AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2006, 10:20 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

crashes and bios

when playing battlefield 2 my cpu randomly performs a clean crash to the desktop or every now & then or a hole cpu crash, i got all the updates, patches but my bios version is 1.0 and there is 3.0 out so will this or does it ever help out a situation like this or no. this is the only thing (i think) i have not tried.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2006, 09:18 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

BF2 is just buggy...
It's probably not your system. There are things you can do to make it more stable, but the program itself is unstable so there's only so much you can do.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2006, 11:00 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

what are the things i can do?
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2006, 12:02 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Open up your task manager before playing and kill any processes which are not needed. Freeing up some resources might help.

As said, it's very buggy there's no magic fix.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2006, 01:02 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

you got any configure suggestions all the little **** i know but thanks tho
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2006, 01:03 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

ie paging files is a new one to me i no clue how it works or what to set it at
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 07:07 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

will the bios have anything to do with it crashing while playing bf2 or no
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2006, 03:57 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

It might and it might not. Ussually there is a discription of what the BIOS update fixes. If my system is stable and I am having no problems I don't update the BIOS. However your system is having some issue somewhere. I would update the BIOS.

Just make sure you don't do it durring a thunderstorm. If you update from a floppy make sure your floppy drive is in good working order and not full of dog hair or dust, and use a brand new floppy. If they have an option to do a "WinFlash" do that instead. I am a firm believer in that my HDD is more reliable than my FDD.

Also after the update you will have to go into the BIOS and change your settings.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2006, 11:40 AM
TJBURGESS's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 14

Cool

EA just posted this info about the new patch there working on yesterday

Figured it might be of some us....

http://www.ea.com/official/battlefie...yupdate_022106

Good day soldiers, We want to let you know that we have been making great progress on patch 1.21 and are happy to share with you some of the issues that are being addressed. The patch will be tested in a limited beta starting the end of this week. We're working around the clock to minimize your wait on the release of 1.21 but at the same time want to make sure that the patch is thoroughly tested before it goes out officially.

Below is a list of the current confirmed fixes
Crash bug when using Hummer with TOW in the Special Forces expansion pack has been fixed
Screen capture is now working
Performance issues with certain ATI cards has been addressed
Server browser can now filter by map name
Claymores - the number that can be dropped at any one time has been reduced to 2
Once again thank you for your patience and see you all on the Battlefield!

The team at DICE and EA

But until than you might want to try the 1.2 patch they release 2/16/06

http://www.ea.com/official/battlefie.../downloads.jsp
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2006, 06:50 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

i just got another gig stick is there any thing i could change in the bios to take advantage of this?
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th April, 2006, 04:25 AM
xmetrix's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 137
Send a message via AIM to xmetrix Send a message via MSN to xmetrix Send a message via Yahoo to xmetrix

run dxdiag and find out if there are any missing/corrupt files. also update to the latest version of direct x
__________________
Dual Opteron 246's @ 2ghz - 2gb pc3200 DDR
BFG 7800 GTOC 256 PCIe - 2TB sata300
1x16xDLDVDRWCDRWCOMBO
24" FP2405W LCD 1920x1200 1000:1
Microsoft Keyboard with Fingerprint Reader
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical 1.1a 5 button black
Windows XP Pro sp1
IE7b3
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bf2 crashes bonesaw CRASHED! 64 26th September, 2006 01:02 AM
BF2 Crashes Exile69 GAMES! OH YEAH! 7 31st October, 2005 12:40 AM
BF2 crashes Motivator CRASHED! 8 22nd September, 2005 02:03 AM
8kha+ Barton@133x17 crashes BIOS straubgx EPoX MotherBoards 6 3rd November, 2003 08:21 PM
8k3a+ crashes in PC health status screen in bios nightfall6 EPoX MotherBoards 3 15th October, 2002 03:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0