AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2004, 06:57 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

Hard Drive Clicking

What does this actually sound like?
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2004, 08:25 AM
Lord Vetinari's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Worthing Sussex England
Posts: 325

regular clunking noise about 3 times a second- caused by the heads resetting when they can't find a sector.
If you think you can hear something like that plus get pauses when loading something, download your HD manufacturers fitness tester and test the drive.
__________________
new comp- 8RDA+, xp2100 TbredB @202*11, 2*twinmos 3200 (non winbond), 9700 pro, Maxtor 9 plus 80gb, Hitachi CML174SWB 17" LCD

Old comp KT7A Axia 1ghz @1.38GHZ,
GF3 ti200, Compaq 910 19" Monitor
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2004, 09:36 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Back the hard drive up NOW!!!! It will die VERY SOON on you. If you can RMA it, your going to down to do as Lord V said and run the software and give the code to the person on the phone when you arange that.
HTH
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2004, 06:20 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

i just noticed that while i was burning the backup cds, the drive was barely clicking at all (maybe just once or twice per minute)

but yesterday i could hear the clicking over the sound of my SF2 on my cpu.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2004, 06:22 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

what would be a good replacement for a Western Digital 120GB - 8MB cache drive?

i was thinking along the lines of a 74GB WD Raptor; so i can finally use the sata ports on my nf7-s.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2004, 09:58 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

raptors are good and if you are willing to fork out and need the performance then go ahead, the 74gb drive is the better option as well
if performance isnt the be and end all then i recomend either the maxtor plus 10 sata 200gb (cheapest per gb) or perhaps the new seagate drives that are coming soon (up to 400gb) both of which i beleive are native sata and perform very well and aer much more economical than a raptor if you need storage space
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th November, 2004, 10:36 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

i dont really need storage space, just enough for windows and several games, with space for future games.

i would also prefer faster speed to more space, because im having trouble filling my 120gb drive thats dying, what would i do with 400gb?
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2004, 12:04 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

then as long as cost isnt an issue the raptors a good choice they are only around 30% faster though
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2004, 01:57 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

meh, might as well have an uber 1337 computer instead of just a 1337 one.

they have a $25 rebate on it in newegg, so it comes out to $152.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2004, 02:08 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

do newegg do overseas? because their prices are so much better than anything over here
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2004, 02:17 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
do newegg do overseas? because their prices are so much better than anything over here
I wish they did but unfortunately they dont! How about some of us UK folk get together and request our kind friends on the other side of the pond send us some stuff out? Would the warranties be honoured by say Western Digital or AMD here?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2004, 04:23 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianMissile1
what would be a good replacement for a Western Digital 120GB - 8MB cache drive?

i was thinking along the lines of a 74GB WD Raptor; so i can finally use the sata ports on my nf7-s.
Regardless what you get, you should make sure that you cool the next drive that you get. Back when I got my WD 80gig 8m cache, I also got the faceless wonder one (natalie) I build her box not thinking that she would be leaving it on 24/7 and I build mine KNOWING that I would bee on 24/7. Thusly I made sure that I put a cooler on mine, and did not on her's.

Well, it turns out that she did leave it on 24/7 (for me, it was folding) and after about 6 months it finally started the "death click" Mine was running fine, and still do this day is.

I strongly believe that it had to do with simple $8 cooler that I attached to the sucker. I've found that putting a fan infront of the drive will help quit a bit as well. I've touched an HD without a cooler on it that's been running 24/7 and I godda say they get pretty damn hot. Mine with the cooler, only get's warm. Mine also has the fans built into it. I even took those out and just having the heat sync on it makes a ton of differance.
HTH
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st November, 2004, 08:03 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

i have a case fan blowing over the death clicking drive now. it was working fine for about 1.5 years before this click.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2004, 08:58 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

clickedy-click! its getting louder and more noticable!!!!........

i already have backups of all i need. i have a replacement drive (the raptor)

im just trying to let this one die so i can swap in the raptor shhhh!!! dont tell
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2004, 04:07 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianMissile1
clickedy-click! its getting louder and more noticable!!!!........

i already have backups of all i need. i have a replacement drive (the raptor)

im just trying to let this one die so i can swap in the raptor shhhh!!! dont tell
If you are just waiting for it to die..... opps sorry. If youare just waiting for it to die then why not install the raptor now and use norton to ghoast the failing one on to the new one.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2004, 07:33 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

i dont have norton ghost and the new one is actually at home, i dont physically have it in front of me, but it is in my possesion. i am in college, it is at home.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seagate 200G drive ugly clicking when idle! trodas General Hardware Discussion 4 7th June, 2006 05:54 PM
Is This Bad For My Hard Drive? Rondog General Hardware Discussion 11 13th April, 2006 08:55 AM
Cd Drive Hard Drive Cage amarkarian Case Modifications 4 9th July, 2005 04:15 PM
Best Hard drive set up Hoppster General Hardware Discussion 6 29th April, 2005 02:38 PM
ghosted drive and a new hard drive RangerJoe General Hardware Discussion 3 10th August, 2003 08:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0