AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 10

0 Rpm

Hi...
Sorry my english...I'm brazilian...
I have some troubles with my NCCH-DL...
After one of CPU fans lock-out...the fan speed on BIOS,display 0 RPM...
Was my MB dead?...
My pc woks fine but I want know if it is normal?...
thnx...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 02:42 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Does the CPU fan spin?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 02:50 PM
Con's Avatar
Con Con is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 450
Send a message via AIM to Con

is the sensor wire OK? I'd assume the fan is spinning if his PC is working fine
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 02:59 PM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Quote:
Originally Posted by hlhbob
Hi...
Sorry my english...I'm brazilian...
I have some troubles with my NCCH-DL...
After one of CPU fans lock-out...the fan speed on BIOS,display 0 RPM...
Was my MB dead?...
My pc woks fine but I want know if it is normal?...
thnx...
Do you live near the South Pole?...cause in this case you wouldn't need that fan anyway
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 03:19 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoinar
Do you live near the South Pole?...cause in this case you wouldn't need that fan anyway

Well don't they spin backwards over there anyway?!?! Oh wait that's only the toilets!!!!
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 03:58 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

LOL actuall y the toilets spin backwards inthe northern hemisphere - counter-clockwise. At least if I remember my Tom Swift correctly :P
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 04:54 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolanenwindrift
LOL actuall y the toilets spin backwards inthe northern hemisphere - counter-clockwise. At least if I remember my Tom Swift correctly :P
But don't you know that the way everything works for us is the right way, and then when it's differant somewhere else then it's they who have it wrong
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 07:31 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Graham - sounds like the half empty/half full glass of water thing. I try - not that I always succeed - to see just a half glass of water
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 02:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 10

Yes...both fans spin
but the cpu 2 fan speed always is 0
swap the wires nothing change...
May the speed sensor on MB is damaged?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 02:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoinar
Do you live near the South Pole?...cause in this case you wouldn't need that fan anyway
Actually I live in japan...
And Summer come soon...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 03:17 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

If the fans spinning but theres no reported rpm then it's more likely that the fans rpm circuitry or wire is at fault
swap the 2 fans plugs round and if the same sensor displays no rpm reading instead of changing with the plug, then it would be the motherboard sensor or the connector on the motherboard at fault, but if the other sensor reports 0rpm then it's definately the fan, which isn't a problem as long as it spins.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 09:27 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Quote:
Originally Posted by hlhbob
Actually I live in japan...
And Summer come soon...
I can't wait to have some warm wether around here...I had enough snow and low temperatures.
It's ok if the fan works but the sensor is damaged...think of what would be if the sensor would be ok (0 rpm)
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 10:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoinar
I can't wait to have some warm wether around here...I had enough snow and low temperatures.
It's ok if the fan works but the sensor is damaged...think of what would be if the sensor would be ok (0 rpm)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2005, 04:47 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
If the fans spinning but theres no reported rpm then it's more likely that the fans rpm circuitry or wire is at fault
swap the 2 fans plugs round and if the same sensor displays no rpm reading instead of changing with the plug, then it would be the motherboard sensor or the connector on the motherboard at fault, but if the other sensor reports 0rpm then it's definately the fan, which isn't a problem as long as it spins.
Errrrr.... I wouldn't do that. If your mother board is "equipt" it won't turn on without a CPU fan. Maybe just try another fan.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2005, 05:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
Errrrr.... I wouldn't do that. If your mother board is "equipt" it won't turn on without a CPU fan. Maybe just try another fan.
Thanks
My mb turn on without fan...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2005, 10:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 11

I have a DFI NF4 and the CPU fan wasn't turning one day. Looked in the BIOS and the fan was set to turn on when the CPU got to 25C. The actual temp was 24C with no load. As soon as I gave it a load, the fan kicked on.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0