AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2004, 06:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8

Fellow Geeks Help Me Please

So my computer downloaded some (Microsoft XP) update the other day, and after the restart it wont boot up now.

It'll only work in Safe Mode w/Net. Restore wont work or anything.

I got this message when I did the step by step it was a blue screen that said:

RQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

Any ideas? I havent installed any new Hware or Sware anytime lately...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2004, 09:33 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL almost always indicates a driver problem. It's possible that whatever update was applied managed upset a driver somewhere, so it might be worth trying to disable or update drivers one at a time until you find the culprit.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2004, 01:42 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Meh! I don't know what you've got cookin in your comp, but do NOT use Microsoft's drivers for Nvidia applications. Always use the drivers provided by Nvidia, even if Windows XP gives you that "not digitally signed" crap. I made the mistake of downloading and installing the Nvidia display drivers that XP offered on their updates and Halo and Doom 3 would not work again until I completely uninstalled the crappy drivers and reinstalled the latest Nvidia drivers. Just my 2c.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2004, 10:26 AM
cooloverclocker's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Posts: 49

I would uninstall the updates and see if this makes a difference. They should show in the "Add Remove Programs" menu. Did you install only critical updates or did you install driver updates as well? Don't install driver updates, as someone said before they usually don't work as well as the latest ones you can find for your hardware.
__________________
To those who have fallen in battle!!!!


-Abit NF7-S Rev 2
-AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ IQYHA @ 2.5GHZ (210FSB X 12)
-SLK-800 Copper heatsink
-1 GIG Corsair VS PC3200
-Samsung 120GB 7200RPM 8MB Buffer SATA.
-Sapphire ATI Radeon 9800 PRO 128MB DDR (420 Core, 366 mem)
-Arctic Cooling VGA Silencer with Arctic Silver 5 thermal compound.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2004, 03:13 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Meh! I don't know what you've got cookin in your comp, but do NOT use Microsoft's drivers for Nvidia applications
Yep the offical Microsoft driver for Nvidia is the 52.16's. I've had NOTHING but prob's with them. I highly recommend that you DO NOT use them. Get a newer driver from aoafiles or from nvidia's site.
HTH
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2004, 11:06 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

If you boot to last known good config at the boot menu it should get you back to the good config.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2004, 02:34 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

You can also try going into safe mode and updating the driver that way. (put it on CD from another computer if you can)
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2004, 07:09 AM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

i have been getting a BSOD with the same error since installing SP2, but with me, it's if I try and enter safe mode, apart from that the computer runs fine!
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2004, 01:05 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Try uninstalling SP2 and see if it persists. I installed SP2 and had a few issues. After a good format and reinstall including SP2 all has been well......
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2004, 02:12 PM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
Try uninstalling SP2 and see if it persists. I installed SP2 and had a few issues. After a good format and reinstall including SP2 all has been well......
I did a clean install of windows, followed by SP2, then all necessary drivers!
It used to do the same when I put SP2 on top of my old install!
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a fellow Dark Age of Camelot fan thrappuccino GAMES! OH YEAH! 0 7th September, 2005 05:13 AM
Merry Christmas Fellow Epoxer's CooledByWater EPoX MotherBoards 7 25th December, 2003 09:57 PM
Greetings Fellow Folders... The WeatherMan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 20 15th November, 2002 08:48 PM
Geeks! :) Random Nonsense Random Nonsense! 16 28th October, 2002 08:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0