AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to xelldran1

Won't Boot and I don't know why

Came home last night from an evening session to find my computer on but not responding. The monitor was in power save mode and no amount of CTRL+ALT+DELETE was rebooting it so I cold rebooted. When I cold rebooted rather than the ussually happy post noises and normal mobo codes I got a two beep sound that repeats and a mobo code of 1d. I have an Epox 8RDA3+ and when I looked through the manual the closest code was 1Dh which means "Initial EARLY_PM_INIT switch" If anyone has any clue what that means or why my comp may have crapped the bed it would be much appreciated.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th September, 2005, 12:57 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Looking across various troubleshoots on this code it seems to mainly be down to the graphics card not being detected properly for one reason or another, also check for bulging/leaking caps on your board and try swapping the memory into another slot as this has fixed a few peoples pc's with code 1d.
Try also removing your CMOS battery and all Atx cables from your board and leave it for a few minutes, plug it all back in and try again.

edit: the "h" on the code just means hexadecimal afaik
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th September, 2005, 06:18 AM
radcon56's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Somersworth, NH
Posts: 160

Restore system to an earlier time by holding F8 key during startup and entering
safe mode.From there go to system restore.
__________________
Acrylic Mid-Tower Case
OCZ Powerstream 520 PSU
Abit IC7-G Motherboard
Intel 82875P Chipset
P4 478 3.0EGHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 HTT
2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 CL2 DDR 400 RAM
ATI Radeon X800XL AGP 8X 256mb
2x Samsung SP0812C SATA RAID 0 4K cluste
Toshiba TS-H92A CD-RW/DVD
Toshiba TS-H552B CD/DVDW
Viewsonic VA912b DVI/LCD Monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound
Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2.0
Windows XP Pro SP3

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2005, 06:54 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Any joy, xelldran1?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2005, 08:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to xelldran1

Yeah after trying a few things I noticed that the northbridge fan wasn't on and it kind of dawned on me "crap northbridge probably died". Ordered a similar board, Epox 8RDA+3 Pro. Thing won't boot I just get C3 when I try. No noise this time. Gonna reset the CMOS and see what that does. Thanks all.

Well wiped the CMOS and tried again. And I'm back to phase 1. I get the 1d code on the LED. There is no noise so I know that its not the ram, which makes me thing my vid card is dead. Gonna try to get my hands on one and test with that. Thanks again.
__________________

Last edited by xelldran1; 23rd September, 2005 at 08:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2005, 09:56 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Are you sure of your PSU?
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2005, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to xelldran1

Pretty sure, but I suppose I could test that out though, cuz I'm running out of ideas.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Boot Camp (Dual-Boot) Impressions fantomfreq OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 28th September, 2006 04:39 AM
Won't Boot Dsherm112 CRASHED! 13 7th March, 2004 10:40 PM
BooT Booting problem 8KRA2+ SATA-Raid and PATA-Raid together; not able to boot SATA.. DaF EPoX MotherBoards 0 1st October, 2003 09:20 PM
Computer will not boot if floppy of HD is first boot device patrizio EPoX MotherBoards 4 20th July, 2003 01:48 PM
cant boot, wont boot, cant flash, wont flash. cant live, help stallen CRASHED! 27 4th September, 2002 08:55 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0