AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2005, 07:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: U.A.E
Posts: 268

6800GT, strange problem

Ever since I bought my 6800gt, I've had this strange problem:

It started after I set up the card properly. Here's the state my PC was in during that time:
  • AMD Athlon64 3000+ @ 2.3GHz (230 FSB)
  • 1GB DDR400 non-brand RAM @ stock timings
  • EPOX 86DA3J motherboard
  • 2 IDE hard disks, well maintained
  • A total of 5 USB devices (DSL modem, 3 gamepads, mouse)
  • XFX 6800gt 256mb ram AGP
  • Temps:- CPU: 42c, CASE: 34c, 6800GT: 56c

If I play any Directx game or run any application with Directx 3D or gfx for a period of time, my PC either:
  • hangs
  • Crashes to a blue screen with the error IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

After returning my CPU to default clock speed (2GHz), Directx games still hang after a period of time but recover after a few seconds and start running again. I don't get the IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL blue screen at stock CPU speeds.

Anybody come accross this before? Can't seem to figure it out...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApeTheDog
I'd like a hardware card than can transform random amounts of ****ty plot and dialogue into brilliant stories of planescape: torment proportions. That would truly make games better.
PC Specs:
It's Black. What more do you need to know?
3DMARK05 SCORE: 6038
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2005, 08:06 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

probalby some sort of IRQ conflict with the USB devices, and something else. Probably the pci or agp busses getting overclocked to far, and the device drops or something. The fact it doesn't happen at stock speeds kinda says your overclock is not stable.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2005, 08:15 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

AGP/PCI bus is locked I'm guessing?
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2005, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: U.A.E
Posts: 268

If the 8KDA3J motherboard has an option to unlock AGP/PCI speeds I definately haven't touched it. I think PCI/AGP clock multipliers are generally locked in epox motherboards.

The strange thing is that I haven't experienced the same issues with my old radeon 9600xt either when running overclocked or at stock speeds...

I didn't mention that this does not occur when playing Doom 3
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApeTheDog
I'd like a hardware card than can transform random amounts of ****ty plot and dialogue into brilliant stories of planescape: torment proportions. That would truly make games better.
PC Specs:
It's Black. What more do you need to know?
3DMARK05 SCORE: 6038
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2005, 08:55 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

There is a minor memory leak in HL2. It's what causes the stutter on machines with less than 512mb. You may be subjest to that, or have an IRQ conflict that does not become apparant until oyu fill the PCI/AGP bus up with data. No other games pushes as much raw data right now like HL2 does. It's a good system stability tester, mixed with FAH.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2005, 05:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: U.A.E
Posts: 268

Is it possible to change the IRQ channel of the video card in auto mode? I don't want to turn off auto IRQ assignment and relive my win95 days!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApeTheDog
I'd like a hardware card than can transform random amounts of ****ty plot and dialogue into brilliant stories of planescape: torment proportions. That would truly make games better.
PC Specs:
It's Black. What more do you need to know?
3DMARK05 SCORE: 6038
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2005, 06:45 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

there should be a setting in one of the menus to assign IRQ to AGP. At least there is on both my abits...
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2005, 10:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: U.A.E
Posts: 268

I read up on IRQ, and found this:
  • ACPI which was introduced in Win2K, automatically assigns and shares IRQ channels
  • ACPI is responsible for such things as standby, keyboard shutdown, hard-disk/monitor shut down etc.
  • BIOS IRQ and P&P settings do not alter IRQ settings within windows if ACPI is enabled. In fact, Microsoft recommends disabling these BIOS features for WIN2K/WINXP

I found that my 6800gt gfx card has it's own unshared IRQ channel anyway so my whole reasoning is useless

Could these hangups be generated by the CPU overheating? I am running my Zalman 7000Cu CPU fan on it's lowest speed...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApeTheDog
I'd like a hardware card than can transform random amounts of ****ty plot and dialogue into brilliant stories of planescape: torment proportions. That would truly make games better.
PC Specs:
It's Black. What more do you need to know?
3DMARK05 SCORE: 6038
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2005, 10:21 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Well, in this situation, here's what i would do:

Uninstall all drivers..sound, video, chipset...all of the drivers that appear in the "add/remove programs"
reinstall from scratch..chipset, video, lan, others, sound.


you may need to try another driver version as well, not all drivers will work with all games.

