AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2005, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

TFT Monitor

My much beloved AG Neovo E-17 TFT appears to be badly damaged.
It seems to have deteriorated over time.
Frist, as you may recall, I started getting "misty" patches between the glass screen and the LCD panel. These are now occuring freqeuntly.
However, even worse, all the OSD buttons including the power button are broken.
The Power On button does not switch off or on the panel, but bizzarely the volum + and - buttons, the autosize button and the OSD control buttons now do not do their normal functions but instead switch the panel off and on.
This means I can no longer autosize, adjust the OSD settings or anything.

I don't know what to do. I have a 3 years manufacturers warranty which I could use. But there is a big problem. The box it came in was accidentally thrown away. So I have no box for it, only the foam inserts.
Would I be able to ask AG Neovo to send me a box to RMA it to them?
Or should I RMA to eBuyer.
I am really upset about this. The pnael still "works" but that isn't the point.
I'm so upset I can't tell my family.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2005, 02:37 PM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

It wont make any difference which box it is in. As long as it nice and safe they should take it back
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2005, 03:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

eBuyer will not have anything to do with this.
I have contacted AG Neovo by e-mail, if no response I'll call them.
On their website it states packaging can be supplied to the customer at extra cost.
So I'll ask my father to pay for that seeing as he threw the box away.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2005, 03:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Well, Neovo have a stunning customer service reputation so this should work out fine.
The newer E-17 models have up-rated specs, so if it's repalced that's a conselation.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 01:11 AM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

You do have a replacement monitor to use while the TFT is being replaced, right? Because sometimes it can get drawn out a bit.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2005, 01:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

AG Neovo were fantastic! They are gonna send me a new one as soon as they get it, and all I have to do is put the old one in the new ones box to give to courier.
The woman sounded shocked by how badly damaged the monitor is, so they aren't even going to bother looking at it. Just a straight swap.
Comapred to the various blokes on the end of OCuks support line, these guys were great.
Hopefully it won't be too long before they get a new batch of monitors.
But, well done AG Neovo.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2005, 03:43 PM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

Wow, so the courier will drop by with the new monitor some time soon, and all you have to do is give him/her your old one, and that's it?

Nice.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2005, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Yes, that's it. No questions or quibbles. It was all solved in one quick phone call.
None of this messing around with premium rate phone numbers, lying and sending me the same monitor back pretending it's the replacement.
Wchich is what ocUK did with my old shuttle.
"Here you go mate, your new replacement."
"Actually, you've just sent me my old one."
Idiots!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2005, 05:12 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Good for you.

My guess is that the condensation which was forming on the inside of the glass panel has found it's way on to the circuits behind the control buttons. If so, mould may have formed on the PCB causing a short. That can usually be fixed by wiping the mould off.

When you get a replacement I would try to do something about the temperature in your room, otherwise you may have the same problem again in 6 months time. Or, get a panel which doesn't have a glass front on it.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2005, 03:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

That's a good suggestion. The problem is, our attic bedroom is heated by a very small radiator. In the winter months, I literally struggle to get out of bed as it is so cold.
In fact, last year, I recorded a temperature of -10C. Outside the temperature was -2C.
In the summer months, all the hot air rises into our room and it turns into a furnace. This year I recorded a high of 35C. Outside, the temperature was 30C.
I am going to speak to my parents about this, but it is likely all we can do is rely on our little radiator. There is no room for anything else. I will have to, from now on I think, be more wary of the temperature when I use my computer.
I'll bare this in mind, and see what happens. I am glad AG Neovo were quick to resolve this. The monitor, despite the problems, is still firmly reccomended by me. AG rarely submit their products for review, so their hardly as well known as LG or Viewsonic.
But if they did, would Viewsonic and LG always be victors?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2005, 03:22 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I'd suggest leaving the heater on a low setting all the time. That way the room temp will stay more stable and you won't get some much of a problem with condensation.

Heating in our house was near enough non-existant when I was a kid. Never mind condensation, there would be a sheet of ice on the inside of my window in the morning! No wonder I hate getting out of bed!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2005, 03:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

It is a problem!
But shouldn't this electronic equipment be able to deal with it? Perhaps this is a design fault on the E-17, or maybe a design fault with all NeoV Optical Filter products. Unfortunately for Neovo, this is their selling point!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2005, 03:52 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Glass is bad for condensation when it cools in humid air. The air in a house is usually quite humid due to cooking and showers, etc.

You might try making a dust cover for it out of tape and bubble wrap. That way it will be insulated when you switch it off. Bubble wrap works quite well at insulating.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2005, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Great! Thanks, I'm gonna try that. I have loads of bubblewrap spare so I'll definately try that. It may look crude, but it offers great protection.
__________________

Last edited by aghastpumpkin; 28th October, 2005 at 04:55 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 11:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

This is bizarre! The buttons are working fine now.
How the....
Does anybody know how the buttons work? It may help shed some light on how they work one time and not another.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 05:27 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

If there was some dampness in there it may have dried out and is no longer shorting the buttons.

Do you know what a keypad on a mobile phone looks like when you take the cover off? It will be something similar to that. In fact mobiles suffer the same problem when the get wet from rain.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 09:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Oh right, I see. Well, I still get the mist patch so at least I won't get told off for sending in a "functioning" monitor.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor Mod danrok Case Modifications 0 22nd March, 2005 08:09 PM
Which monitor out of these? Veky Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 25th June, 2004 08:55 PM
my monitor mod N.V.M. Case Modifications 32 4th June, 2003 12:53 PM
Monitor MOD!! robbie Case Modifications 3 22nd November, 2002 04:34 PM
monitor kat General Hardware Discussion 14 16th October, 2001 06:31 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0