AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2005, 10:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Grimsby (YUK!), UK
Posts: 155

Mozilla crashing me :(

I've got a problem with Mozilla crashing my PC - its so bad I'm having to use IE!!!

it started yesterday afternoon - I've AVG'ed (fully updated) and found no suspects. whenever I run firefox, the computer wants to send a crash report, then either firefox goes down or the whole comp resets - this is driving me nuts... i'm torn between faffing about and just wiping my (fairly recent) hard -drive and starting again.

any comments/help?
__________________
Remember - the glass is half full if you're filling it, and half empty if you're emptying it

rig: a7n8x-x, Xp-m 2200 , 3/4 gig mem, fx5200, akasa carnival - 46c stable,

cheers once more to rondog

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2005, 11:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Grimsby (YUK!), UK
Posts: 155

i've upped the voltage .05 (after running prime95 and it falling at the 2nd test.)
it's into the 4th test now and still going, so maybe ok now.

doesn't explain (to me) why it would crash on mozilla but not IE...

i'm off out now so we'l see how it looks later...
__________________
Remember - the glass is half full if you're filling it, and half empty if you're emptying it

rig: a7n8x-x, Xp-m 2200 , 3/4 gig mem, fx5200, akasa carnival - 46c stable,

cheers once more to rondog

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2005, 01:06 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I had the same thing, just upgraded to version 1.05 and all works ok.
Try it,
www.mozilla.org
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2005, 12:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Grimsby (YUK!), UK
Posts: 155

have had to install xp on another (big) drive as 20mb is reporting as faulty...
was going ok until dowloaded v.1.06
did not try to install, but comp rebooted after download.
temps and resources are reporting ok - anyone any ideas? hardware fault? ram? cpu?
__________________
Remember - the glass is half full if you're filling it, and half empty if you're emptying it

rig: a7n8x-x, Xp-m 2200 , 3/4 gig mem, fx5200, akasa carnival - 46c stable,

cheers once more to rondog

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2005, 08:47 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Try disabling the 'reboot on BSOD' if you haven't already. That's CP -> System -> Advanced -> Startup and Recovery Settings -> Automatically restart. If it's checked, uncheck it!

There shouldn't be anything a standard program can do that would cause the machine to spontaniously reboot. That generally requires either faulty hardware or a driver with bugs in it.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2005, 08:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Grimsby (YUK!), UK
Posts: 155

it's good to hear you saying that. thanks

took my small disk and fdisked the sector out of existance - setup a new dos sector and formatted. tried installing win98se instead - it ran but kept having problems again. could not upgrade it to xp.

re fdisk-ed etc and tried to install xp, eventually got "bad pool header" - which i am now researching :|
__________________
Remember - the glass is half full if you're filling it, and half empty if you're emptying it

rig: a7n8x-x, Xp-m 2200 , 3/4 gig mem, fx5200, akasa carnival - 46c stable,

cheers once more to rondog

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2005, 08:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Grimsby (YUK!), UK
Posts: 155

well, i ran memtest86 amd had a number of faults thru tests 2,4,5 & 8 (I understand that AMD processors can cause 5s & 8s). removed one memory module & swapped etc. one of them seems ok, but the other is def. gnerating errors.

I don't know a lot about memory timings - could they be causing instability?

haven't yet re-enabled the BSOD (as i forgot ) but windows sent a report in last night regarding driver problems - could be nearing the source of the problem.

btw, am running most recent version of firefox and i no longer suspect it...
__________________
Remember - the glass is half full if you're filling it, and half empty if you're emptying it

rig: a7n8x-x, Xp-m 2200 , 3/4 gig mem, fx5200, akasa carnival - 46c stable,

cheers once more to rondog

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2005, 11:09 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Memory settings that are too aggressive will definitely give you agro. Setting "by SPD" in BIOS should "relax" the demand on the DIMMS.

A name like "Grimsby" doesn't conjure visions of paradise. How about this, there's an Oncologist named Dr Grimm in my area. If you're seeing an Oncologist, you're already in enough trouble.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2005, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Grimsby (YUK!), UK
Posts: 155

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
Memory settings that are too aggressive will definitely give you agro. Setting "by SPD" in BIOS should "relax" the demand on the DIMMS.

A name like "Grimsby" doesn't conjure visions of paradise. How about this, there's an Oncologist named Dr Grimm in my area. If you're seeing an Oncologist, you're already in enough trouble.
For some reason all the settings seem to give 3-3-3-8, that's aggressive, SPD, whatever!

I'm thinking of flashing the bios now (it's a 2nd hand nf7-s), as the BSOD keeps arriving, and the only message i've understood has been about drivers (which apparently can give these problems)

start from the bottom up!

Grimsby is (swearword)-ing grim! can't wait to move away came here for a job and wish I hadn't.

I once went to a medical surgery at which one of the practicioners was a Doctor De'ath. spooky.
__________________
Remember - the glass is half full if you're filling it, and half empty if you're emptying it

rig: a7n8x-x, Xp-m 2200 , 3/4 gig mem, fx5200, akasa carnival - 46c stable,

cheers once more to rondog

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 29th July, 2005, 09:15 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

3-3-3-8 is about as relaxed a timing that there is for RAM. I forgot about the fact that some folks are named De'ath. Nasty way to find that out--in a Dr's office!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2005, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Grimsby (YUK!), UK
Posts: 155

Yeah, its my personal influence, even machines get relaxed around me. This computer's so chilled it's smokin'!

The timings have stayed the same. I've read around a bit about my "driver problems" and BIOS flashing and found that my mobo isn't up to the job! it's an nf7-s v1.2 - they haven't got support for 200mhz DDR, so i've reduced to 166x12 and stability is back for now (i'm on it now)

later i'm going to reinstall the other RAM stick and see if memtest86 is still calling it broken - does ne1 think anything about that?

Dr De'ath - I'm just glad he wasn't a surgeon!
__________________
Remember - the glass is half full if you're filling it, and half empty if you're emptying it

rig: a7n8x-x, Xp-m 2200 , 3/4 gig mem, fx5200, akasa carnival - 46c stable,

cheers once more to rondog

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 31st July, 2005, 12:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Grimsby (YUK!), UK
Posts: 155

well the stability fell off at the ens of the day, now it's all over the place again. I dunno what to do, 'cos something is definitely wrong - i still don't really know what the deal is with the "Driver problem". I feel like there is a problem with my motherboard or possibly the processor

I haven't yet flashed the BIOS as the POST screen is showing I am already running update 28 (the most recent for a v1.2 nf7-s) - could the BIOS have become upset by something - is it worth trying a flash? or should I look about for a new mobo?

btw, is there some way of renaming a thread? i'm sure other ppl would come & comment, but my silly title is putting them off! if not - i'll start another one...
__________________
Remember - the glass is half full if you're filling it, and half empty if you're emptying it

rig: a7n8x-x, Xp-m 2200 , 3/4 gig mem, fx5200, akasa carnival - 46c stable,

cheers once more to rondog

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with mozilla Skiracing108 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 7th September, 2006 01:59 AM
Mozilla Firefox WonderBread Random Nonsense! 6 22nd March, 2005 03:17 AM
Mozilla Thunderbird... Lazgoat OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 5 12th January, 2005 12:55 AM
my mozilla reset???? brian770 CRASHED! 10 8th September, 2004 05:46 AM
Mozilla Thunderbird.... Lazgoat OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 22nd July, 2004 11:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0