AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2005, 09:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Posts: 35

New PC - black screen on TFT on bootup?

Hi guys

I decided I would build another PC for second room. I decided on a ASUS A7V8X-X and a Sempron 2200. My father got parts yesterday and fitted everything while I was out, everything went in OK and no problems.

Came to start it up, fans on, green light on motherboard and computer 'boots' but nothing on my TFT monitor or no BIOS beep. If I unplug it from graphics card port I get a 'No Signal' message on the TFT, but when I connect it goes to a black screen and then the monitor light goes to standby. There is no BIOS beep but there is power as the light is on and fans are working.

I initially thought it was because this is an A7V8X-X and BIOS needs flashing to get a Sempron to work in there, so tried an old Duron in there from another PC but I still get the no BIOS beep and black screen on TFT and then to standby. I have tried another graphics card in there (both 1.5V AGP as stated in manual) but still same problem. I have tried changing RAM in different slots, still same. The monitor, graphics cards and Duron CPU work on a different PC, so it is not a parts fault. I've run out of things to test.

Any ideas guys?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2005, 09:14 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Unplug everything from the mobo, and then install JUST the CPU and HSF. In this configuration you should get AT LEAST a POST beep indicating no RAM. If you don't get that, then you've got a problem with the CPU, PSU, or mobo.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2005, 02:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Posts: 35

I tried that, there does seem to be a beep but very faint. The computer sounds like its booting as the sounds are in right sequence (HD clicks, slight beep from speaker etc.) but just a black screen on monitor and then goes to standby. The CPU works in another system, so it cant be that. I dont think its the PSU as it still boots the computer/fans/LEDs etc.

Anyone any other ideas?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2005, 03:59 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Does the monitor give you an "Out of Range" message then shut off?

If so you will need to hook up a CRT monitor and install the drivers for that LCD then boot with the LCD.

If you don't get anything, what cable are you useing? If you are using the DVI cable it won't put out a digital signal until windows loads the video drivers. It may be asking for something befor that that you are not seeing.

If you have a CRT try hooking that up to eliminate all the potential problems inherant with LCDs
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2005, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Posts: 35

No, no out of range message. I also tried it with a CRT, but still the same black screen and then to standby. I'm stumped...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2005, 08:15 PM
proxops-pete's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 26

What video card is it? What rating is your PSU??
__________________
Please help save Ana!
Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2.5 GHz 275x9
Zalman CNPS9500 LED|Epox 9NPA+ Ultra
Silver Cooler Master Wave Master
2 GB PC3200 Patriot EP DDR|Antec Trio 550W
Sapphire X1900XT 512MB|Cat 6.10|Sceptre x22wg-Gamer 22"
X-Fi XtremeMusic|Klipsch ProMedia 2.1|Sennheiser HD-535
Logitech WingMan RumblePad USB|Logitech G5


Compaq R3000Z 3400+ 2.2 GHz (1.25V), 15" XGA, 64 MB Geforce4 Go 440
1 GB PC2700, 80 GB 5400rpm, Wireless G, 8X NEC Burner
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2005, 08:18 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

OK here is my suggestion for this oneisconnect the power cord.Plug the power back in and then boot, using a CRT monitor to be dure it is not an LCD issue Remove all the cards and drives from the system, remove all but one ram stick. Re-seat your AGP video card, then clear the CMOS on your motherboard. Reboot with a CRT attatched rather than the LCD, just to eliminate that as a problem. If this doesn't work, I recommend removing the mobo from the case and trying the same sort of minimum hardware test. hope this helps - if it doesn't work, try the video card in a different machine and the processor as well, then you at least would know which component is bad. Oh - and this is kind of silly, but make sure the power supply is set to 120 V if it has a switch.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 02:38 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA Forums!
Any joy, RickBaker?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help black screen Rhodesy@uk General Hardware Discussion 2 8th February, 2006 02:54 AM
Black Screen of Death? glObalist Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 16 22nd November, 2005 03:44 PM
EPoX Tech: 8K5A2+ can't bootup to bios screen, it hang w/"C1 error and beep sound. BioS EPoX MotherBoards 6 9th April, 2004 06:09 AM
Black screen after catalyst LL_NEO EPoX MotherBoards 0 12th February, 2004 08:41 PM
8RDA3+ BSODing before windows bootup screen.... RangerJoe EPoX MotherBoards 5 9th August, 2003 12:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0