AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2002, 05:06 PM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Ati3d1ag.dll--memory Dump--error--consistently

Please help me. The following file--ati3d1ag.dll--gives me a blue screen at random. I could be playing a game or surfing the internet, yet I have found that it most often occurs when I am playing a game. I have tried to until and reinstall several different driver versions, but I am assuming that this particular file does not get replaced since it has never prompted me for it. Is there anyone to fix this other than a format and reinstall?? Thanks for your help. HAHAHAHA, new faces, cool..... :-D
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2002, 05:36 PM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

*anyway not anyone, lol

also, I tried deleted the file and then possibly reinstalling the drivers, but it won't even let me do that, nor will it let me replace it with an older version of the file that windows has archived, any suggestions?? Also, is there some type of utility that I can use that verifies the integrity of all driver files or something to that affect?? Lemme know, thx



PS, gotta luv the new smilies, lol :clown:
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2002, 10:39 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Such a common ATi drivers issue. I had to experiment for quite a while with different drivers until I solved this. I suggest using the most recent drivers available. Since I have been using the most recent drivers I have not seen this issue (3-4+ months).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 04:24 AM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

I've already tried the most recent drivers and it doesn't seem to overwrite this file....any suggestions??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 11:28 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Most likely your video card is overheating. BSOD during games is most often caused by poor video card cooling. Try reinstalling the fan and or heatsink on the video card with some ASII or something. This should solve your problem.

Mook.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 06:52 PM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

Well, I doubt it's overheating, because I have tried two different cards that use the exact same driver version and they both have had the BSOD......ATI 32MB DDR AGP and the ATI 7200 64MB SDR AGP....anyother suggestions?? I will try the renaming suggestions in a minute, but Ithink I already did and it wouldn't let me, but I will try again, thx
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 07:01 PM
Aphex's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Wiltshire..UK!
Posts: 614

get an RMA number
__________________
Conrad Goodman - AOA Staff
Web designer for aoa main page And head of webdesign team.
GA7-DXR
XP1700+@1627Mhz unlocked
256MB Crucial PC2100
Aopen HX08
30GB Desktar
17" screen
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 07:05 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by CNUCompGuy
I've already tried the most recent drivers and it doesn't seem to overwrite this file....any suggestions??
Uninstall the drivers, then double check the windows\system32 folder for any ATI files, delete them, and then try to reinstall newer drivers...

after that reinstalling windows might work
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 07:16 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Ive had similar things before.

Do as pinky says and remove all the drivers directorys then run regedit and delete anything ATI related (Harder than it sounds)

Then install a known good copy of the best driver and hope for the best.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 12:28 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

I had the same exact problems with my radeon VE. Dl the newest drivers, and uninstall your old ones before you install the new ones. If you have a via chipset, you have to play around with their drivers if you're using win XP.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rondom crashes-memory dump doesn't make sense to me acgraham CRASHED! 26 2nd September, 2005 04:28 PM
C1 error code - memory slots dead??? marscay EPoX MotherBoards 19 20th August, 2005 06:23 PM
8K3A+ C1 memory error.....have i killed it ? :( FragieSpice EPoX MotherBoards 1 24th September, 2003 05:27 PM
memory dump error m1ke101 CRASHED! 2 2nd March, 2003 12:51 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0