Then, lastly, try 1 working stick in each slot to make sure all slots are good.. It will take a little time, but you should be able to sort out what the cause is.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 08:17 AM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

cheers m8y ill try it tonite wen i get in from work
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 12:36 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

and hope you didnt kill one with static, rarely happens but It still does sometimes.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 02:22 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiGGinZ
and hope you didnt kill one with static, rarely happens but It still does sometimes.
lol and io cant be bothered to spen another £20 on ram cuz thats money i aint got lol...
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2003, 10:18 PM
madmoe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Location: Telford UK
Posts: 79
Send a message via MSN to madmoe Send a message via Yahoo to madmoe

hey thanks matey its all fixed cept now it wont boot... theres no end to this trouble.. is it worth sending it back its still under warrentee so is it worth it.. well it will be under warentee once i remove all my lights and gizmos.. lol or would they still accept it

anyways im off to email them witm my trouble
__________________
AMD 1100mhz
512MB RAM
jetway mobo (V6DP)
10/100 onboard lan (also 1x PCI 10/100 Lan)
16 bit sound up to 4ch spk compatible
256mb ATI9200 All In Wonder
20 GB HDD x2
case in middle of being modded 1x cold cathode red/blue light and a hole in the side! painted half of it red/blk
250w psu

Anyone got a decent spare psu... im willing to buy...

thats about it
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picking up the pieces Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 54 8th November, 2006 06:20 PM
I'll probably be picking up this book!! robbie Random Nonsense! 0 10th October, 2005 08:30 PM
Need Help With Mobo Picking Prodigy3682 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 11th March, 2003 12:03 AM
Looking 4 Advice with Picking Ram and a Case. Magelord EPoX MotherBoards 14 3rd February, 2003 02:37 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0