AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2002, 04:51 PM
ged ged is offline
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: South London
Posts: 7

wot have I done 2 my 8KHA+ (sob)

Hi guys

I would appreciate any advise on what I can do next.

I have a Epox 8KHA+ and I have upgraded the bios to 2221.

This worked fine but then I made a small (!) mistake and set the FSB/clock to something like 166 x 10 (when I meant to do 160 x 9).

On boot., it hung during HD detect.

So, I went into the bios to reset it but the screen was all corrupted. I reset the C13 link and tried powering on with the INSERT key down - no joy.

I have no idea what else I can do.

Is a new bios chip the only answer?
If so, where is the best place to get one from?
The overclocking supplier in the UK that I bought it from hasn't responded 2 my emails as yet.....

tia
__________________
AMD XP 1600+
EpoX 8K3A+
SK6 and Papst 80m fan
Crewshull 256DDR
Enermax 350W
SB Live 5.1
Hercules GF2 MX
A Box to stuff it all in
------------------
So many parameters and so little time....
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2002, 05:07 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

If you reset the jumper on the board, then allow it to boot to a floppy, I'd say try and reflash the bios.

If the screen's still messed up, try a PCI video card instead of an AGP. If it's still messed up but boots, then just type to flash line needed once the floppy stops loading. Be careful not to miskey anything, and you will be OK.

I think there is also an option to boot past the bios to floppy and load / restore the bios from there, but I am at work and don't have my manual to be sure...

It was unclear if you get any display when booting or only the bios screen was garbled.
__________________

Last edited by Pinky; 12th March, 2002 at 05:09 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2002, 06:11 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Clear the CMOS with the jumper onthe board with the power cord unplugged for 5 min.

Boot with the insert key held...and repeatedly press restart untill it boots.

If that wont work try moving the jumper on the board from 133mhz to 100.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2002, 02:08 PM
ged ged is offline
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: South London
Posts: 7

Thanks for the suggestions guys - still no joy tho' - completely, 100% dead.

I think I need a new bios chip.

Can anyone recommend a (UK) supplier of bios chips?
__________________
AMD XP 1600+
EpoX 8K3A+
SK6 and Papst 80m fan
Crewshull 256DDR
Enermax 350W
SB Live 5.1
Hercules GF2 MX
A Box to stuff it all in
------------------
So many parameters and so little time....
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2002, 05:17 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

If it's under warranty I'd recommend contacting Epox directly or ask our Epox tech in the Epox section what they'd recommend.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8kha+ watch22 EPoX MotherBoards 1 19th May, 2003 01:34 PM
8KHA+ and new RAM gadgethead EPoX MotherBoards 1 22nd March, 2003 11:04 PM
Please Help 8KHA+???? Wizard101UK EPoX MotherBoards 4 11th December, 2002 02:20 PM
PSU & 8kha+ tom3 EPoX MotherBoards 0 16th November, 2001 09:21 PM
Whatz the diff between 8KHA and the 8KHA+ Angry EPoX MotherBoards 6 15th October, 2001 12:00 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0