AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2001, 10:51 PM
Spode's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain
Posts: 1,439
Send a message via MSN to Spode

OMG!!! HELP! Lost RAID ARRAY!

I need help! Badly. i have a lot of very important information on my raid array (striping) that if I lose, I think I would quite possibly have a nervous breakdown.

I flashed my bios from 1.03b to the latest (1.2X) becusae I was having performance issues. It then decided to tell me I had a broken stripe! Naturually, I flashed straight back to 1.03b and the error was still there.

Please tell me, how can I restore the array without data loss?

This is an addon card btw..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2001, 03:34 AM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

uh oh

system / card / exact error / £10 per hour please





or maybe just first 3
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2001, 07:40 AM
Spode's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain
Posts: 1,439
Send a message via MSN to Spode

I found a guide somewhere. Deleted the array. Made a new one. And then recovered the paritition but I still can't read anything.

My last hope is to stick a spare hardrvie in ther and boot off that and see if I can read it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2001, 07:36 PM
jay jay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 58

I feel you pain, had an 8 gig (back when that was good) go down in a power faluire once....
didnt touch my computer for about a week or so after that.
hope you beet the odds and get it back somehow
__________________

null
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2001, 07:50 PM
Spode's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain
Posts: 1,439
Send a message via MSN to Spode

well if I hadn't been able to fix it I would have lost 50gigs of my precuos data.

BUT HOPEFULLY (touch wood) It's in a state which can be copied onto a new drive. Then the old one formatted and then copy back over.

For when I re-do the array. What is the best chunk size for the RAID?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2001, 09:22 PM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

Dont think there is a best, personal preference methinx0rs
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2001, 10:07 PM
Aphex's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Wiltshire..UK!
Posts: 614

the smallest is the fastest no?

and the biggest for a data partition
__________________
Conrad Goodman - AOA Staff
Web designer for aoa main page And head of webdesign team.
GA7-DXR
XP1700+@1627Mhz unlocked
256MB Crucial PC2100
Aopen HX08
30GB Desktar
17" screen
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2001, 10:17 PM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

I dont think smallest is fastest

compare specs of your 2 drives, see what size file they're best at writing / reading then use that

mine's best at > 8k files
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2001, 10:19 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Sorry Spode, but unless your willing to pay for Data Recovery, I think your screwed! Never heard of anyone recovering on their own from a RAID failure
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2001, 10:21 PM
Aphex's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Wiltshire..UK!
Posts: 614

easily recoverable.
__________________
Conrad Goodman - AOA Staff
Web designer for aoa main page And head of webdesign team.
GA7-DXR
XP1700+@1627Mhz unlocked
256MB Crucial PC2100
Aopen HX08
30GB Desktar
17" screen
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 12:26 AM
Spode's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain
Posts: 1,439
Send a message via MSN to Spode

how can you say easily done???

it's a generally accepted fact that if you lose your array definetion. Pardon my french, your buggered!

Luckily, I found some good info on the net and recovered it. It won't read it in DOS so I can't boot of it. But I installe a spare 1gb drive with win98 on it and it reads it. So I'm copying it all across the network to my dads machine and then start over.

I am DEFINETLY gonna write an article on this as a lot of people don't know it!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 12:29 AM
Aphex's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Wiltshire..UK!
Posts: 614

Learn to chill my son
__________________
Conrad Goodman - AOA Staff
Web designer for aoa main page And head of webdesign team.
GA7-DXR
XP1700+@1627Mhz unlocked
256MB Crucial PC2100
Aopen HX08
30GB Desktar
17" screen
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 12:40 AM
Phil's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Phil

Quote:
Originally posted by Pc-Critic
Learn to chill my son
Theres a time to be chilled, and the possibility of loosing so much important stuff is not one of them
I hope everything gets sorted spode, I know I'd be pissed if I lost the contents of my hd as ther is stuff on it that just couldn't be replaced.
__________________
"Let's Blow This Facist Popsicle Stand!"



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 12:52 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Way to go Spode, let me know when it's up, I want to read of your adventure/success!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 12:56 AM
Aphex's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Wiltshire..UK!
Posts: 614

pls send me a link, it will be interesting to read

Ill post it on my site

"How to format ur drive, then recover it all afterwards"

only jokin, im sure it will save many lives, and peoples data
__________________
Conrad Goodman - AOA Staff
Web designer for aoa main page And head of webdesign team.
GA7-DXR
XP1700+@1627Mhz unlocked
256MB Crucial PC2100
Aopen HX08
30GB Desktar
17" screen
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 04:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: UK!
Posts: 29

The data is recoverable.

Lost a stripe on my 4 way RAID around a month ago and thought I'd lost it all.

I recreated stripe, recreated partitions EXACTLY and then unformatted cause once you've done that you have a harddrive that is about the same as if it was formatted.

The only data I lost was that in the root directories, since the file start and stop and cluster info was lost for good as best I could tell. (Not that I keep much in the root)

I used the norton utils unformat command.

But there is an exception with huge drives (85Gig caused a problem, 40Gig did not), the unformat command just cannot hack that size.

There are ways of recovering all that aswell, it is long tedious and boring so I won't mention it unless needed.

Zorro.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2001, 07:55 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

You should write-up your experiences for "Spode's abode" This is something many of us should know!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2001, 11:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: UK!
Posts: 29

Boy have I had some experiences...

Gah, you'd think I never end up with a stable machine, but I guess that's what you get for running with the bleeding edge


I seem to careen from one problem to another, to solve one and meet another....


BTW, anyone noticed a drop in RAID 0 speeds if you use 4-way?

I used to have a 2-way 7200 ATA/100
Now I have a 4-way 5400 ATA/100

And the speed seems to benchmark to below a single 7200 ATA/100 drive... And yet still seems pretty nippy, can't really notice a difference, except the extra 100Gig breathing room .

If I had the space I'd back the lot up and split the raid so that there are no channel clashes which I suspect may be the problem.

Zorro.

P.S. Spode, any joy recovering your data?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2001, 11:13 PM
Phil's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Phil

Quote:
Originally posted by Zorro
BTW, anyone noticed a drop in RAID 0 speeds if you use 4-way?

I used to have a 2-way 7200 ATA/100
Now I have a 4-way 5400 ATA/100

And the speed seems to benchmark to below a single 7200 ATA/100 drive... And yet still seems pretty nippy, can't really notice a difference, except the extra 100Gig breathing room .

If I had the space I'd back the lot up and split the raid so that there are no channel clashes which I suspect may be the problem.

Zorro.

P.S. Spode, any joy recovering your data?
Could be any number of things, have you benchmarked a 5400rpm on it's own? as some are bout 1/4 the speed of current 7200rpm drives, my 6.4gb 5400rpm maxtor only benchmarks at about 6mb/s so I would expect say 4 of them raid'd up to only score around 20mb/s if that. Or it could just be a bad synthetic benchmark
__________________
"Let's Blow This Facist Popsicle Stand!"



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2001, 01:29 AM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

congrats spode
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
750gb Raid 5 Array Gone!?!?!? bacon612 CRASHED! 12 10th March, 2006 10:58 AM
Ghosting raid 0 array using nvraid? bradmax57 64 Bit computing 2 19th July, 2004 09:40 PM
backing up a RAID array e_storm OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 3rd June, 2003 06:36 PM
AT PSU to power RAID array? Azriel Hardware Hacking 12 14th March, 2002 12:30 PM
Software Raid Array Using WinXP 5150Joker General Hardware Discussion 2 13th March, 2002 10:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0