AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 08:52 PM
-oden-'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 103
Send a message via ICQ to -oden- Send a message via AIM to -oden-

Angry 2K Upgrade gone bad

I just tried to do a 2K upgrade on my wifes PC last night, and things didnt go too well. Usually from 98se to 2K is simple...stick in the cd and click the button. All went smooth till I told it to upgrade the drive to NTFS. Well, it performed a quick format on the drive instead or upgrading it, and now I get the disk I/O error and can't do a darn thing. Tried the 2K boot disks..no luck, can't find the floppy drive. Tried the 98se CD, and it gets all the way to the screen where it says beginning to install, then it hangs. Reset the BIOS to default, just in case. Even tried clearing the CMOS out of pure desparation(mostly cuz I was super mad)...nothing, same results.
Any ideas?

heres a list of what I've got in the case:
EPoX 8KTA3
900MHz t-bird (was at 1.12)
256MB Infineon
Radeon VE (stop laffin at me, its my wifes puter )
20GB Maxtor ATA100 7200rpm
52x Delta CD-ROM
Plextor 12x12x32A
Floppy drive
__________________
whats this brown goo oozing out of my processor?

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 09:36 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Have you tried doing a DOS Fdisk and then a DOS formatt to Fat32 ?

That might get the drive working again.

It sounds like the NTFS formatt screwed up somehow.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 09:44 PM
-oden-'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 103
Send a message via ICQ to -oden- Send a message via AIM to -oden-

I can't get it to format the disk. I get the old faithful Bad Command. I'm thinking the NTFS conversion went completely wrong. It did a quick format, then the trouble started. I may just toss the drive in my box and try to format it that way back to FAT32. Then go for a full 2K install from scratch. It just takes forever and a day to install 2k. I'm not even sure that would work though, because it seems that the drive can't even be detected. The BIOS can't see it either. I'm really scratching my head on this one.
__________________
whats this brown goo oozing out of my processor?

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2002, 10:09 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Does this mean you've tried booting off a DOS disk, and executing FDISK from that DOS disk? If the DOS disk doesn't have FDISK on it, then you will get the "Bad Command". Try using a 9x Boot disk. If you can get as far as the command prompt and run FDISK, check that FDISK can see the harddisk before doing anything more.

Disk I/O error generally indicates that either there's a problem with the disk, or the partitioning information on the disk was corrupt when Windows came to use it. Things like the disk overlays can cause problems with partition sizing.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2002, 11:57 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

To start over from 98se, boot off the CD and choose the 2nd option, boot with CD rom drivers. Once it tells you the drive letter of the CDrom, you can format. By default, 98SE loads it's setup files into a ram disk I think and calls it "A:". FDISK and use all your space. Reboot, do the same option, but this time go to the CD ROM drive letter, then change directories to \win98. Format.com is located here.
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2002, 03:04 AM
-oden-'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Posts: 103
Send a message via ICQ to -oden- Send a message via AIM to -oden-

Well, things got worse before they got better. The PC stopped displaying anything eventually. I took out everything but the vid card and ram, tried that and failed. Swapped out vid cards..failed.. Finally, swapped out the ram, and viola! a nice clean install of 2k. I have no idea how it went bad, but it did. A spare 256mb stick and I'm in business. Thanks for the help though, tis appreciated.
__________________
whats this brown goo oozing out of my processor?

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When/If to Upgrade RussianMissile1 General Hardware Discussion 4 18th May, 2006 05:18 PM
Upgrade WannaGoFast EPoX MotherBoards 19 25th November, 2005 07:53 PM
OC & RAM Upgrade RussianMissile1 General Hardware Discussion 5 18th March, 2004 02:41 AM
Loading Windows upgrade to upgrade? akaBruno CRASHED! 1 24th February, 2002 05:53 AM
Sys upgrade? Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 9 28th November, 2001 07:07 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0