AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2006, 07:04 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

help with sound

my sound worked when went to work but when i got home it was ****ed up. it doesn't work at all and some programs see that the card is there and other dont see anything. i tried to reinstall the drivers but half way through it says that something is messed up and cant finish. i think its bad drivers or wrong drivers from something something else if i had to take a guess other than that i have no clue. any help?
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2006, 09:00 AM
JimF's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: South London/UK
Posts: 221

A longshot but the easiest thing to check is that the card is properly seated.

A more tricky problem can be that the card ID which is on Eprom gets corrupted - if you post the error message it could help to narrow this down but the Creative forum has a lot of discussion about this:

http://forums.creative.com/creativel...d=83766#M40349

To boil down what I've read it seems that some users have been able to fix this by doing a reinstall in another PCI slot, some in a different machine, and others have had to RMA the board.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2006, 09:57 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

to recap all i know about the problem right now is that device manager can see the card, guitar pro(a midi program) cannot, winamp says bad directsound driver, onboard sound is the same problem(witch gives hope), i tried in pci slot. messed around in the bios, and it worked no more than 8 hours ago from now. and when i open the creative control panel it says that the device is not detected. thanks for any and all help because i got to fix this problem asap.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2006, 10:29 AM
JimF's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: South London/UK
Posts: 221

If your priority is getting the X-Fi back up I'd suggest you remove the card itself, remove all audio card drivers and programmes and disable the onboard sound.

Then reinsert the card, do a reinstall from the original CD that came with the card before doing any upgrades. This has got me out of trouble in the past.

If this doesn't work (the install program tells you the X-Fi is not recognised) then I suggest you try the Creative forum on the link I posted but I think the advice will be to RMA the board.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2006, 09:20 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

thanks i'll give it a shot
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2006, 11:30 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

i have an idea how to get rid of the drivers but if someone could provide a simple ''how to'' so i dont mess more stuff up i would be happy. thanks
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2006, 12:21 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Boot into safe mode. Uninstall the creative sound drivers from your computer through Add/Remove Programs. Restart into safe mode again. Run DriverCleaner and have it get rid of all those creative registry entries. Then you may proceed to install the drivers.

It is not completely necessary to install the drivers in safe mode, but it's probably a good idea. However, running drivercleaner in safe mode is a requirement.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2006, 04:13 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

ok thankyou
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2006, 09:30 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

i did that with no luck the same problem message when installing the drivers from the web came up from the disk. and yet the drivers, i dont think are uninstalled, i cant get rid of them. it looks like something doesn't want it to work during the install i'm a little confused?
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2006, 10:18 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Try to uninstall, driverclean. After you do that, go into program files and delete any sound stuff. Then go to "Run" in the start menu and type in regedit and press OK. Once in there go into HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, click on software, look for Creative, and if you see any Creative stuff then delete it. If you have any other creative products besides the sound card, then expand Creative and get rid of anything that has to do with sound.

DriverCleaner should've gotten that stuff but it's worth a check by hand.

If you find and delete them, then try to install again.

If it fails after THAT, then
1) uninstall the drivers again,
2) physically remove the card,
3) boot up, log in,
4) shut down,
5) put the card back in,
6) boot up,
7) then try to install the drivers again. If it fails after all of that, I can only recommend reformatting. Though it would be a good idea to try your X-Fi in another computer first just to make sure it isn't a hardware problem.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 07:32 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

ok man thanks for your help i'll get to that tomarrow. i just hate these problems that come out of nowhere and you have to take a week learning about **** to fix them.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 07:48 AM
JimF's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: South London/UK
Posts: 221

To check something - are you using the Creative menu on the install disk rather than letting Wndows find the drivers ? - this usually does a clean install all on its own.

I agree with everything in the last post, an addition would be to delete any OEMx.inf files in the \windows\inf directory that refer to creative sound cards (x can be any number) - this is usually hidden so you will need to show hidden files and folders (tools...folder options) first.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 08:26 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

ok i'll check it out. would it be worth doing to setup up my onboard sonud them go ahead and pop in the sound card and set that up? my logic is that this is what i orginally did and it worked fine when i made the switch to the x-fi.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 12:27 AM
JimF's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: South London/UK
Posts: 221

It may be worth trying that just to eliminate the direct sound issue (I've found that a failed sound card install can cause these) - I don't think that has any bearing on the issue where the Creative software doesn't recognise its own card - I think thats an issue with a card identifier written on the eprom on the card which get overwritten with the wrong value.

Your idea may convince the installer software that this is a new install and it could put things right so by all means give it a shot if everything else fails - Good luck and please let us know the outcome.
__________________

Last edited by JimF; 5th July, 2006 at 12:39 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2006, 11:14 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

heres the pic of whats wrong
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w

Last edited by bonesaw; 6th November, 2006 at 11:21 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2006, 11:20 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

heres another message of something wrong
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w

Last edited by bonesaw; 6th November, 2006 at 11:21 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2006, 11:47 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

That picture is almost 4 megabytes. Compress it please. I can't view it with dial-up.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2006, 11:59 PM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

here
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w

Last edited by bonesaw; 6th November, 2006 at 11:21 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2006, 12:57 AM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Thanks for compressing that pic. I googled the error code. It seems like the most common cause of this error is firewall, but that doesn't seem to fit the bill. Just try it with all firewalls and AV off and see if it helps at all.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2006, 01:06 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

heres the other
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w

Last edited by bonesaw; 6th November, 2006 at 11:21 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Built in sound or Sound Card geekbyte EPoX MotherBoards 6 31st December, 2003 02:48 AM
8RDA+ onboard sound vs. sound cards turbo510 EPoX MotherBoards 15 26th March, 2003 10:01 AM
No front left or right sound with 5.1 sound Mr Bond EPoX MotherBoards 1 23rd January, 2003 10:36 AM
Win XP, and no sound Quint Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 19th November, 2002 01:51 AM
Problem with latest sound driver on 8KHA+. Possibly on all VIA's onboard sound. edmoncu EPoX MotherBoards 8 14th October, 2002 02:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0