AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2004, 02:33 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

Can't install......

My comp (I just finished) won't let me install BFV or COD or any games. It always goes like %20 or more and says it's a "Bad I/O installation file" or something like that. Why does it do that and how do I get it to stop so I can install them?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2004, 03:06 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

I think that maybe a drive problem, or ram.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2004, 03:16 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

I have 266 Mhz RAM overclocked to 433MHz, could that be it?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2004, 03:19 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

only one way to find out
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2004, 03:22 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

lmao, good idea, brb
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2004, 03:33 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Yeah, clock back some. Make sure you have the latest mobo drivers as well.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2004, 05:04 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeVeRmiNd
I have 266 Mhz RAM overclocked to 433MHz, could that be it?
I am not going to say anything else..
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2004, 11:46 AM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

Lol, I went back to 266 and it installed COD and SOF2 but it says bad media file for BFV....is this the CD (it has NO scratches)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2004, 03:41 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

could be. can you test it on another system?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2004, 08:01 PM
NeVeRmiNd's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 687
Send a message via AIM to NeVeRmiNd

yea, I'll do that now
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant install OS Daston CRASHED! 28 25th February, 2007 07:11 PM
install h.jansen05 64 Bit computing 1 26th September, 2004 01:19 PM
xp install udg21 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 13th January, 2003 01:11 PM
Install W 98 Dsherm112 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 7 20th August, 2002 09:48 PM
cant install os on new hd/mb nomuck CRASHED! 7 19th May, 2002 03:19 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0