AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2003, 02:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 4

Exclamation Uh-oh! Checksum Error? Please Help!

Okay ... I am a proud new owner of an Epox 8HDA3+. The board is absolutely wonderful and performs like a charm.

So, I come into this forum to poke around and I see a thread about a new bios for the board. I clickity click a couple of links, and 'viola ... there it is on the Epox UK website, a new bios (with memory timings!!!).

It was too much for me to resist. So, I downloaded it and tried ... yes ... TRIED ... to flash my bios. I have flashed plenty of bios chips in my day and never had a problem. Unfortunately, there is a first time for everything.

As it was flashing there was a beep and the screen went blank. Now, when I try to boot my machine I get a Checksum Error message and I cannot get it to boot at all.

I have unplugged it, pulled the battery ... and reset the cmos jumper. All to no avail. The error code listed on the board is 41, which in the manual is "reserved."

How much trouble am I in?!?! Does anyone out there have any ideas?

PLEASE HELP!!!!

RJ
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2003, 11:59 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Exactly which checksum error do you get?
If you're getting the one about the bootblock (from your POST code sounds highly likely), it means that the flash didn't happen properly for some reason.

Fortunately, the bootblock sounds like it's intact, so all is not lost, as long as you have access to another computer, and a floppy drive!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2003, 12:11 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

This is a rough guide on how to recover should you be getting the bootblock screen.

The bootblock that's left is enough to execute an AUTOEXEC.BAT file from a floppy disk (This is the real reason why mobos still have floppy drive controller! )

You need a (DOS) bootable floppy disk. If you only have Win2K, XP or 2003, then you'll have to download a bootable floppy disk image from the net, as Win2K, XP or 2003 can't generate the required disk! If you have Win95/98, then you're ok there.

Copy the award flash program (AWDFLASH normally) and the correct BIOS file (usually .bin) onto the bootable floppy. You'll then need to edit the autoexec.bat file so that it contains the following:

awdflash <biosfile> /py /sn /cc /r

You'll have to subsitute in the name of the BIOS file in place of <biosfile>. Save the autoexec.bat to the floppy.

The /py option tells awdflash not to ask you if you want to flash the BIOS, and the /sn option tells awdflash not to bother saving the contents of the BIOS chip. The /cc clears the CMOS. The /r tells awdflash to reboot the machine afterwards.

Once you've done this, you should be able to place the disk in the floppy drive of the dead machine and power it up. The machine should boot from the floppy disk and then flash the BIOS. You probably won't be able to see anything however, until the machine reboots. At that point, you should be back up and running again if all goes well!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2003, 03:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
This is a rough guide on how to recover should you be getting the bootblock screen.

The bootblock that's left is enough to execute an AUTOEXEC.BAT file from a floppy disk (This is the real reason why mobos still have floppy drive controller! )

You need a (DOS) bootable floppy disk. If you only have Win2K, XP or 2003, then you'll have to download a bootable floppy disk image from the net, as Win2K, XP or 2003 can't generate the required disk! If you have Win95/98, then you're ok there.

Copy the award flash program (AWDFLASH normally) and the correct BIOS file (usually .bin) onto the bootable floppy. You'll then need to edit the autoexec.bat file so that it contains the following:

awdflash <biosfile> /py /sn /cc /r

You'll have to subsitute in the name of the BIOS file in place of <biosfile>. Save the autoexec.bat to the floppy.

The /py option tells awdflash not to ask you if you want to flash the BIOS, and the /sn option tells awdflash not to bother saving the contents of the BIOS chip. The /cc clears the CMOS. The /r tells awdflash to reboot the machine afterwards.

Once you've done this, you should be able to place the disk in the floppy drive of the dead machine and power it up. The machine should boot from the floppy disk and then flash the BIOS. You probably won't be able to see anything however, until the machine reboots. At that point, you should be back up and running again if all goes well!
O.K., I figured out all of that stuff and it actually booted into awdflash. Yahoo! But now I get this prompt ....
"Support NForce input MAC, GUID function, with "/WB" to update MAC and GUID."

"Example: AWDFLASH 6a69000.bin /py/sn/nvmac:xxxxxxxxxxxx/wb"

I have no clue what "NVMAC" is, or where to get the 12 digit code (if that is what I need).

Any ideas?

Thanks for your help,
RJ
__________________

Last edited by R.J.; 12th December, 2003 at 03:34 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2003, 04:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by R.J.
O.K., I figured out all of that stuff and it actually booted into awdflash. Yahoo! But now I get this prompt ....
"Support NForce input MAC, GUID function, with "/WB" to update MAC and GUID."

"Example: AWDFLASH 6a69000.bin /py/sn/nvmac:xxxxxxxxxxxx/wb"

I have no clue what "NVMAC" is, or where to get the 12 digit code (if that is what I need).

Any ideas?

Thanks for your help,
RJ
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Aedan, you rule! Thank you ... Thank you ... THANK YOU!

I am up and running.



RJ
__________________

Last edited by R.J.; 12th December, 2003 at 04:34 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2003, 11:01 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Welcome to AOA RJ! Glad you found the answer you needed!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2003, 01:32 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by R.J.
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Aedan, you rule! Thank you ... Thank you ... THANK YOU!

I am up and running.



RJ
Now how about checking out our folding section!?!?!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Coms Checksum Error?? Yamboo29 EPoX MotherBoards 11 6th October, 2006 09:36 PM
CMOS checksum error Razorfish CRASHED! 15 15th December, 2004 05:54 PM
HELP! BIOS checksum error when OC... HELP! EvilTechie EPoX MotherBoards 2 9th March, 2003 10:10 PM
BIOS Rom Checksum Error! The Doors EPoX MotherBoards 3 19th February, 2003 04:11 PM
bios checksum error dargeth EPoX MotherBoards 15 5th January, 2003 05:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0