AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 16th August, 2005, 01:31 PM

Send a message via MSN to acgraham

raid array or hard disk failed? strange problem

hey guys. im an animator and i was just about to finish this big job today and i took a lunch break. i came back and the machine had been reset and wouldn't boot. I think it was a power surge because the power supply to my external drive was busted too.

so anyway i go into the raid utility (im using raid 0, which now that ive learnt my lesson will never do again), and it says the drive on channel 1 (lets call it A) is free, and the drive on channel 2 (B) is assigned to array one. so array one apparently believes that the drive on channel 1 is failed or disconnected.

to find out more, i swapped the drive's channels over, and now it says the drive on channel 2 (A again) is failed or disconnected, and that B on channel two is assinged to array 1. this led me to the conclusion that drive A is completely busted, but then it did this which further confuses me.

when i plug in any of the disks by themselves into either channel 1 or 2 so that only one of them is connected at a time, the utility says that they are assigned to array 1. this is pretty counterintuitive to me, as this information leads me to believe that it is the controller that is screwed, perhaps it cant deal with more than one drive at the same time after this power surge damaged it, but im not sure.

either way, im stumped as to whether its my disks or the controller which is at stake. what do you guys think?