AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2006, 04:32 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

xp startup/shutdown

I am having shutdown problems in xp home. fixed the sound driver issue, now
it is something else. while useing the troubleshooter, and following the script
in system config utility, selective startup, I cleared 'load startup items'. I
restart and the system hangs at the last black bios screen, just before
windows should start. I'm dead, its my friend computer and I would like to
give it back in better working condition.
I am a hardware mechanic and software issues really make me crazy!

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2006, 05:20 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Does it come up in Safe Mode?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2006, 05:24 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

When you start the rig press F8 and then choose Last known good configuration !
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2006, 09:03 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Does it come up in Safe Mode?

no
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2006, 09:05 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
When you start the rig press F8 and then choose Last known good configuration !
No to that. nada. will swap drives and try again. also won't boot from CD. I
can't start windows install to make repairs.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2006, 09:24 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

If you can get into the bios... choose "Load fail safe settings" A dieing HD will often cuz it to "stall" just after post cuz HD detection is usually set too "auto" so it looks for a new drive everytime you power it up. If the drive is dieing this sometimes will take the system a while to get past and then usually not have the drive installed.

I would suggest that you plug the drive into another box and try to save any info that way. Maybe try a different CD Rom as well.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2006, 10:26 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

actually the hdd is new. I was having issues with shutdown and thought I could
fix it. I will reset the bios and try it again. the wierd part is useing F8 gets me nothing.
F5 forces to bios option. all of the drives are recognized in the bios and startup. the machine has also developed issues when restarting from windows, the 'save/exit' in bios
and even the reset button. the board/bios may be going out.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2006, 10:32 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Is this a BRAND NEW board?!?! Has it ran XP before without any probs?!?! It might require a flashing.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2006, 10:57 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

no, not a new board. just put in an 80g hdd. it ran xp for over a year with no
issues. I did reset the dios to 'defaults' got it to boot from the cd. things got
wierd running the repair wizzard(locked up?). restarted only to find the bios
is the problem. good news is I have 2 identicle boards with good bios chips.
so I will do a swap and get back to you guys on the results.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2006, 05:57 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

replaced the bios chip. it will only work with defaults loaded. but it works! may flash it later.


Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2006, 01:57 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Well done, sir!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2006, 07:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabaerman
I am having shutdown problems in xp home. fixed the sound driver issue, now
it is something else. while useing the troubleshooter, and following the script
in system config utility, selective startup, I cleared 'load startup items'. I
restart and the system hangs at the last black bios screen, just before
windows should start. I'm dead, its my friend computer and I would like to
give it back in better working condition.
I am a hardware mechanic and software issues really make me crazy!

Ron

I'm a computer technician, and I found that a full windows update has fixed most XP Home issues related to startup-shutdown. Goodluck.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup Gives Video New Look Gizmo Digital Image, Photo, Video and Audio Editing. 0 26th July, 2006 01:46 AM
Win XP and chkdsk on startup?! Lazgoat CRASHED! 0 9th March, 2003 02:12 PM
Startup Problems.... Entire EPoX MotherBoards 17 6th September, 2002 10:10 PM
Startup crash - please help!!!!! Shiney CRASHED! 9 7th June, 2002 07:35 PM
UT error at startup... Pinky GAMES! OH YEAH! 9 3rd April, 2002 02:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0