AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2005, 09:53 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i just installed my new XFX Nvidia 6600gt and not overclocked i was in the video stress test for cs:s and aquamark3d and it randomly restarts my computer any ideas????
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah

Last edited by Skiracing108; 31st March, 2005 at 01:29 AM. Reason: mistake
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 01:29 AM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

ok it did it again in cs:s the screen goes black and then my computer restarts-but this time i had to restart it myself-it just stayed black for about a minute, could it be a faulty card because i loaded the drivers and updated to the newest ones
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 01:50 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

its your powersupply i assume.

what is your current PSU brand and wattage?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 01:58 AM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

turbolink max is 420w not sure how ot check what the current voltage is set at
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 02:05 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

is there anything getting too hot at all?

PSU / GPU / CPU

and how old / what kind of quality is the PSU?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 02:29 AM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

nope case is 29c and psu is 44 and vid card is 50 the powersupply is about 1 year old and a goodquality i checked it not hot at all
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 02:40 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA Forums, Skiracing108!!


Did you remove the driver(s) in Device Manager for the Vidcard you had before, and then remove the old Vidcard from your machine before installing this new one?

WinXP has been known to balk when switching from ATi family to nVidia famiglia Vidcards, and vice versa.

I hope you don't need to re-format your Windows partition or drive and reinstall everything again!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 02:51 AM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

let me check im pretty sure i did
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 02:53 AM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

oooo crap i took the old vid card out and put in the new one then took the old drivers out and then put in the new ones ooooooo crap
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 04:19 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

use a program like drivercleaner to get rid of the old drivers.

then install the latest ones in the AOAfiles nvidia driver section.

Also download and install DirectX 9.0C if you havnt already.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 04:41 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

the old drivers are gone and dirext9 is installed and nvidia drivers installed ok when i get home from school ill try it
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 07:33 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

*crossing fingers*
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 09:01 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

ok im about to clean all my drivers PLEASE WORK
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 09:21 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

ok still not working , i used driver cleaner pro- got rid of all drivers then installed hte ones on cd and directx9 and then got the lastest ones and run cs:s stress test and bam restart
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 11:30 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

i just noticed that when it restarts i get an internal speaker siren for 2 seconds then pause then speaker and it keeps doing it WHAT IS WRONG
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2005, 11:45 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

if you are getting a siren, chances are that something is getting too hot, or dropping voltages, if your mobo monitors voltages. could also be a fan that has stopped that is connected to a sensor.

what is the beep pattern, just a beep, and then it reboots, or do you get sent to desktop?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2005, 12:27 AM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

the fans arnt stopping because i can see alll of them and the beep patter is BEEP pause for a second BEEP pause for second BEEP and so on this time it didnt restart on its own, just sat at blackscreen normally it just restarts, i doubt anything is getting too hot but dropping voltage???? how can i figure that out
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2005, 08:35 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

i really need your guys' help
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2005, 09:18 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

how can i check what my voltages are currently-and then raise them
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2005, 12:02 AM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

because that seems like whats happening
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BF2 Crashes Exile69 GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 31st October, 2005 12:40 AM
pc crashes again! ajopz CRASHED! 21 1st June, 2005 09:46 PM
Half Life 2 - not so random - random annoyance kellamne GAMES! OH YEAH! 1 11th April, 2005 05:47 AM
8RDA3+ 2600+ Mobile = Random Crashes CyberBlade CRASHED! 6 1st February, 2005 11:11 AM
Unexplained random crashes? Check this out! DiabloAbogado CRASHED! 5 2nd December, 2004 06:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0