AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2003, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 3

Question graphics card system crash.

System as follows,

Athlon 2400xp
Asus a7v8x-x
winfast a350tdh lx fx5900
512Mb ddr
80Gb hdd
21" Dell p1110 plug n play monitor.
Windows XP Pro.

When running 3DMark the system crashes on the fourth test - 'mother nature' initially the screen becomes unstable and pixellates, then a black screen and the system re-boots itself, as if I had pressed the reset switch on the case front.

The same problem occured with my previous card - Radeon 9200se when running Maya 5.0PLE once under pressure the system re-booted.

My initial thoughts are that it could be the power supply although it is 360W.

This is really buggin me as I have bought a new graphics card to try and solve the problem and it hasn't worked.

Heeeeeelllllp!!!!

Krys.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2003, 01:03 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

The mother nature demo does push the system hard.

Is your system overclocked at all?

What memory do you have?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2003, 01:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 3

The system isn't overclocked as yet, I need to sort out some decent cooling and tidy up the internal layout a bit.

The memory is generic stuff for the time being until I can afford something better.

The CPU and mobo temperatures are pretty good, there's no record of huge rises in temperature when running the test.

My next plan of action is probably to reformat (i dual boot with windows me) and stick purely to XP pro - I was told that when you apply XP pro to a system that already has a FAT32 drive system you end up with XP running on FAT32 when I should run differently.

Other than that I'm stumped!

Cheers

Krys.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2003, 02:39 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

XP will run fine on the FAT32 file system.

Your memory is the most probable cause of the graphics corruptions. If graphics are fine in your games, then I wouldn't worry about it too much. As I said the mother nature demo does push things to the limit.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2003, 05:54 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

WHAT are you temps?!?!? If I may ask.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 03:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 76

Could be your drivers too (ATI to Nvidia). Anything connected to the MB fan headers? Pls double check your AGP settings in BIOS
__________________
EPOX 8RDA3+ rev 1.0 @stock 8RD33526BIOS
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ 266Mhz Thoroughbred B0
AXDA2400DKV3C 9307613350680
AIUHB0316MPH 27648
Thermaltake Volcano 12 (Arctic Silver Ceramique)
Vantec ICEBERQ CCB-A1C
Two Apacer 512MB PC3200
Maxtor 80GB UDMA 133 7200 rpm 2MB Buffer 6Y080L0
ViewSonic VE500
Enermax 365P-VE
Gainward GF4 4800SE 64M AGP8x
LiteOn 40x12x48x CDRW
ASUS CD-S520/A 52x
Creative Modem Blaster 56kPCI Internal DI5655
Chicony USB keyboard
A4tech MOP17 USB mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 08:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 3

Well I decided to bite the bullet, get rid of windows ME (dual booted with XP) and run solely XP pro.

In doing this I've inadvertantly solved the problem!

When I reformatted the hard drive and installed the graphics card drivers along with everything else I forgot to install the motherboard drivers (VIA 4 in 1). When i finally remembered to install these I was given a warning message for users of Winfast graphics adapters. It recommended that I install the graphics card drivers BEFORE I install the VIA 4 in 1 drivers. As I'd inadvertantly done this anyway, everything went smoothly, there are no further problems under high load and with the latest nvidia forceware drivers I'm getting an Aquamark score of nearly 33,000 (after a little bit of tweaking ).

Thanks for joining me in the head scratching tho

Cheers

Krys.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 10:04 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Glad you got it resolved...without having to spend any $$!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System was running stable, now the same crash keeps comming Wolf2000me CRASHED! 16 17th January, 2005 10:27 PM
system crash while folding dabaerman ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 23 6th September, 2004 06:02 AM
Repetitive system crash! Staz CRASHED! 2 4th February, 2004 08:01 PM
system crash in game play purplemohawkman CRASHED! 2 2nd December, 2003 02:24 PM
Keyboard/Mouse Failure, Then System Crash - 8K5A3+ Angstromm EPoX MotherBoards 0 6th October, 2003 07:40 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0