AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 03:15 AM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

DFI Infinity bios dead? :(

Ok, first of all im using the 1/31 Bios for the DFI Infinity NF2

Here's my system
1700
256 pc3500 geil bh-5
swiftech mcw5000 watercooled
DFI Infinity NF2 Ultra

I was steady at 245X9.5 (1.85vcore, 1.8vdd, 3.2 vdimm)

I shut down, tried to boot at 250 X 9.5 (1.9vcore, 1.8vdd, 3.2vdimm)

so all i did was really change the vcore. I havent gone above 1.85 before i got my watercooling going (the other day), so im thinking it may have had something to do with the voltage change.
Im running a 400w PSU with 25A on the +12v, so i don't think thats the problem, it's running CDRW, CD, 7X80mm, 1X120mm.

I tried flashing the bios, holding insert and even taking the bios battery out to no avail. Im thinking i've got a dead bios chip

My question is, does anyone know where to get a chip for this board? or has anyone had a similar experience they could comment on?
thanks in advance guys, cheers!
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2004, 02:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1

Unhappy help!!!! my bios is currupt

yea, my bro has an 8k5a2 epox motherboard. he tried to flash the bios cuz all the time in windows xp home edition he would get the "blue screen of death" but it never worked. now the bios is currupt, will someone please tell me how to get the bios back so my bro can have 3 computers instead of 2!
help!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2004, 05:23 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You can get replacement BIOS chips for your 8k5a2 from Epox, see their website.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2004, 01:19 AM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

ok guys, update.
so i've got zero beepcodes.
what happens when i boot the PC is the fans start up, the HD spins up, but i get nothing on the screen, and no beepcodes.
what i've tried so far to figure out which part is dead is this.
-remove CPU and boot. (started the same way as i described above)
-remove ram and boot. (started the same way as above)
-remove both at once and boot (same as above).

at this point in time, im getting pretty frustrated. Does this sound like a dead bios chip?
should i just replace my entire board?
arg! i've got this brand new w/c kit that im itching to use!
thanks in advance guys, cheers!
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2004, 07:20 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

The BIOS program handles the beep codes, so there's a good chance that a new BIOS chip would fix it.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2004, 09:16 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

great, thanks, that should save me some money then; i was thinking of replacing the entire board, but i can't go wrong for the cost of a new bios chip
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2004, 09:22 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

It's worth trying. It does sound like a BIOS chip problem - this doesn't guarantee that there are no other faults. The odds are in your favour, though.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2004, 09:24 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

yeah, looking good.
one thing that may be off is that in my sparetime i checked under the heatspreaders of my ram and took a little nick out of the corner of the chip (no connections are exposed), so im hoping thats o.k.
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2004, 09:33 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

With plastic packages that are used on most memory chips, I expect you will be alright.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th May, 2004, 04:20 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Some insight for you, chris my friend.

This may or may not help, but something to read about. http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...threadid=35538 Try STEvil's advice as well.

It is also likely that your board AND BIOS chip maybe totally fine. Not even a single scratch. There are huge number of people RMA'ed their DFI boards when they are actually not broken. RMA'ing the healthy working boards isn't so cool, is it?

Try some of the things mentioned in that site and repeat the process over and over and over and over and over again. 10 times if necessary. it may take 10 minutes or so.

I have never killed BIOS chips from my DFI Lanparty LP b both Taiwan and China versions. Killing BIOS seems to be difficult thing to do.


Another suggestion:

Don't ever, never, ever, never, ever, never, ever change out memory sticks at ANY overclocked state. I assume you changed out the sticks AFTER you reset CMOS. Reset CMOS even if the board doesn't boot on you when you try. It can STILL f#@K you up. Once you blow out the memory controller, game over.. no bios chip or any troubleshooting will do it. This applies to ALL boards, including Intel boards. Just a tip...
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 25th May, 2004 at 05:23 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2004, 09:49 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

Hey guys,
thanks for the insight
whatever: i just finished giving those troubleshooting methods a try. im currently waiting 10 minutes with the cmos battery out. Gonna keep trying, and if it's a no go, time for a new board ! doesnt matter too much, not a very expensive board, but I had a good one i think, it did 250FSB stable w/ my ram :<

one thing i did note is that the keyboard numlock light doesnt even turn on-i can press the numlock key and still no go, same with scroll lock/capslock. However, when i toggle the main power switch @ the back of the PSU, they all briefly flash.

thanks guys,
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2004, 10:23 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

The LEDs on the keyboard are actually turned on by commands from the the mobo, so unless the mobo is coming up, you won't see anything other than the flash at power-on.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! My BIOS is DEAD!! mashakos CRASHED! 5 1st March, 2005 09:21 PM
DFI Ultra Infinity Dead Again Samuknow CRASHED! 20 17th November, 2004 05:18 PM
Dead BIOS? dod CRASHED! 5 18th September, 2003 10:32 AM
HELP!!! My Bios is dead ZeroQ EPoX MotherBoards 32 14th September, 2002 12:06 PM
I tried to update my bios. My pc is dead. help me please. Kobaia CRASHED! 8 19th May, 2002 09:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0