AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 06:48 PM
omenire's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1

faulty gfx mem??? help

Been having probs with this card for months now, and I've hit a brick wall

now. Essentially the prob is, when playing games, I get about 10 mins into it

and the comp freezes, either returning to windows eventially or bsod with

0x00000050, 0x0000000a, or 0x0000001e stop errors, pointing to usually

either ntoskrnl.exe or nv4_disp.dll. I have reinstalled (then driver cleaner) my

mobo, gfx, and many other drivers, as well as software. As the dll in the stop

error nv4_disp is a gfx driver file, I have tried pretty much all available nvidia

drivers, several times, with diff setups with mobo drivers... all to no avail! I

have also tested the memory with memtest and it throws up faults, so i

swapped my crucial pro for my old ram, and it still throws up probs when

tested, hence I'm thinking gfx mem probs... Any ideas people??


Asus K8N nforce3 250g
Crucial 2x512 xms3200c2pro (at stock)
amd64 3400+m (at stock)
Gainward 6600gt gs 1960xp (at stock 500/900, enhanced 540/1150)
good psu 650w true power, braided

ps yes the fan is working and the power is attached to card, plus I just did a fresh reinstall of win2k pro, onto a diff hard drive ( and all drivers) and still get the same probs??!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 07:41 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

What timings do you have the memory at, and have you tried increasing the DDR voltage at all?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2005, 04:30 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

You could slow down from overclocked to stock and see if that helps.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2005, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 211

Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by omenire
Been having probs with this card for months now, and I've hit a brick wall

now. Essentially the prob is, when playing games, I get about 10 mins into it

and the comp freezes, either returning to windows eventially or bsod with

0x00000050, 0x0000000a, or 0x0000001e stop errors, pointing to usually

either ntoskrnl.exe or nv4_disp.dll. I have reinstalled (then driver cleaner) my

mobo, gfx, and many other drivers, as well as software. As the dll in the stop

error nv4_disp is a gfx driver file, I have tried pretty much all available nvidia

drivers, several times, with diff setups with mobo drivers... all to no avail! I

have also tested the memory with memtest and it throws up faults, so i

swapped my crucial pro for my old ram, and it still throws up probs when

tested, hence I'm thinking gfx mem probs... Any ideas people??

ps yes the fan is working and the power is attached to card, plus I just did a fresh reinstall of win2k pro, onto a diff hard drive ( and all drivers) and still get the same probs??!
Have you checked the temp of your video card ?

I have an ATI 9800 Pro that was running in my box and when I started playing it too kept flipping (returning to Windows) till I got thinking about the heat that that card produced; it gets its air from the inner of the case BUT it blows its hot air BACK in the case again. Not a good way of cooling things.

Then I got searching on the web and found an early version of the Arctic Cooling VGA Silencer ... It takes air from the case, cools the GPU, BUT then blows it out the back of the case into the room !!!

Anyway, since I mounted that on the card and some passive RAM coolers (heatsinks) it hasn't done that anymore !
__________________
F_O_L_D_E_R_S

1] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3000+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
2] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3100+ & 1024 MB RAMWin2k
3] ... Athlon XP2500+ Mobile Barton @ 3200+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
4&5] Athlon A64X2 3800+ @ 2.6 GHz (~ 5000+) & 2x 1024 MB RAM running @ 237 MHz WinXP

All folding 24/7
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2005, 11:41 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

OK first off, there is nothing wrong with your video card memory. If anything its your system memory or motherboard, but for the time being lets assume they are OK and try something else.

You said you have the power connected to your 6600GT, now what I want to know is did you use a dedicated molex line from your PSU to power the card, or did you use a shared one. Most Molex cables have 2 or more piggyback joins, so that one cable comming out of the PSU can be used to power multiple devices. For stability, and always better overclocking results, use a DEDICATED molex from your PSU, that is not plugged into anything else at all.

If that is already the case, then you might want to try another driver. The best driver package for you to be using is the 76.50 Valance Studios / Xtreme G modified set, which you can download from AOAFiles.com

Next, try removing one of your memory sticks. You are on a S754 board from memory, and they are always more stable running 1 stick than two, particularly at high speed. The fact that the memory can run at its stock speed, doesnt mean that the S754 CPU's onboard memory controller can handle TWO of those sticks at the same time, and they are already fast sticks, so I assume that could be your memory problem.

Remove 1 stick, and it should not have any memory errors, and if you want to run two sticks, use a 2T command rate, and reduced speed (166Mhz probably).
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a case be faulty? kadu07 General Hardware Discussion 12 15th May, 2007 05:33 PM
Gigabyte k8n sli nic faulty Gman15 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 31st May, 2006 03:09 PM
Thermister faulty??? Jay T EPoX MotherBoards 6 8th July, 2005 07:04 PM
Faulty PSU? cromwell134 CRASHED! 17 7th January, 2003 09:19 AM
Faulty WU's Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 3 21st January, 2002 08:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2023, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0