AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th May, 2005, 10:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3

Unhappy Big graphics problem

Seems like i've *******ed up completely...
This is the story.. Stupid as i am i thought my graphics card needed some tweaking, so i oc'd the core and the memory by 20mhz each. I had no problems with it at all for a whole day. I played graphics intense games like HL2 for several hours without any problems or signs of overheating at all, this is why i am confused here... I shut down the computer for the night thinking everything was fine... but the next morning it just wouldn't boot. It wont even get past POST, all i get is a long and two short beeps, indicating graphics adapter problem... But it would be very strange if i had burnt any circuits on the graphics board, since it worked as long as the computer was turned on. I have tried with another graphics card, and then the computer boots. Is this problem fixable or do i have to buy a new graphics card ? (expensive)
Please help...
Specs:
Mainboard: ASUS A8n SLI
Processor: AMD Athlon64 3500+
Memory: 2x Corsair XMS 3200 512MB
PSU: Hiper Type-R 480W
Graphics: Sapphire Radeon X800XL 256MB
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th May, 2005, 11:24 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I think it's highly unlikely that the overclocking did the damage, running at a clock speed above spec just doesn't cause physical damage like that, perhaps if you had increased the voltages but not the clock speed. It also wouldn't account for why it worked until it was shut down.

I think it's just a coincidence and something else has happened, probably the pci-e connector coming loose or something.
I'd open up the case, check all power leads are connected, and reset the cmos to be sure, it's likely there is no damage to the hardware, if anything is faulty it's probably the psu
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th May, 2005, 11:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3

Hmm

This is what's strange... I have removed the card and replaced it with another card.. then everything worked... i put my card back in, and the same problem occured... So im pretty shure it's not only a connection problem. It shouldn't be the PSU either since the other card worked... I have also reset the CMOS with no luck... This is giving me a real headache. The only thing i did was turning up the clock speeds.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th May, 2005, 11:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3

Also worth saying is that i put my card into my friend's computer. We got exactly the same problem there... Nothing showing on the screen, and the error at POST... So this is a problem with the graphics card.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2005, 12:42 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Sounds like whatever program youused to tweak your graphics card altered a setting in the cards bios or memory register. If you can, try booting the machine with a PCI video card and see if you canundo those OC settings that way.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2005, 01:08 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I don't think thats possible, it would have to go through a flash procedure which you would notice as it takes a while and I know of no software that just does that in windows.

I still highly doubt it was due to the overclocking, more likely it's died during the shutdown or p[ower up cycle, so if it's still under guarantee get it swapped
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2005, 09:11 PM
Electric Wizard's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 20

Doesn't overclocking void most guarantees though? Even if it wasn't that that caused the fault?
__________________
"When you get into one of these groups, there's only a couple of ways you can get out. One, is death, the other is a mental institution."

Last edited by Electric Wizard; 19th July, 2005 at 11:12 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2005, 09:18 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by Electric Wizard
Doesn't overclocking void most guarantees though? Even if it wasn't that that cause the fault?
Not always. If you haven't physically modified or abused the hardware then the guarantee should still be valid. Quite a few components are purposely designed to be overclockable.

Obviously it's always a good idea to check the exact situation, for any piece of hardware, first.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2005, 04:12 PM
Got EpOx's Avatar
Team 45 Folder
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Exmouth, UK
Posts: 2,569
Send a message via MSN to Got EpOx Send a message via Skype™ to Got EpOx

Minor overclocking shouldn't void your warranty, it only comes into play if you have damaged your card in the process of a high overclock.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66Ghz
1GB PC2-5300 667Mhz
Matsh1ta DVD/RW Drive
232GB Western Digital 'My Book' External HDD USB 2.0
80GB Hitachi SATA HDD
Onboard Audio
Intel GMA 950 Onboard Video
Want to make a difference without leaving your chair?, then join the AOA folding team today!
AOA Folding @Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suse graphics problem SPQQKY OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 10 2nd March, 2007 11:54 PM
Graphics card problem Daston General Hardware Discussion 4 27th April, 2006 09:53 PM
new graphics card problem Daston Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 22nd May, 2005 03:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0