AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 01:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 101

Angry Password Lockout

I have a toshiba satallite a75-s226 with a phoenix bios 4.0... my friend set the password on me and he can't remeber... how do i default it.. i also don't have a floppy drive available.. anyway to default it or bypass?

Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 01:21 AM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

I think the only way is to reset the CMOS, but by doing that you'll wipe all of your BIOS settings. Look in your manual for how. Usually there's a jumper you have to pull off the motherboard, place onto some pins, and then put it back onto the original pins 10 seconds later.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 01:24 AM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

Which P/W are we talking about?

Bios or Windows?

If it is a windows NT, 2000, or one of the XP platforms password it can be changed but you will have to find someone with the software to do it. I'm sure you will have to prove ownership also......

Like Chaz said... if it is the bios then just clear it, though I'm not sure how that is done on a laptop......
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 01:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 101

problem is that its a laptop
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 01:29 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

If Bios password, you can reset the CMOS, either by jumpers or take the batteries out for about 30sec.

If NT, 2000, XP (I think 9x as well) you can either reformat, or take it into someone who has the software to reset it.

You will have to prove ownership, and it will be expensive. May I suggest next time you use the help menu, and create a password reset disk, if its windows.

edit < take batteries, cords out, take the back cover off, CMOS battery should be in small window you take off.

if you cannot find it, google system specs for that model >
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 01:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 101

its the bios..not the windows... trying to take laptop apart... what should this cmos battery look like?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 02:22 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

its a round disc, like a very oversized watch battery about 1.5cm diameter

Unless its a very old laptop, then it will be square and black, have 2 leads coming off it (red and black), and be a bit bigger than a AA size battery
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 02:25 AM
Chaz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: England
Posts: 208

http://www.devhardware.com/administr...mg/battery.jpg

That's what you're looking for.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 03:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 101

mine is soldered in.. how long will it take to die and lose the info.?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 03:13 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Quote:
Originally Posted by Microgers87
mine is soldered in.. how long will it take to die and lose the info.?
Ages if it hasn't already, depending on situations, but they can last for up to 3 years.

Is it lightly soldered?

If so, VERY gently heat the solder, and take it out, use a very fine tipped soldering iron
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 03:55 AM
Phat Pat's Avatar
Phat Spammer
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: /home/pat
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Phat Pat

http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/reference/biosp.htm

Backdoor passwords

Also, if it is a very old machine you may be able to do a buffer overflow on the password input. just keep hitting a as many times as you can, I've never seen this work, but I've heard it does on older bios revisions.
__________________
God's got this all wrong. We are not special. We are not crap or trash either. We just are, and what happens just happens.
And God says, "No, that's not right."
Yeah. Well. Whatever. You can't teach God anything. -Tyler Durden

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 05:40 AM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

I'm going to ask a stupid question.......

Do you loose the password if you flash the bios?

It's been forever since I flashed my bios ...
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 06:45 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

not normally, but some do

some others even ask for the password to flash the bios.

Usually the best thing to do is find some layout documentation and use the jumpers to reset the bios
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2005, 09:16 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

My experience with Toshiba laptops is that they store the password in a non-volatile EEPROM - removing the CMOS battery will erase the CMOS settings, but not the password.

Some Toshiba laptops respond to a specially wired parallel port plug, if the laptop you have has a parallel port. You can try wiring up the following pins:
  • 1 - 5 - 10
  • 2 - 11
  • 3 - 17
  • 4 - 12
  • 6 - 16
  • 7 - 13
  • 18 - 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 - 24 - 25 (these are all grounds)
  • 8 - 14
  • 9 - 15

Another alternative is if the machine has a floppy disk (Yes, I know you said it didn't) - you can try making a key disk. You'll need a sector editor to do this however. Basically, you edit the second sector and put the hex sequence 4B 45 59 00 00 in as the first five bytes. Shove the disk in the drive and cold boot the laptop. If it works, you'll be able to press "enter" for the password prompt.

I believe that newer Toshiba laptops may require a USB key in order to bypass the password. I don't have details of these USB keys I'm afraid. Otherwise, it's ring Toshiba up and see how much they'll charge.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2005, 06:26 PM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

If it's the bios password, reset the cmos. If it's the windows password, you will have to either crack the hash, or just change the pass. You won't be able to read files incrypted by windows though, even after changing the pass on the acct. This was explained in detail on the 3rd episode of The Broken. http://videos.revision3.com/thebroken/thebroken3.avi

thebroken.org
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD

Last edited by Azriel; 19th November, 2005 at 06:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lastest fallout from the NHL lockout? Anna Kournikova weds Enrique Iglesias? mookydooky Random Nonsense! 2 15th December, 2004 09:58 PM
IBM Thinkpad BIOS password! CaesaR CRASHED! 5 11th October, 2003 09:29 PM
took me 45 minutes to remmeber how to get password medicn lonewolf Random Nonsense! 4 22nd May, 2003 09:11 PM
XP password CaptainJack OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 18th November, 2002 10:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0