AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th February, 2006, 11:22 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Windows 'upgrade' encryption

hi all,
Well, after a long battle with my HD, i finally managed to get it copied and backed up (would you belive that it was only 5 small files causing problems!!!). I've now reinstalled on the backup (don't want to damage the original) and i can view all my files through windows explorer. But i want to be able to get all my desktop back to how it was before the hardware upgrade. Now, when i used Computer management to set my profile path to the one that contains my original files, if i log off, and try to log back on, i get a message telling me that it can't copy my profile because there are encrypted files and the keys to decrypt them are stored in the profile.....but they're not available (*cries*). So, where do i go from here? I really want to be able to get it back to how it was without having to use my old hardware setup (don't even go there). If i have to use it to do some work on the hard drive using the old setup (to help me get it back to how it was), then i'm prepared to do that, but i just don't know what to do from here. I think i need to decrypt something, but i can't get in to decrypt it (except through windows explorer). And the error message doesn't help any, no error code or anything listing which files are encrypted. So, any help is much appreciated, it's been a long month (can you belive it's only about a month since i got this upgrade, blimey, seems much longer) without my old desktop and quick access to all my files. The ironic thing is, XP Home doesn't have EFS (Encrypting File System) on it but i had to go with Xp Pro didn't i.

So, anyone got the foggiest on what i can do? I have found this: http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro...y/cryptfs.mspx but i don't know if it'll help me.

Thanks,
Scott.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2006, 03:12 PM
JimF's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: South London/UK
Posts: 221

I guess you've done new install on a second drive or partition?

It may be that Windows won't let you access private data assigned to old user ID's even if you use the same user ID/password as it also generates a unique key against the user ID.

A new windows install is a good idea when swapping hardware but making an unprotected copy of all your data and settings (remove file encrytion etc) is an must do before you do this.

If you can log onto the 'old' Windows install then you can copy 'Documents and Settings' to a directory on your new disk or use the MSoft transfer wizard - if you can't.

Make sure anything you copy hasn't got any access restrictions - right click on the top level folder use the security tab and make sure that the 'all users' group has permissions set up.

If you're logged in as admin then adding your current user id to the list of those with permissions will sometimes get you into a directory that appears locked if Windows will let you !
__________________

Last edited by JimF; 19th February, 2006 at 03:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th February, 2006, 03:17 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Can you boot it up with your old set up, and use the files and settings transfer wizzard? That should sort out most things, I think
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic Upgrade for $79.99 danrok Online Deals, and Steals 0 27th June, 2007 05:52 PM
Blu-ray Disc and HD DVD Encryption magic! Daniel ~ Data Security 0 15th February, 2007 06:11 PM
Laptop Encryption the Service Way Gizmo Data Security 0 19th December, 2006 04:39 AM
Free Upgrade to Windows 64bit Edition GrahamGarside 64 Bit computing 44 9th May, 2005 05:31 PM
Loading Windows upgrade to upgrade? akaBruno CRASHED! 1 24th February, 2002 05:53 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0