AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 07:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Posts: 35

Asus A7V8X-X

We are using this motherboard with an AMD XP2700+ and 3200 DDR Ram. There is power to the motherboard as the fan runs. Everything boots, but there is no display on the monitor. The graphics card is known to be working. It just seems as though there is something to put the motherboard to sleep mode. Any ideas?

We have also swapped for another motherboard (same model) and still have same problem.
__________________

Last edited by RickBaker; 2nd February, 2005 at 08:01 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2005, 08:33 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

If you have no display, how do you know that the machine is booting? Just because the fan is spinning and the hard drive light comes on for a second doesn't mean that the machine has booted. Are you hearing the single 'everything is ok' beep, or is there something else happening that tells you it is up and running?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2005, 07:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Posts: 35

yeah i can hear a single beep via the on board sound.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 04:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 73

Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickBaker
We are using this motherboard with an AMD XP2700+ and 3200 DDR Ram. There is power to the motherboard as the fan runs. Everything boots, but there is no display on the monitor. The graphics card is known to be working. It just seems as though there is something to put the motherboard to sleep mode. Any ideas?

We have also swapped for another motherboard (same model) and still have same problem.
My wife has that board, with an xp2600 and 512 PC3200 and Radeon 9700 pro. rock solid. Can tell us what card your using? And the rest of your system specs and driver versions along with order of install? My wife's machine was a little buggy getting set up but very stable with a few tweaks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Posts: 35

AMD XP 2700+
512mb 3200 DDR
Radeon 9700 pro

The problem is DaveBC we can't even get a POST screen to display, so we can't change settings/drivers/install windows or even get into BIOS.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 03:22 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

If you have tried 2 different boards and still no POST that would make me believe that it is not the board itself, but either another component or you are doing something wrong.

Try taking every thing out except 1 stick of RAM, CPU (&HSF), PSU and video card. Go over your mobo manual and check the position of every jumper, also make sure nothing is grounding out anywhere.

It would also be helpful if you could try another stick of RAM, then video card, then CPU from a known working system. Also try your parts in another working system to make sure they actually work.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 03:26 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Sorry, just read that you can hear a POST beep, your RAM and CPU and MoBo should be good. Please tell me you are not trying to do this with an LCD monitor?
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Posts: 35

No, CRT. Tried 2 of them, neither works. We have tried 2 of everything in the board. We've ran it with only the bare essentials and still no signal. All jumpers are correct.

I did hear though that on some boards Radeon 9700 pro won't work until Windows starts. Is this true and does anyone know a remedy if they have had this problem? (Bearing in mind we cant change settings in BIOS or windows as we cannot view the BIOS or even start to install windows)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 05:23 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Do you have a different video card (like maybe a cheap PCI card) that you can throw in there?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2005, 07:46 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Gizmo ya got there ahead of me, was going to suggest a PCI video card for the short term. If you can find one, make sure that in the BIOS you have it set to 'inititalize AGP graphics' FIRST.... this option may be worded a bit differently depending on the BIOS.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th February, 2005, 12:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Posts: 35

We have tried different AGP cards and a PCI Video Card, none gave us a display on the monitor. Admittadely, the PCI card was in when a Sempron was in the board, but I would still expect a display even with an unsupported CPU in there (before flashing BIOS). And we cannot change any settings in the BIOS as we have no display....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th February, 2005, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 73

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickBaker
AMD XP 2700+
512mb 3200 DDR
Radeon 9700 pro

The problem is DaveBC we can't even get a POST screen to display, so we can't change settings/drivers/install windows or even get into BIOS.
Ok, try this, Remove side cover. Un plug floppy connector form 9700 pro. Boot computer, while computer is booting plug connector back in. (not if you wait too long you'll get bios beeps meaning no vid card installed) If the maching posts now your PSU to weak at peak. And you'll need a better PSU.
GL
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus A7N8X Problem Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 12th November, 2005 02:22 PM
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe + AMD XP3200+ dshill CRASHED! 1 1st September, 2004 06:44 PM
asus a7n8x-x faulty diode? daktari Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 12 25th September, 2003 11:17 AM
Which cpu for Asus A7n8x Deluxe guelahpapyrus69 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 3rd March, 2003 12:38 AM
Asus A7N8X volt mod? Purity AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 22nd November, 2002 07:55 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0