AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2006, 10:03 PM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

Screen res

I wasnt sure where else to post this, so it is here.

A workm8 came to me with a problem. When he views certain web pages the text go's off the page and somethings are unreadable.

I told him to adjust the screen resulution to 1024 x 768 as i thought this would solve the problem. He is going to try tonight and will tell me if it works in the morning.

Ive never come across this problem b4, but i figured that if a webpage is designed to be viewed in 1024 x 768 and it is being viewed in 800 x 600 it would cut up the page and only show a section. Is this correct?

He is using IE, If this doesnt solve the problem are there any options in IE to set up the screen res? or anything to resize the page.

Any help fellas would be well recieved

__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2006, 11:42 PM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajopz
if a webpage is designed to be viewed in 1024 x 768 and it is being viewed in 800 x 600 would it cut up the page and only show a section. Is this correct?

He is using IE, If this doesnt solve the problem are there any options in IE to set up the screen res? or anything to resize the page.

Anyone?????

Hello?

where has everyone gone?

Its getting cold and dark in here!
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2006, 11:47 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

We're all sleeping, LOL.

In general, a web browser will try to fit all of the web page into the visible portion of the page. However, if an element (such as an image or a table) is too big to fit, it will run off the edge of the window. Running larger screen resolutions helps, but the fundamental issue lies in the design of the web page. Most web pages these days are designed for 800x600 displays, and some (like AOA) are designed for 1024x768. One of the goals of good web page design is to try to gracefully degrade at lower settings but this isn't always possible, and different browsers also behave slightly differently.

Is your friend having problems with EVERY site, or only certain ones?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2006, 11:56 PM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

Only certain sites. I didnt ask how many or which sites.

Thanks for clearing that up for me Gizmo


Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
We're all sleeping, LOL.
Time to join you all i think .z.z.z.z.z.z.z.z.z.z.z
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2006, 12:08 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

Tell him to hold crtl down and move the scroll wheel till it fits that will change the txt size.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2006, 12:23 AM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

Thats a handy little trick madcat.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2006, 01:25 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

I presumed by now your tried it. You'll never go back to the old way, works on almost all internet browsers.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2006, 01:30 AM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

Yeah, its dead handy for inlarging small text without having to pee around with setting. Nice1
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2006, 06:27 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

FYI CTRL-0 resets the text to normal
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2006, 07:23 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I have had the same problem with designing websites.
I try to base the size on 800x600 but some of my pics or wallpapers will be larger because they are meant to be downloaded.
Sometimes websites that are larger than 800x600 they will say "best viewed at 1024x768 screen resolution".
Its hard to make a website "universal" so everyone can view it exactly the same. Specially with all the different computers and browser styles.
I wish more people would use the 1024x768 screen resolution for website, because they can create more graphics and eye-candy.

Was that your friends problem?
If it was you may also want to tell him to also make sure his color settings are on 32 Bit.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2006, 11:57 AM
ajopz's Avatar
Member
Simon Champion, 3D Car Driver Champion, Taz's Dance Fever Champion, Arcanoid Champion, Simpsons Shooter Champion, Break in the Crowd Champion, Mad Shark Champion, Quad Champion, Super Flash Mario Bros. Champion
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,123

It turned out he didnt tell me the whole story. He missed out the fact that he was trying to print pages off, It wasnt a problem with the display but with the printer cutting off the end of pages.
I wish ppl would make themselves clear . I told him to set the printer to centre and rotate the page so it will be printed on the page longwise.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue Screen! 5|*42 CRASHED! 4 6th September, 2004 01:38 AM
screen flashes at 200 FSB sirtoby EPoX MotherBoards 1 17th August, 2003 04:05 AM
Bug in my screen. Rackne General Hardware Discussion 6 27th July, 2002 09:07 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0