AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2005, 12:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 73

Steam will not update correctly!

Steam services are horrible. I just wanna play counter strike source!!! I have redownloaded steam and still no help. It tries to do an automatic update to update the steam platform. It gets to 99% and an error occurs. It tells me it was unable to open dbghelp.dll for writing or something like that. Anyone know what is going on?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2005, 04:10 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Man that sucks, best thing to do is try to uninstall Steam and HL2, CS etc and redo it all. If that doesn't work, I would seriuosly get on the phone with Valve or whoever is doing their support and get some help. Google Steam and dbghelp.dll to see if you can find someone in another forum with a similar problem, should be something out there STEAM is famous for its problems. Personally I think it is unacceptable that after SIX YEARS in development Valve delivers something this plagued with problems. That's ok, they haven't got my $50 yet, I'll be waiting until I can get a bargain basement price on this one.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2005, 03:45 PM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

i used to have random crashes because of steam-but now it runs fine-something must be missing reinstall
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2005, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 211

Quote:
Originally Posted by poly15
Steam services are horrible. I just wanna play counter strike source!!! I have redownloaded steam and still no help. It tries to do an automatic update to update the steam platform. It gets to 99% and an error occurs. It tells me it was unable to open dbghelp.dll for writing or something like that. Anyone know what is going on?
check properties of 'dbghelp.dll' if it is ticked 'read only'.
if so, remove tick and close properties.
try re-install ...

good luck
__________________
F_O_L_D_E_R_S

1] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3000+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
2] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3100+ & 1024 MB RAMWin2k
3] ... Athlon XP2500+ Mobile Barton @ 3200+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
4&5] Athlon A64X2 3800+ @ 2.6 GHz (~ 5000+) & 2x 1024 MB RAM running @ 237 MHz WinXP

All folding 24/7
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2005, 10:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 73

Thanks guys. I got it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2005, 10:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 211

Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by poly15
Thanks guys. I got it
May we also know what the solution was, please ?
__________________
F_O_L_D_E_R_S

1] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3000+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
2] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3100+ & 1024 MB RAMWin2k
3] ... Athlon XP2500+ Mobile Barton @ 3200+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
4&5] Athlon A64X2 3800+ @ 2.6 GHz (~ 5000+) & 2x 1024 MB RAM running @ 237 MHz WinXP

All folding 24/7
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2005, 11:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 73

I don't exactly know. I reinstalled steam once again (fourth time) and it still didn't work. I restarted my computer again for like the 20th time and all the sudden it started working.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2005, 11:55 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Steam is so coo.. Not! To play a solo game, which is the best some people can do, you gotta Steamify. Bites, I tells ya.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2005, 02:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 73

True that
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2005, 01:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 31

problems, we all got'em

i had a similar problem with steam.
once it worked, then it stopped so i reinstalled (which took days b-cos i STUPIDLY got the 500CD version lol) and i had to do this a few times.

eventually it only worked when i came home from Uni and used my own net connection and not the LAN at uni

just thought i'd let you guys know thats all

and yes, steam bites. in fact it can bite my shiny metal ass! lol

too much of this i think
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2005, 03:12 PM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
Steam is so coo.. Not! To play a solo game, which is the best some people can do, you gotta Steamify. Bites, I tells ya.
Not to mention steam is killing the used PC game market. You'll never be able to find a used copy of HL2. Actually, I take that back. You probably can find a used copy of HL2 on ebay or whatnot, but you've got to use the steam ID of the original owner. Weak.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2005, 03:36 PM
calgar's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 375
Send a message via ICQ to calgar Send a message via AIM to calgar Send a message via MSN to calgar Send a message via Yahoo to calgar

indeed, all it is doing is fueling file sharing

i dont have any liking for any steamed games, but if i did, i probabally wouldnt buy it because it is just too much hassel from what i have been hearing, i would just download and crack it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2005, 04:04 PM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

Quote:
Originally Posted by calgar
indeed, all it is doing is fueling file sharing

i dont have any liking for any steamed games, but if i did, i probabally wouldnt buy it because it is just too much hassel from what i have been hearing, i would just download and crack it
As far as I know they cannot be cracked. You MUST connect to the steam network to play the game, no matter whether you're playing a single-player or multiplayer game.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2005, 04:39 PM
calgar's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 375
Send a message via ICQ to calgar Send a message via AIM to calgar Send a message via MSN to calgar Send a message via Yahoo to calgar

there are cracks that basically bypass the need to connect to the steam network
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2005, 07:31 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

I think you're right, but in all honesty this guy has paid for the game and he shouldent have to use an illigal application in order to get it to work. Steam may somehow detect he's using it and remove his account.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2005, 07:36 PM
calgar's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 375
Send a message via ICQ to calgar Send a message via AIM to calgar Send a message via MSN to calgar Send a message via Yahoo to calgar

yeah, i know, im just saying how what valve have tried to use to stop their game being cracked ect has ended up making more people not want the bother of having to go through steam because its easier to just find a crack for it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2005, 08:35 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I don't understand why Valve(or Sierra?) foisted this cr*ptastic Steam bull upon us. Having to be onlne the very first time you even look at your own, paid for game, is slashingly ridiculous. If you have HL2 in a neighborhood that has no connection to the Web, how are you supposed to play the game?

Generating bad will from your customers is stupid. Will they understand this? Or is it that they don't give a fig, because you already bought the game? If so, it's beyond asinine.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
O/S not IDing monitor correctly; only shows a PnP videobruce Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 13th May, 2006 02:31 PM
PC not starting correctly raphael2040 CRASHED! 15 13th December, 2005 09:15 PM
CPU not detected correctly! feds64 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 20th March, 2005 07:25 AM
IDE device not working correctly. blueklown EPoX MotherBoards 1 15th May, 2004 08:21 AM
MB doesn't see CPU correctly Spacemobile1 CRASHED! 17 23rd May, 2002 04:42 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0