AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 06:11 PM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

laptop hd replaced

hi,

i have a dell inspiron 5100 that had a hitachi travelstar 40gig 4200rpm ata drive.

it crashed and i replaced it with a seagate 60gig 5400rpm drive. the only difference between the two is that the seagate is an ultra-ata drive whereas i don't know about the hitachi.

after installing it, the dell bios doesn't recognize the hard drive.

can someone please help me?

thanks.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD

Last edited by barneygumble742; 4th July, 2006 at 06:12 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 07:10 PM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

i figured it out...

even though its a laptop hard drive, the jumper configurations are still required.

i set the seagate to cable select and the laptop picked it up immediately.

what's strange is that at work we have about 500+ dell laptops and i'm so used to swapping drives where the jumper settings didn't matter.

barneygumble742
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th July, 2006, 07:45 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Glad you were able to figure out what was going on, Barney!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 01:31 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I thought you needed to order a Dell-erized CD-ROM with Win on it. Glad you figured it out for a lot less money!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 10:06 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

That is the first laptop drive that I've heard of that needs jumpering! Normally the default with no jumpers is cable select - very strange.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 05:35 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Glad you got it sorted out.

Did you notice a difference in performance with the faster spindle speed?

Got a friend that is about to replace a drive and is thinking of going to a faster drive.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 09:27 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

You can move to a 7200RPM drive if you want. However, they do tend to run a bit hotter, so they're not suitable for all laptops. Certainly I've noticed that the faster larger disks now available appear to give a speed boost, as long as the rest of the machine is up to it!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 10:01 PM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

the only drive i could find in an emergency was a 5400rpm drive. the performance increase is definitely noticable.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2006, 11:39 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I replaced a 4200RPM 30GB HDD in a 4 year old Dell laptop with a new 7200RPM 80GB HDD and did notice an improvement on load times on games. Have not had any heat related problems.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get WinXP to boot on mobo and other hardware thats been replaced. Chesso OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 2nd March, 2005 02:13 PM
epox replaced 8rda(bad caps) with 8rda3i whats the warrenty on the 8rda3i? country2 EPoX MotherBoards 0 21st December, 2004 04:12 PM
8kha+ : processor replaced now hardware failuer ericxv EPoX MotherBoards 11 12th December, 2004 04:22 AM
replaced BIOS...got error message please help, or i might cry Invalid CRASHED! 4 17th March, 2003 08:57 PM
Recently replaced motherboard nab572 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 18th June, 2002 04:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0