AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2004, 08:31 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Unhappy Epox crashed

Guys this is unbelievable, this morning just before leaving for work I powered up my system to get my mail. It stopped where is saying what type of proccessor I have. Pushing DEL gave me no results. So I shut down from the button (4 sec) and when I powered up again the same thing happened. Ok I was becoming angry so I said in a minute I will set again the bios up so I cleared the cmos using the jumper. And after that just the sound of the siren. The strange thing is that usually when the clear cmos is succesful I can no longer start the pc using my keyboard, as I usually do, until I reenter the keyboard code for start up in bios. So normaly after a good clear cmos I will be able to start the pc only from the button. But now the button is off and I start the PC from the sequence on my keyboard. That makes me think that the cmos is not cleared, but then the PC is no loger giving me anything except for the siren..........I love that sound ( Boy am I in deep ....... I didn't have the time to get the manual and have a look at the two digit display so I cannot give you the error. What do you think happened? What can I do? Please help !

Sincerely troubled,

Yours...Chris

PS It's the same board - EPOX 8RDA +
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2004, 02:29 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Pull the battery, set the clear CMOS jumper for about 10 seconds, then reset it and power the system up; do NOT put the battery back in yet! See if that lets you come up.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2004, 03:52 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

When I get home tonight I'll do that. Thanks Gizmo. However I left the sistem with the jumper on clear cmos and powercable detached from PSU, but I didn't take out the battery, stupid me!!!

Chris
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2004, 04:33 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

You need to put the CMOS clear jumper back in the normal position before you power up. A lot of boards won't even POST unless the jumper is in normal position.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2004, 07:44 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Yeah, I know that and unfortunately it's not the case. In my mobo if the jumper is in the clear cmos position it will not start at all. What pisses me of is the fact that after clearing cmos from the jumper I could still start the PC with the keyboard. Until now each time I did a clear cmos I wasn't able to start other than using the button.
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2004, 04:35 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Really not a fun problem. Can you order a fresh BIOS chip for this mainboard?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2004, 05:49 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking Solved

When I got home I checked the display and it was showing 50 and in the manual it says initializing USB or somethin' and no chance of a clean boot, the system stoped after showing the processor type. So I disconnected the cable modem (USB conection) and voila...the computer returned to normal. This modem gives me a hard time. What do you guys think it's wrong with this modem? Sometimes I have to reset the modem in order to make it work. It's a brand new Scientific Atlanta with telephony. Thank you Gizmo and thank you Cloasters for your input. Should I RMA the modem?
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2004, 06:15 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Well, I think I would at least contact SA and see if they have any ideas as to what could be going on. They'll probably tell you it's a problem with your mobo, but maybe they have a firmware patch for it or something.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2004, 06:36 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

The LED codes are great!
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2004, 07:44 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Exclamation

Yeap, thank Epox for that. When I called the ISP last night and talk almost one hour they said....ohh I think the modem it's ok, try reinstalling the drivers. What happen when the internet is not working is that if I unplug the usb and plug in back it says "this usb device has malfunctioned, please contact........" and in the usb device manager it appears as unknown usb device. Ok....this may look like a driver problem but I can reinstall and uninstall 10 times the drivers but the same error it will appear. But when I reset the modem everything will be ok in just a few seconds without reinstalling the drivers!!! What the hell is wrong here?

PS This modem comes from my ISP
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2004, 07:53 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

If resetting the modem works, I'd forget about going to the trouble of uninstalling/installing its drivers. Sheesh, that was obvious, shuh!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Almost Crashed! chrisbard CRASHED! 7 22nd February, 2006 03:21 PM
Please help I crashed bad!! Smoney22 CRASHED! 16 9th October, 2005 10:43 PM
Please help I crashed bad!! Smoney22 CRASHED! 0 3rd October, 2005 09:46 PM
Epox Crashed ? chrisbard EPoX MotherBoards 3 20th October, 2004 03:25 PM
Crashed Thelemac Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 0 27th September, 2001 07:07 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0