AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2002, 05:13 AM
Poseidonf4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

monitor plug fuxored

ok, here's my problem... my monitor has a male vga plug in the back instead of the cable just being permanently attached, because it is about 7 years old, and it has coax plugs in the back too. The connectors that the pins on the cable make contact with seem to be worn, and every once in a while, the screen will go blank, or turn pretty colors, or just go crazy... if i wiggle the cable it will fix itself, but this drives me nuts when i'm playing Q3A, or watching a DVD, etc. I was wondering, would a little dab of di-electric grease in each hole fix the problem, or do I have to take the monitor apart and solder a new connector in there? I refuse to buy a new monitor, because although this one is a dinosaur, it is 21 inches, is made by radius, and supports upwards of 1600x1200 resolutin, as well as perfect colors and crispness. It weighs almost 100 lbs, but thats another story... PLEASE HELP ME!!!! Thanks!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 04:19 PM
Dr_Romulus's Avatar
Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to Dr_Romulus

So you have a 15-pin VGA connector AND 5 BNC (coax looking things) connectors on the monitor?

If this is the case buy a new BNC cable from computergate or someone and use that. I have an old Mitsubishi that uses those cables myself.

There are several higher end CAD monitors that use BNC connectors because they are supposed to give a cleaner signal... dunno if it is true though. I do know for a fact that I can tell a difference in the clearity of the signal when I use BNC over the 15-pin on mine though.


Now if I could only get it to refreash higher than 72... hmmmm :-D


edit: w00t w00t baby!!!! can you lock my post count at 69 forever???
__________________
I am Jack's desire to kill you all...

My Heatware

Email me here
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 04:56 PM
Poseidonf4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

well, it turns out the pins in the back were busted, so i soldered them back to the board, and it works now. You can get a vga-BNC cable adapter, and it appears clearer? SWEET! Do you know where i can get one? I thought you needed a special graphics card just to use it!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 04:59 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr_Romulus
can you lock my post count at 69 forever???
Why?

:-D
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 05:21 PM
Dr_Romulus's Avatar
Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to Dr_Romulus

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky


Why?

:-D
Just a sad old mans pathetic attempt at teh funnie...

i'm still juvenille enough that 69 makes me chortle a bit...
__________________
I am Jack's desire to kill you all...

My Heatware

Email me here
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 08:37 PM
Poseidonf4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

oh come on... you can't be TOO old, after all, you obviously like NIN.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2002, 08:50 PM
Dr_Romulus's Avatar
Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to Dr_Romulus

Yea but it's OLD nine inch nails!!

Seriously, in this place 31 is an old man...
__________________
I am Jack's desire to kill you all...

My Heatware

Email me here
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which plug will you be pluging in? Daniel ~ General Hardware Discussion 2 19th February, 2007 05:52 PM
Leds but where to plug-in RCA??? booman Case Modifications 5 25th March, 2006 02:48 PM
oh. just plug it in anywhere.... surlyjoe Random Nonsense! 16 22nd March, 2005 09:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0