AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2004, 07:04 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Ensure that the small case speaker is connected to the motherboard - else no beeps.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2004, 08:36 PM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

It is, . Hey Gizmo, did you ever get any beeps on this board using my speaker b/c I've never heard it beep before and that makes me think it might not be working.....lol.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2004, 08:37 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Yes, your little piezo speaker works just fine. Sorry.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2004, 10:30 PM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

Lol. good
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 09:38 PM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

I got my new case and PSU. I hooked the 12v connector up and it still wouldn't boot. Any ideas?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 09:49 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

What happens when you press the power button on the case?

Are you sure that the trailing lead from the button is connected to the correct pins on the motherboard?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 09:55 PM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

Yea. All the fans spin and the RAM light stays lit. No beeps from speaker though.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 10:41 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

have you got the vid card connected?
what type of card is it?
what type of ram?
the led only signifies power going to ram.. not that the ram is working with the board. there have been a few issues with this line and ram, however it seems that every time i send them an email about the issue, shortly after(like 2-3 days) they have a new bios out.
i have never had an issue with any gigabyte board..but i'm sure between the heads here we'll get u running.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 11:02 PM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

Cool. Gizmo checked it out using all my parts (except proccessor) but I have went through 5 processors with this one comp and still can't get it to run! Thanks for your help. No beeps still
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 11:03 PM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

Gizmo got the board to boot w/ my parts when I shipped it to him.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 11:51 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Ok. Back to basics. Pull everything but the CPU off the mobo. When you get done, the only thing still attached to the mobo that wasn't there from the factory should be:

CPU and HSF, power cables from PSU, speaker, power switch from case.

Power it up. Any beeps?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2004, 12:12 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

lemmee check after dinner
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2004, 12:22 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

No. No beeps. Does this mean only one this? The cpu is dead? How can this be? I've went through 5 that were tested! (well 3 of them were)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2004, 02:11 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Are you sure your not chipping the cores when your installing the HSF?!?!!?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2004, 02:17 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

lmao
yes
im using a shim
i know it doesnt guarantee it
but NO im not chipping it
lol
thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2004, 03:47 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

the other possibility is not enough contact between the hsf and the proc...ever power up a athlon with no heatsink?.....instantly cooked....even putting your finger on the proc will keep it alive...for a while...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2004, 04:06 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

How are you applying your thermal paste? Is it a nice even thin coat over the entire surface of the core?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2004, 05:45 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

I outline the core edges then put some on top and the HSF sandwiches it and spreads it. Im gonna get another proc
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2004, 06:55 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

a few things...what is the dip switch set to for fsb? on or auto?should be auto.
make sure a clk ratio switches set to off(up)
does your psu have a 12v atx connector? there is one between the ports and the socket. no cable there..system will turn on but not boot.(this line powers the pci + agp)
replace the cmos battery if you can.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2004, 11:18 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

Yes. Switches are al set that way and yes thw 12v is connnected.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC wont boot Necorum CRASHED! 9 25th November, 2006 04:17 PM
Comp. won't boot Part 4! NeVeRmiNd CRASHED! 26 11th September, 2004 01:51 AM
8KRA2+ SATA/RAID (boot problem solving part.2) henryha EPoX MotherBoards 1 2nd December, 2003 03:11 PM
help pls.... just built a comp and it wont POST kelvinblade EPoX MotherBoards 13 19th October, 2002 04:16 PM
cant boot, wont boot, cant flash, wont flash. cant live, help stallen CRASHED! 27 4th September, 2002 08:55 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0