AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2006, 07:06 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

well almost
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2006, 08:01 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

can any one give me a hand with how to cool off a computer without spending alot of money thanks
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2006, 08:25 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

You can drill holes in the case, that could be done easily, and very cheaply, too
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2006, 08:58 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

and put more fans in the holes? or can i get rid of some wires by like roping them together to pull them back out of the way of airflow
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2006, 09:15 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

You can do both Make sure that the air flow makes sense though - don't have fans pulling in opposite directions. Use cable ties to sort out your cable's inside
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2006, 09:19 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

ok cool i'll get around to trying some of this stuff soon thanks i would love to hear any more suggestions you might have
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2006, 09:33 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

At great personal expense (yeah right) I have taken a picture of my set up You can see I have a front 120mm fan pulling air in over my HDD to keep that cool, and a rear 120mm set to turn slowly to draw heat away from my CPU. I also have another 80mm fan on the side panel pulling air in directly at the 80mm fan on the CPU. The air from this is then vented through the PSU. (well that's the theory) So my airflow is vaguely balanced.

You can see that I have attempted to cable tie my cables together and get them out of the way of the fans. Or, if they have to run in the way I have grouped them together to take up less room.

An idea that I had was to replace the 60mm fan that came with my retail heatsink with a 80mm one that not only lights up blue (yay) but also moves more air.
Attached Thumbnails
bf2 crashes-picture.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2006, 09:37 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

hey thanks alot
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2006, 09:41 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

No worries happy to help.

Sorry for the crappy picture though - my batteries died before I could take a better one
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2006, 09:42 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

how do you or should you change the speed or is it just a plug and play kind of thing?
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2006, 09:44 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

i think i might copy your whole setup because looking at my mobo i have only 3 small fans that dont look like they do look that much and most of the heat feels like is in the back and i got a the perfect room for a rear 120mm fan and in front too.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2006, 09:47 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

My case came with built in rheostats (fan controllers, whatever you like to call them) for the 120mm fans. I let the two 80mm fans run at full tilt becasue I am too lazy to attach them to another one.

If you want something that looks funky, try these.

You can, of course find other brands and models at other places for less and more money
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2006, 01:20 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

what about actual fans i want that 2x120mm setup you have and i think they are cheap
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2006, 03:56 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

how much ram should i have to set the agp apature to 512mb becasue right now it is set to 256mb? because i was thinkin about buyin another 1gb stick
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2006, 06:40 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

AGP apeture has to do with the video card not system RAM - and someone leap in and correct me if I am wrong here - should be set to 128 or 256. It has no effect on stability in my experience. If someone hasn't mentioned it already, check your virtual memory settings. Some resource intensive games do better when the virtual memory is set to 'system managed size'. Near as I can figure it, if you set a specific amount of virtual memory and you run out do to memory leaks (I am assuming bad programming here) the game will crash.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2006, 08:09 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

ok thanks i'll check it out
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2006, 02:24 AM
Skiracing108's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 498
Send a message via AIM to Skiracing108

having 2 gigs of ram compared to 1 made a big difference even with my beefcake vid card-ive noticed faster loading times usually first 1-5 in and when flying or moving fast its much smoother, not nearly as choppy as with 1 gig-probably because of the size of the maps
__________________
amd3000+venice oc'ed from 1.8 to 2.18ghz
1 gig dual channel patriot unbufferered
evga nforce4 sli edition mobo
evga 7800gtx CORE 498mhz MEM 1.29ghz
Maxtor 250gig hardrive
soundblaster-audigy 2z's
Klipsch pro media 5:1 surround sound
Thermaltake 500w psu
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2006, 10:17 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

hey i just got 2 gigs and not really sure if i should change much in the bios you got any suggestions? thanks
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2006, 09:42 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

glad to not have seen this in a long time but i got some more crashes that i cant tell whats wrong. i have lately seen some "system has recovered from a serious error" messages that have been giving me a scare, along with about 3-4 full system crashes that have all happened with A. playing hf2 bf2 and B. watch a movie. any suggestions with help
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2006, 08:02 PM
midnightcowbo1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: wyoming
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to midnightcowbo1 Send a message via Yahoo to midnightcowbo1

bf2 and expansion packs support geforce fx 6800 and up, anything lower crashes on 20 and up 50 player maps.
__________________
my bad :thumbsup
:
Intel Pentium D 2.80ghz
Aerocool high tower 101 (2 80mm vantecs)
ASUS p5ld2
4 gb (4x1024) Corsair pc-6400 800mhz
EVGA Geforce 9500 gt
2 Seagate Barracudas (2x80 gb)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have tried everything I know but it still crashes... ochest CRASHED! 22 12th June, 2006 11:54 AM
BF2 Crashes Exile69 GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 31st October, 2005 12:40 AM
BF2 crashes Motivator CRASHED! 8 22nd September, 2005 02:03 AM
pc crashes again! ajopz CRASHED! 21 1st June, 2005 09:46 PM
Air Force One crashes!!! Uncle Bob Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 1 14th October, 2002 01:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0