AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2005, 12:44 AM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

Laptop doesn't seem to boot

I'm currently trying to make one of those digital picture frames you may have seen on the internet somewhere. I've got the laptop all taken apart but I've got one small problem: the laptop does not seem to want to boot. When I turn it on, the disk drive starts spinning and whatnot like it should do, but the screen does not come on. I figured that maybe I'd killed the laptop screen while taking the thing apart (it all worked fine before I'd taken it apart) so I connected an external screen to it. Nothing. I've gone through connecting all of the original parts again to see if I could remedy the problem. No dice. Did I just screw up the laptop mobo when taking it out or is there something that I'm missing.

I really hope that I can resolve this problem because although I went into this knowing full well that this could destroy the machine I'd really like this project to be a success.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2005, 01:11 AM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

After thinking about it for a couple minutes, it seems logical that something bad may have happened with the graphics chip. However, the graphics chip is soldered right onto the mobo. It just strikes me as odd that it wouldn't work anymore when nothing else seems to be wrong. I'm still looking for other ideas. Got any?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2005, 01:21 AM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

can you hear it "POST"?
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2005, 01:51 AM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

It doesn't beep, though I don't remember if it ever did.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2005, 02:01 AM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

Figured it out: bad bank of memory. I must've killed one of the sticks when I was unpacking the whole thing. However, the most important thing to me is that it still works fine. Woohoo! Now I just need to find a frame for the whole thing and reassemble it all into the frame and hang on the wall. I've got a perfect spot for it, too. As always, you guys will get to see the project when it is completed.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2005, 02:25 AM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

Heh, now Ubuntu doesn't want to boot all the way. That's ok though as I just might want to do another clean install just to free some space and get rid of stuff I don't need that I've installed recently.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2005, 03:57 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

How much mem do you have now? It might not be enough to boot Ubuntu?!?!
$.02
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2005, 04:21 AM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

I believe I'd have enough with just one stick, but the strangest thing happened. It kept stopping the boot process just a little bit in so I figured I'd give it a clean install for some extra space. However, it wasn't wanting to boot. I put the other stick in and it booted up to the disk and is now installing. It's odd. I think it might be a problem, but I'm not so sure anymore.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Laptop skool h8r Case Modifications 4 15th April, 2007 09:59 PM
Apple Boot Camp (Dual-Boot) Impressions fantomfreq OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 28th September, 2006 04:39 AM
2GB in a laptop! cadaveca Hardware Hacking 5 21st April, 2005 05:58 PM
LAptop without OS stigweed General Hardware Discussion 9 13th September, 2003 03:03 PM
Computer will not boot if floppy of HD is first boot device patrizio EPoX MotherBoards 4 20th July, 2003 01:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0