AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2006, 01:07 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Customer computer dead

I built a pc for a customer in Oct. Specs are

Sempron 2800
ECS NF3 Mainboard
512 Kingston Value Ram
Maxtor 7200 ATA 133
BenQ DVD RW w/ lightscribe
ATI 9250 128 meg

The pc is used for the graphics machine in a small printing company. Photoshop, corel, and the like.

Here is the issue; the owner put material over the intakes to hepl resuce dust inside the pc. While using the pc yesterday it just hard shut off, as if it was unplugged. When I got there that pc would turn on, but no post. I opened the case and the NB sink was so hot I could barely touch it. I tried the vid and mem in another machine and it works fine. The HD light stays on when I turn on the machine and never goes out. I do not have another socket 754 cpu or board to try. How can I determine if the board fried or the CPU is toast..????
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2006, 03:39 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Take the CPU out and try powering it on.

It should still POST with no CPU.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2006, 03:41 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Without another board, you're going to have to work on by a process of deduction and elimination.

I would think it unlikely to be the CPU, simply because the CPU and mobo have thermal management built into them to protect the CPU; if it got too hot, the mobo would have shut it down. Not so for the North Bridge; it will quite happily continue cranking until its brain melts down. That's what it sounds like has happened here, especially given that the NB HS is too hot to touch.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2006, 06:52 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Pull a Dell SOP, tell 'em that they need a brand new box--naah. After you find out puzzackly what the problem is, mounting a filtered intake fan on the left hand cover seems necessary. I hope you told the customer that their filtering trick made the machine too hot, thank you very much.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2006, 11:49 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
Pull a Dell SOP, tell 'em that they need a brand new box--naah. After you find out puzzackly what the problem is, mounting a filtered intake fan on the left hand cover seems necessary. I hope you told the customer that their filtering trick made the machine too hot, thank you very much.
That was the first thing I told her. You cooked it...

This case has the little port thingy (technical term) that allows air to be pulled directly to the cpu. It was limited on airflow.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2006, 11:51 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Without another board, you're going to have to work on by a process of deduction and elimination.

I would think it unlikely to be the CPU, simply because the CPU and mobo have thermal management built into them to protect the CPU; if it got too hot, the mobo would have shut it down. Not so for the North Bridge; it will quite happily continue cranking until its brain melts down. That's what it sounds like has happened here, especially given that the NB HS is too hot to touch.

I am thinking NB myself. If I power the pc up it is only a matter of moments before the NB is cooking again....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2006, 09:00 AM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Sadly this i have seen before - I suspect the motherboard has gone bye bye. Hopefully the CPU didn't die with it. I have seen several ECS boards - the old K75As - die exactly like this.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2006, 12:59 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I have used a few of these boards for builds. Probably 6 or so. I hope this does not become an issue......
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th March, 2006, 05:23 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
I have used a few of these boards for builds. Probably 6 or so. I hope this does not become an issue......
Only if your customers insist on blocking the ventilation in the case. Under those conditions, it won't matter WHICH board you use!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2006, 09:28 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I wanted to close this in case someone else had this issue. The mobo was fried. After a lengthy wait from ECS the board returned and all is well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2006, 12:52 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Glad you got it sorted and glad you updated the thread!!!
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2006, 02:26 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Hey,

we are here to serve as well as be served..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2006, 06:11 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

You've captured our thought exactly! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 01:27 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow
I built a pc for a customer in Oct. Specs are

Sempron 2800
ECS NF3 Mainboard
512 Kingston Value Ram
Maxtor 7200 ATA 133
BenQ DVD RW w/ lightscribe
ATI 9250 128 meg

The pc is used for the graphics machine in a small printing company. Photoshop, corel, and the like.

Here is the issue; the owner put material over the intakes to hepl resuce dust inside the pc. While using the pc yesterday it just hard shut off, as if it was unplugged. When I got there that pc would turn on, but no post. I opened the case and the NB sink was so hot I could barely touch it. I tried the vid and mem in another machine and it works fine. The HD light stays on when I turn on the machine and never goes out. I do not have another socket 754 cpu or board to try. How can I determine if the board fried or the CPU is toast..????
Okay - you're a system builder and you are selling systems ?

From the very outset you should know exactly the answers to all of the below. This is your responsibility if you are making a profit (or trying to) and selling to other meaningful entities.

What does your PCI based debug card report ?
What does the split plane for the CPU meausre at ?
Are there any IC's with pin burns ?
Any popped caps ?
Any burn marks on the PCB or raised tracks ?
What do all rails of the PSU measure at with a DVM ?
Any dirty sigs on the board from an oscillioscope ?
What do ECS say ?

I know the issue is fixed now, but to be a reseller and come to a foum for help ???????????
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 01:29 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
Take the CPU out and try powering it on.

It should still POST with no CPU.

POST needs a CPU Pitch - glad you're not support staff for my PC's.
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 01:34 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by wild_andy_c
Okay - you're a system builder and you are selling systems ?

What does your PCI based debug card report ?
What does the split plane for the CPU meausre at ?
Are there any IC's with pin burns ?
Any popped caps ?
Any burn marks on the PCB or raised tracks ?
What do all rails of the PSU measure at with a DVM ?
Any dirty sigs on the board from an oscillioscope ?
What do ECS say ?
I did a once over for visible signs of death. Nada.

I checked the PSU since the system would power up but not post and all seemed fine.

I did not bother putting a scope on it. Under warranty and I have better things to do than trace down what failed on a new board...

I barely got the board back from ECS, took forever, I did not ask what had failed. Customer service sucked.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 02:01 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

What did yur PCI debug card say though ?
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 08:29 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

No gots....never needed one...

I thought that is what this place was for.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 09:32 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

And your a professional with no second board, chip or memory - god help your customers.

Signed

Professional IT Stalwart
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2006, 09:47 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

All I have to say is thanks for your help.....

I do this for friends mostly. I usually have spares around. Did not happen to for this board.

If we were all as great as you, on your high horse, we wouldn't need this place.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The best customer service ever aghastpumpkin Reader's Retailer Ratings & Commentaries 5 18th December, 2006 05:56 AM
Computer.. DEAD.. RIP devilmyarse CRASHED! 3 30th October, 2005 08:41 AM
Computer is dead, please help? Got EpOx CRASHED! 18 15th June, 2005 10:06 AM
My computer is dead .. need help ASAP .MexiDan. AMD Motherboards & CPUs 30 12th July, 2002 11:03 PM
Customer Service A+ Cole EPoX MotherBoards 3 18th October, 2001 05:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0