By re-doing the drivers, from having none installed, you will reset, kinda, hte IRQ assingments that are taken by windows. It could be something as simple as the vidcard supporting busmastering, although that one is not likely to be an issue, unless your pci bus is full.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2005, 10:26 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by mashakos
I didn't mention that this does not occur when playing Doom 3
So, that would be running in Open GL and not Direct X?

That might explain the difference. Possibly your Direct X has gone screwy somehow.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th February, 2005, 11:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 73

Quote:
Originally Posted by mashakos
Ever since I bought my 6800gt, I've had this strange problem:

It started after I set up the card properly. Here's the state my PC was in during that time:
  • AMD Athlon64 3000+ @ 2.3GHz (230 FSB)
  • 1GB DDR400 non-brand RAM @ stock timings
  • EPOX 86DA3J motherboard
  • 2 IDE hard disks, well maintained
  • A total of 5 USB devices (DSL modem, 3 gamepads, mouse)
  • XFX 6800gt 256mb ram AGP
  • Temps:- CPU: 42c, CASE: 34c, 6800GT: 56c

If I play any Directx game or run any application with Directx 3D or gfx for a period of time, my PC either:
  • hangs
  • Crashes to a blue screen with the error IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

After returning my CPU to default clock speed (2GHz), Directx games still hang after a period of time but recover after a few seconds and start running again. I don't get the IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL blue screen at stock CPU speeds.

Anybody come accross this before? Can't seem to figure it out...
I had the same problems with 3d hangs lasting several long seconds then returning to a playable frame rate. I also have a very similar system:
A64 3400
8KDA3J
PNY 6800GT
I finally solved it by setting the AGP bus to 67 to lock it.
and upping the cpu voltage 2 notches. (.01v)
Been smooth since. GL
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st February, 2005, 08:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: U.A.E
Posts: 268

that sounds like the solution

I'll post back with the results. Thanks!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApeTheDog
I'd like a hardware card than can transform random amounts of ****ty plot and dialogue into brilliant stories of planescape: torment proportions. That would truly make games better.
PC Specs:
It's Black. What more do you need to know?
3DMARK05 SCORE: 6038

Last edited by mashakos; 21st February, 2005 at 08:21 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2005, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: U.A.E
Posts: 268

Well, Dave's suggestion worked. I no longer get freeze ups when playing dx games. Now a new problem came up: Anisotropic Filtering doesn't work anymore !

Now I don't even care about overclocking. I reset everything back to default speeds, reinstalled forceware drivers after uninstalling and running drivercleaner but still no anisotropic filtering!!
For the record, all filtering antialiasing optimisations are off.
I don't know, I'm starting to lose my patience. Once you start losing your patience with a PC it always goes downhill from there
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApeTheDog
I'd like a hardware card than can transform random amounts of ****ty plot and dialogue into brilliant stories of planescape: torment proportions. That would truly make games better.
PC Specs:
It's Black. What more do you need to know?
3DMARK05 SCORE: 6038
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2005, 10:41 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

In what way doesn't it work? I mean can you set it in the control panel or not?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2005, 10:54 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

no, it just does not work with the driver he is using. Big complaint right now. Alot of games are affected by it this time tho.. has been a problem with NVidia's acrds and DirectX games in the past.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2005, 11:00 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I see. This being the driver just released? Haven't tried it yet...
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2005, 11:05 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

yes, apparantly there are issues with the recent 71.xx drivers, becasue they are not geared towards the gaming cards, but the quattro versions, if i recall the explanation properly. DSIO should know the real story. I don't do Nvidia, if i can help it.(but i wanna play with an ultra!)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2005, 11:12 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
(but i wanna play with an ultra!)
You can play with mine, she's $100 p/h.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2005, 11:45 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

$100 w/postage/handling? That's it!?! All inclusive?!? Box that baby up and send it on over. I don't care that shipping is gonna take 4 years cause they'll probably give it a sail and float it out, for that price!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2005, 11:53 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

It's now $120 p/h - don't push it! LOL
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very strange problem???? NarkotikBuzz OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 28th July, 2006 12:58 AM
6800GT strange hwmonitor readings and card instability Wolf2000me Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 7 14th May, 2006 05:12 PM
6800gt problem bhdeath11 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 18th September, 2005 08:39 PM
strange problem.. sirtoby EPoX MotherBoards 1 1st April, 2003 05:49 PM
Strange HDD Problem! Muta General Hardware Discussion 13 11th October, 2002 02:11 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0