AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2005, 01:08 AM
sushi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Posts: 20

Computer does not turn on: PSU?

Well my computer does not turn on at all. I have no idea what it could be, exept the psu. My motherboard power light is on though. When i push power on though the fans and lights come on for about 1/10th of a second then everything turns off.

Tried changing power cords and then took everything out of my case exept the bare stuff: mobo, ram, etc. then tried powering it and the same thing happened. Tomorrow i will try a different powersupply and see if my computer works.

Specs: computer #1 in my sig
__________________
1st
2600XP-M at 2.1ghz
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Geil Golden Dragon 3500
ATI 9800 pro 256mb (soon to be flashed)
OCZ 520 mod
2nd
Athlon64 3200+ at stock
ASUS A8N-SLI
Patriot 3200 1GB(512MB x 2)
GIGABYTE 6600GT
OCZ 520 mod
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2005, 01:33 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'd start with a PS.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2005, 01:48 AM
sushi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Posts: 20

Well i think it is psu also. I was wondering if the psu is acting up why does my motherboard still receive power of the power_on light?

The OCZ 520 also has that awsome warrenty that i could use.
__________________
1st
2600XP-M at 2.1ghz
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Geil Golden Dragon 3500
ATI 9800 pro 256mb (soon to be flashed)
OCZ 520 mod
2nd
Athlon64 3200+ at stock
ASUS A8N-SLI
Patriot 3200 1GB(512MB x 2)
GIGABYTE 6600GT
OCZ 520 mod
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2005, 01:50 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Hmmmm I am having the same problem... Lame.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th April, 2005, 07:13 PM
sushi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Posts: 20

Well i tested the computer with another psu and it worked fine. I am going to write a letter to OCZ and then send them the PSU. I hope the second one works fine.

ill post when the other one comes in.
__________________
1st
2600XP-M at 2.1ghz
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Geil Golden Dragon 3500
ATI 9800 pro 256mb (soon to be flashed)
OCZ 520 mod
2nd
Athlon64 3200+ at stock
ASUS A8N-SLI
Patriot 3200 1GB(512MB x 2)
GIGABYTE 6600GT
OCZ 520 mod
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2005, 10:57 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Can I ask what the "OCZ 520 mod" in your sig means? The "mod" part may have a bearing on happy PCing.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 10:09 PM
sushi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Posts: 20

mod is part of the name. It is a moddable on...at least that is what it is called. I jumpstarted it and it worked for a while. But now it shuts of every half and hour .
__________________
1st
2600XP-M at 2.1ghz
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Geil Golden Dragon 3500
ATI 9800 pro 256mb (soon to be flashed)
OCZ 520 mod
2nd
Athlon64 3200+ at stock
ASUS A8N-SLI
Patriot 3200 1GB(512MB x 2)
GIGABYTE 6600GT
OCZ 520 mod
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 11:13 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Definitely sound like a borked PSU - they going to send you a replacement?
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackers can turn your computer into a bomb! fantomfreq Random Nonsense! 17 6th March, 2006 08:26 PM
MY turn to ask for help! cadaveca AMD Motherboards & CPUs 29 8th November, 2005 05:25 AM
8KDA3+ won't turn on!?? amd640c EPoX MotherBoards 1 9th October, 2004 09:44 PM
looks like its my turn kat ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 15 21st May, 2003 02:12 AM
PC won't turn off! superally AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 3rd January, 2003 03:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0