AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2005, 11:46 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Radeon 9500 Pro Asus A7N8X no boot

Got my radeon 9500 Pro today, but when I installed it in my Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe motherboard I got no video! I tried the card in another system and it works without issue. I have stripped the system down to nothing but the video card, PSU and RAM but still no joy. And yes, I did connect the 4 pin power to the video card. Any help would be appreciated ASAP!
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2005, 11:49 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

any previous Nvidia driver's installed on the system?

Can you get in with safe mode?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2005, 11:51 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Can you test another card in the asus system?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2005, 12:02 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

This system was running a 5200 FX previously, the issue is not XP the system doesn't get that far - the yellow light comes on the monitor when I power up with the 9500 installed. I have the 5200 back in at the moment and it is running without issue.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2005, 12:33 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

something comes to mind with asus boards and ati cards...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2005, 02:11 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Nothing on google about it - rather infuriating to be honest. I have the card installed in my wife's PC for now, I'm going back to my TI4600 until I can get some more info on the problem.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2005, 03:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 73

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolanenwindrift
Got my radeon 9500 Pro today, but when I installed it in my Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe motherboard I got no video! I tried the card in another system and it works without issue. I have stripped the system down to nothing but the video card, PSU and RAM but still no joy. And yes, I did connect the 4 pin power to the video card. Any help would be appreciated ASAP!
I had a similiar problem with wife's a7n8x and 9700pro. Would not post. I finally had to disable SPD for my ram and loosen up the settings. I was using 1 stick of Geil PC3200 512mb 2-2-2-5 1T. Switched to 2.5 3-3-7 2T and presto it runs fine. Give it a try, hope it helps
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2005, 03:43 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

No luck with the RAM settings, but I did contact ASUS tech support this morning - actually got a live person at 8am on a saturday morning! In any case, he did some checking and it was his contention that the BIOS on the particular video card I have is the issue, that some of the very early 8X Radeon 9500 pros had some issues with 8X and that a fix was available from ATI by simply flashing a newer BIOS. I'm looking about for the right BIOS and atiflash utility now - actually heading to the AOA files section first. If nothing else, I am very happy about ASUS tech support .
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2005, 05:23 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

you are lucky..i have 16 RMA tickets in right now...still waiting for a response. what number did you call?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2005, 05:58 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

1-502-995-0883
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2005, 07:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 22

this is a wild guess...VIA chipset??


i used to own a A7V880 with the VIA KT660 or something chipset, and it would not have anything to do with my ATI 9800 pro.

if you google ATI and VIA problems, youll find plenty of other people.




i ended up buying an epox. even though it really didnt have much to do with asus, ill never touch them again. good luck with your problem, the only advice i can try to tell you is google for possible solutions (there were part solutions for my problem, no full ones though) or try a new chipset.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2005, 01:53 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
something comes to mind with asus boards and ati cards...
Ack, I didn't know that this can be a problem. I've run two Asus boards with an ATi 9600XT with no problems. Perhaps the Vidcard being made by Asus makes a diff?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2005, 03:29 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

something about the gart driver having issues with the 9500/9700 is what a remeber, but not much more than that. I dug a little last night, but could not come up with the info.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2005, 05:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 22

thats exactly it. you coudlnt get smartgart to work properly.

it only seemed to happen on the VIA chipset though, so it may not be relevant to this threads problem.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2005, 06:24 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Yeah this is the nForce2 Ultra400 etc. chipset. I have contacted ATI and waiting to hear from them before proceding - seems like this 8X bios issue could be the problem, as the other two boards I have plugged the card into only support 4X, and work perfectly. I have downloaded all the tools to flash the BIOS but won't have time until tomorrow morning to mess with it.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2005, 02:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 22

try uninstalling the ATI video driver, and use the default windows one. i know it sucks, but at least its runnable maybe.


also check if you have the latest chipset drivers.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2005, 04:40 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Video bios flash did not work. Again, this is NOT a windows issue, the machine will not post with the Radeon card installed. I appreciate all the suggestions though! I have a ticket started with ATI - hopefully they have a solution for this, otherwise my wife will get to keep the 9500 and I will start saving for an nVidia 6600GT.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2005, 10:45 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Well I am in luck! Talked to ATI and they are going to replace the card with a later revision - apparently there was an issue with this particular unit. I have to say that I am pretty impressed with the Tech support personnel from both ASUS, who identified the problem, and ATI, who are going to resolve this issue in spite of the card being discontinued.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2005, 06:33 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Excellent, this is very good news! I don't know if this has any bearing on your Vidcard woes--it's said that switching from an nVidia AGP card to an ATi Vidcard or vice versa requires deleting all the drivers for the card that you remove from your machine.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 29th April, 2005, 02:55 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Yes, when I get the card back from ATI I am going to do a full fdisk/format/reinstall, the machine is needing it anyway. There was something wrong with the 8X AGP configuration, don't know if it was hardware or software but I am thinking hardware since they wanted the card back in their hands. It will be very interesting to see what they send me back - I would not be suprised if I got a later model of card altogether, though I would really prefer just to have a functional 9500 Pro and be done with it.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS A7N8X-XE no boot with two non-RAID SATA drives problem Baek AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 8th March, 2006 01:20 AM
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe and Radeon 9800 Pro adz_chappers CRASHED! 5 20th August, 2005 07:08 PM
Radeon 9500 Pro + A7N8X Delux = No Post faustt CRASHED! 29 11th August, 2005 08:40 AM
8RDA+ with Radeon 9500 Pro boot problem fondster EPoX MotherBoards 4 5th November, 2003 11:09 PM
8rda+ & Radeon 9500 non-pro won't boot (tough one) Truckchase! EPoX MotherBoards 3 11th March, 2003 08:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0