AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2005, 11:54 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Dead NF7 or PSU?

I made a really stupid mistake a few months ago while building my NF7-S system, I forgot to connect the 4pin power lead. I didn't realise anything as the PC worked fine without it for 2 months. Then yesterday it rebooted for no reason, then a couple of times today and now....its just off!

The chassis fans powered directly from the PSU spin up ok, but the HDD's dont, there are no post beeps or anything, even with the 4 pin plug connected. So is the NF7-s history or could it be the PSU?


/Laz off to compare the NF7-S vs 8RDA6+ Pro....
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2005, 01:21 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Sounds like the PSU bit the dust to me.

Unplug the IDE cable from the drive but leave the power plugged into it. Power up again, verify that the chassis fans spin up but the drive does not. If you have the same symptoms, I'd shoot the PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2005, 02:31 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
I made a really stupid mistake a few months ago while building my NF7-S system, I forgot to connect the 4pin power lead. I didn't realise anything as the PC worked fine without it for 2 months. Then yesterday it rebooted for no reason, then a couple of times today and now....its just off!

The chassis fans powered directly from the PSU spin up ok, but the HDD's dont, there are no post beeps or anything, even with the 4 pin plug connected. So is the NF7-s history or could it be the PSU?


/Laz off to compare the NF7-S vs 8RDA6+ Pro....
I've done the same thing................. in a nut shell........ the board is dead!!!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2005, 10:56 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Hmmm...eitehr way its annoying! I'd rather it was the PSU as I have a spare one which I can use.....a new board will cost £60 about.

Q: If I go for an 8RDA6+ Pro will I have to format and reinstall even though I'll be staying with the NF2 platform?

LAz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2005, 11:06 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

There are some differences - the 8RDA6+Pro uses a different version of the southbridge, but the feature set is broadly similar. You might have to change some stuff like the network driver, but if you don't use the SATA functionality, you might be able to get away with it.

Oh, and the sound of course!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2005, 03:34 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Ok, thats quite positive. As long as I can get into Windows and back up the files on the C: drive then I can format and start again from scratch.

LAz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2005, 03:41 PM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

you can install/repair windos over the old version if you can't boot, your personal files won't be overwritten, only the OS files, but I guess they aren't your choice for a backup
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2005, 11:27 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Looks like the board is dead, second new PSU didn't work Now I cant decide which board to get!
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2005, 12:29 AM
Quickbeam177's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to Quickbeam177

I've had the same problem with the A7N8X a while back. My 3200+ has seen 3 different boards now *sigh*

I forgot to plug in the power to the 4 pin connector, and I'd get random reboots every now and then... then the board just up and died one day. Ah well, you live, you learn, and then you overclock 'til ya smell something burning (rinse and repeat).
__________________
DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D w/704-2BTA BIOS
AMD Opteron 144 CABNE 0544EPMW 135633AK50274
2x 1gb Patriot PDC2G3200LLK 2-3-2-5
eVGA Geforce 7800GT
SoundBlaster Audigy 2
2x WD Raptor 36gb in RAID 0
NEC Silver DVD +/-RW ND-3540A
Enermax Liberty 620w PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2005, 06:46 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quickbeam177
I've had the same problem with the A7N8X a while back. My 3200+ has seen 3 different boards now *sigh*

I forgot to plug in the power to the 4 pin connector, and I'd get random reboots every now and then... then the board just up and died one day. Ah well, you live, you learn, and then you overclock 'til ya smell something burning (rinse and repeat).

Welcome to AOA's Forums, Quickbeam177!

Well written, it is the truth and worth a good laugh!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2005, 08:48 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

I've ordered the standard NF7 v2 as a replacement. Its about 2/3's the price and as I dont have any SATA drives and dont use the Soundstorm anymore. I"m in the middle of stripping out the watercooling and all that hassle again.......grrr!
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2005, 11:39 AM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
I've ordered the standard NF7 v2 as a replacement. Its about 2/3's the price and as I dont have any SATA drives and dont use the Soundstorm anymore. I"m in the middle of stripping out the watercooling and all that hassle again.......grrr!
Fine choice, although some new Abit boards aren't exactly the same as the older ones; somehow they happen to everclock a bit worse (hope your one will run like a champ ).

As to reinstalling the OS : my Win2k has already went through Epox 8RDA3+, Abit NF7 and 2 x Epox 8RDA3+ PRO - I had to deinstall nForce2 drivers, use DriverCleaner and install some newer ones (from the reason Áedán has mentioned).
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 10:53 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Just out of interest, is there anything that can be done to breath life back into the dead mobo?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th April, 2005, 05:34 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

I would like to think so. something about the voltage controller and if it is soldered on.
because I am electronicaly challanged, I have to believe, that somewhere past the
main power connector is a dark spot on the board. on the back, near the n-bridge and
the cpu. not a burnt black. just a small discoloration. it wasn't an n-force board. an
n-tel that used the 4 pin 12v connecter. I wold take a picture if I still had the board.
may the n-force be with you! my journey with the n-force has just begun!

1 8RDA+ ver 1.0
1 MSI K7N Delta a dog
1 NF-7 ver 2 and building #2

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2005, 10:50 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Well, just out of interest I E-mailed Abit UK and explained the situation of my dead board. They offer an "Out of Warranty" repair service and judging from the fast reply to my email I would guess they would turn the repairs around quite fast too.

It does cost a fair bit though, £52 inc Vat all told, so I guess it makes sense on higher value boards but not in my case as a new NF7-S is about £55!
Just thought you'd like to know....
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2005, 12:03 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Tough break, I'm sorry to hear it!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2005, 12:49 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
Just out of interest, is there anything that can be done to breath life back into the dead mobo?
Depends on what died really. Therein lies the art of repairing things - figuring out what's actually broke in the first place!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2005, 08:08 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

New NF7!

Well, the replacement board arrived yesterday and its in today. I'm happy to report that I haven't have to remove or re-install any drivers yet and everything, LAN, SB Live card and Live Drive and Radeon 9600 gfx, seems to work like as they did in the old board.

But I was a little dissappointed/relieved when I removed the NB cooler to fit the NB waterblock. Abit did a great job of putting hardly any thermal goop on the chipset, saving me valuable time removing it......I think Abit need to replace the NB thermal goop canister or the chap who should have replaced it first!

Anyway, lets see what this baby can do. 220FSB was the limit on the old board with Abit BIOS and 230FSB with a TicTac/Merlin special
Attached Thumbnails
Dead NF7 or PSU?-dsc00657.jpg  
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2005, 09:23 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Happy your back up and kicking sand!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2005, 09:47 PM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Good OCing, mate - try out some Trats moded bioses - the latest work better than any TicTac/Merlin bios ever created.
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
171.64.65.58 dead ThunderRd ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 6 7th August, 2007 04:35 PM
Another dead PSU. Áedán General Hardware Discussion 4 3rd February, 2004 12:22 PM
IBM HDD Dead! SiGmA_X CRASHED! 21 20th March, 2003 02:32 AM
My KX7 is dead Thundr7 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 9th October, 2002 07:32 AM
I'm not dead LutaWicasa ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 17 9th September, 2002 11:00 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0