AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2005, 09:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 36

DVD-ROM not working! Need help ASAP!!

guys, i just came back home after 6 months living in another country (my dad was using my computer during this time)

to my surprise, when i got here my CD-RW and my DVD-ROM drives had suddenly disappeared from windows! i unplugged and plugged back the ide cables and they came back...but the problem is that the DVDROM now doesnt work! it opens up, closes but doesnt read any cd, dvd or anything. i insert the disc, it starts spinning in the dvd and the mouse starts thinking as if the disc were being read. then everything stops and the drive reads no disc. it says insert disc if you try to open it..and to make things worse, the two drives keep on disappearing and appearing on windows i dont know why. when they disappear i have to restart the computer several times until they actually light up in the boot.

ive tried reinstalling the windows drivers for the drives but doesnt help any. i cant find new drivers in the internet cuz the only one i find is kinda currupted, the file i open has loads of questionmarks instead of text, dunno how to explain. ive also checked for viruses and i have non...so im really lost

i need these drives urgently because i have some very important files stored in dvd which i need to use now!

thanks!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2005, 10:43 PM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

My best guess would be a a faulty IDE cable... Try a different IDE cable, maybe??

Or Try Enabling/Disabling DMA, this might solve the problem...

Or Maybe the lens has become dirty... use CD-Drive Cleaner

Im out of ideas
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st July, 2005, 11:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 36

what is DMA and how do i enable/disable it??

cd-drive cleaner is that cd u buy in any hardware store thats supposed to clean the drive right?

ok i'll try that...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2005, 12:07 AM
jrc's Avatar
jrc jrc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 11

dma settings are in your bios,sound like bad ide cable or mobo socket. Have you went into device manager to check drivers also have you went to mfg site for firmware updates. With window dropping out drives really makes me think cable assuming both drive on same cable as master and slave. If windows drops the drives cleaning lens will not help, that will help if can not read disk. Some mfg have self diagnostics for there drives as plextor does.
__________________
8KDA3J mobo
3200 clawhammer 1mb L2
Thermalright slk 948,vantec tornado 92mm(119)cfm
2x512mb ballistix pc4000 at 250mhz(2.5-2-3-9)1T
Raid 0 (2x160gb) sata
9800pro(423/378) ice-Q
audigy 2zs
4 case fans
antec true480 PSU

Last edited by jrc; 22nd July, 2005 at 12:14 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2005, 08:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 36

ok guys the drives are no longer dropping from windows...the problem is not the cable, but if they do drop again i'll change them

the biggest problem concerning me now is that my dvdrom drive does not read anything (neither cds nor dvds)! i just bought one of those cleaning kits but im not able to clean it cuz to do so you have to actually run a file in the cd that makes it spin for like 30 seconds (thats what i think i does). but the dvd wont read the cleaning cd so i cant open the file. i insert the cd it starts spinning, the mouse pointer changes to indicate its reading a cd and then outta nowhere it just stops spinning as if it didnt recognize the cd...and when u try to open anything in it it says "please insert a disk".

so i just kept sticking the cleaning cd in and out to make it spin for some time and nothing really changed...what else can i do? could the problem be the lenses or something? should i take it somewhere to get it fixed?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2005, 08:57 PM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

If you can, try it in another computer... just to make sure if the the DVD-Drive is the problem or summat else.

If soo (DVD-Drive Problem), yep your best getting it checked from some comp. company

If not let us know.

If ya really wanna do summat, try opening it, WARNING WARRANTY IS VOID WHEN DOING THIS well mostly anyways,
and check for any unusal things like burnt parts or something thats stuck around the lens or anywhere else.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd July, 2005, 10:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Can I say something? A DVD-Rom is very cheap. I mean, come on, I can get one for £10.
You could pop down your local retailer, pick one up, and have it working in under an hour.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2005, 02:29 PM
Toro's Avatar
Member / Master of Toiletries
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On the lamb!!
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via MSN to Toro Send a message via Skype™ to Toro

is worth buying a replacement if it isnt the DVD Rom thats faulty though?

but then i suppose after typing that question in 5 seconds, i then realised that if you bought a DVD Rom for £10, then it would be worth it, just for swapping out value...

ps i would suggest trying DVD-Rom on same IDE ribbon as yur HDD, just to rule out any problem with your IDE ribbon, or the IDE connector on the mobo
__________________

"Check the Forum Rules Announcement, listed there."

AOA Team fah


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'll be back asap, promise aghastpumpkin AOA's Community Support 17 28th April, 2006 09:46 PM
Weird problem need help asap Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 24 9th April, 2006 03:27 PM
MPEG 2 codec ASAP! JC Denton OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 9th November, 2005 11:06 AM
Need help with multipliers ASAP Pinky CRASHED! 12 17th July, 2002 04:33 PM
My computer is dead .. need help ASAP .MexiDan. AMD Motherboards & CPUs 30 12th July, 2002 11:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0