AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2004, 12:21 AM
nki69c's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Where all the vegietables grow in California
Posts: 136

Random Shutdowns

My computer is the one in my sig. When I kick up the FSB the computer will just shut down. There is no real consistent amount of time it takes for it to shutdown, it just happens. Today though the computer just died after being on a while and it wasn't even overclocked. I don't know what is going on. Please help me.
__________________
2600+Mobile@12x200, NF7-S v.2, 2x256MB PC3200, Sapphire 9800XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2004, 12:44 AM
nki69c's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Where all the vegietables grow in California
Posts: 136

it just did this to me three more times in the last 30 minutes. I am about to take a hammer to it all
__________________
2600+Mobile@12x200, NF7-S v.2, 2x256MB PC3200, Sapphire 9800XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2004, 01:05 AM
nki69c's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Where all the vegietables grow in California
Posts: 136

So I turned off folding at home and the computer is good great grand and wonderful
now I just need to get my satelite phone and speakers to work

i still want to know why my cmoputer hates me and FoH
__________________
2600+Mobile@12x200, NF7-S v.2, 2x256MB PC3200, Sapphire 9800XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2004, 01:30 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Try running something like BurnK6 for a while and see whether it crashes with that. If it does, you've got an overheating problem.
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2004, 12:32 PM
tlemaste's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: West Corners, NY
Posts: 79
Send a message via Yahoo to tlemaste

Get a monitor like MBM5 (motherboard monitor 5) and watch your temps and voltages. If the temp on your cpu go up during folding, or during a cpu intensive app your voltages may start to drop, or become unstable. This could be a pure heat issue, or it could be exposing a weak power supply.

Don't give up yet!!
__________________
Tom
------------------
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P
Phenom II - X4 w/stock hs/f
Rosewill Gamers Case
2x - OCZ Flex-ex 2Gb 1200 DDR2
2x - OCZ 1Gb 800 DDR2
Pioneer 22x dvd burner
2x - WD 1Tb 7200 Rpm HD
WD 600GB 7200 Rpm HD
WD 340GB 7200 Rpm HD
WD 300GB 7200 Rpm HD
WD external 1Tb 7200 Rpm HD
evga NVidia GTX 460 SE
on-board Gbe Lan
Samsung SyncMaster SA300
ACER AK2016W
Thermaltake 800 watt psu
Win 7 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2004, 07:29 PM
nki69c's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Where all the vegietables grow in California
Posts: 136

SO I am looking at my voltages because i know that this Zalman has a low +12 and sure enough +12 is at 11.67. One thing that I didn't notice was that the +3.3 is only at 3.1. I am new to voltage monitoring. I know that things not being what they should is not cool but how bad is this. Could the +12 being low affect the system like this?
The thing that drives me nuts is that I have been watching my temps this whole time and nothing got above 55C. The vid card is really hot but after a shutdown I never get VPU recover messages.
At least I've gotten past the point where I want to stab all of the computer parts with a knife until they start telling me what is going on.
__________________
2600+Mobile@12x200, NF7-S v.2, 2x256MB PC3200, Sapphire 9800XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2004, 07:41 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

It could be that your Zalman power supply is struggling to keep up with the loading you're putting on it. A number of power supplies will shut themselves down if they overheat.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2004, 07:52 PM
nki69c's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Where all the vegietables grow in California
Posts: 136

I just checked the +12 again and it is down to 11.61. I really think that I am going to upgrade my power supply. My wallet is screaming at me right now, that PSU was $89. I need a moment to cry about this one...
...*sob*...
...*blubber*...
...*sniffle*...
Okay I am going to replace the power supply, today is payday after all. What is a really silent PSU that actually puts out solid volatge especially under load?
Looks like this Zalman goes into the homemade DVR at least that will be quiet now.
__________________
2600+Mobile@12x200, NF7-S v.2, 2x256MB PC3200, Sapphire 9800XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11th July, 2004, 10:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3

Hi Nki69C

I think you are right about voltages, but to me it seems like a 3,3 volt issue.

ATX standard states 5% deviation and that means 3,3 volt should be > 3.135 volts. and 12 volts > 11.4 volts

But some monitors read the vdimm as 3,3 volts especially on nforce boards and if if your ram voltage is 3.1 i hope it is properly cooled.

try and check with bios
__________________
EPoX EP-8RDA3i nForce2 Ultra400
AMD Athlon XP2500+ Barton 1833MHz@2200Mhz
Spire WhisperRock IV 21dBA SocketA (max XP3200+)
2st TwinMOS-Winbond Original 256Mb PC3200
NQ4000 400WATT Super Silent PSU @12 - 17db.
CLUB-3D radeon 9600pro@450/700
92 mm PRC made chassis fan @7 volts
Built into a Compaq 5676 cabinet
win98 se

If you can't join them - beat them
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI K9N mobos suffer random shutdowns Gizmo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 7th September, 2006 08:49 PM
Random Shutdowns Asus KN8 m101100 CRASHED! 8 8th May, 2006 12:02 PM
Random restarts/shutdowns bhdeath11 CRASHED! 13 22nd August, 2005 02:59 PM
Half Life 2 - not so random - random annoyance kellamne GAMES! OH YEAH! 1 11th April, 2005 05:47 AM
just built my own pc. random sudden shutdowns themonkeekiller CRASHED! 48 31st May, 2003 07:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0