AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2002, 03:55 PM
MotorHead's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Wadsworth, OH
Posts: 2

Unmountable_boot_volume

help please, i know i have a bad hard drive, i'm just wondering what i can do to try to recover some of my data. ive tried the recovery console using CHKDSK /R and it says one or more unrecoverable errors.

it wont let me into windows at all,, not even safe mode without getting that error.

anyone have any suggestions?
__________________
enlight 7237 with intake and exhaust fans 340 watt ps
Asustek a7v266-e with raid and 6 channel audio
512 mb corsair pc2100 ddr memory
athlon xp 1800+ @1.533 ghz
thermaltake volcano 6cu+ HSF
2 40 g ibm deskstar 7200 rpm in raid 0
Asustek agp-v7700ti geforce2 oc'd @ 275/440 using detonators 21.83
emc 17 monitor 1024x768x16 @85 mhz refresh rate
hitachi dvd
johnson floppy
roadrunner motorola cable modem
3com 3c900b nic
windows xp home
wingman rumblepad for all games

benchmarks;
3dmark2001 @1024x768x32, 4700 3dmarks
3dmark2001 @ 640x480x16, 5900 3dmarks

3dmark2001SE demo @ 1024x768x32, 4734 3dmarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2002, 05:13 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

You'll need to boot to a floppy, then try and copy the data you want retrieved in dos mode to another partition.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2002, 11:06 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Wellcome to AOA Forums, MotorHead!

Or, if you have a spare hard drive, or the brand new one you need to replace this one that's rapidly going bad, you can install the brand new HDD as the Primary Master. After the operating system of your choice is installed on the C:\ partition of the new drive, connect the old troublesome hard disk drive as Secondary Master. That's if you're too lazy to change the jumpers on the former old Primary Master, or if those jumpers don't make sense and you don't want to jumper the bad drive as a Primary Slave.

With your new HDD installed, see if you can transfer the data you need from the old drive to the new one. Good luck and hope you don't need it!
__________________

Last edited by cloasters; 14th March, 2002 at 11:09 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2002, 11:20 PM
MotorHead's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Wadsworth, OH
Posts: 2

one thing i should have highlighted >>RAID0<<

Thanks for all the replies,, i think i'm SOL
__________________
enlight 7237 with intake and exhaust fans 340 watt ps
Asustek a7v266-e with raid and 6 channel audio
512 mb corsair pc2100 ddr memory
athlon xp 1800+ @1.533 ghz
thermaltake volcano 6cu+ HSF
2 40 g ibm deskstar 7200 rpm in raid 0
Asustek agp-v7700ti geforce2 oc'd @ 275/440 using detonators 21.83
emc 17 monitor 1024x768x16 @85 mhz refresh rate
hitachi dvd
johnson floppy
roadrunner motorola cable modem
3com 3c900b nic
windows xp home
wingman rumblepad for all games

benchmarks;
3dmark2001 @1024x768x32, 4700 3dmarks
3dmark2001 @ 640x480x16, 5900 3dmarks

3dmark2001SE demo @ 1024x768x32, 4734 3dmarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2002, 12:01 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Sorry for your troubles Mortorhead. Welcome to our forums.
I've had to remove your URL and Icon as neither are permitted in our forums with the exception of our Allied Sites.

I hope you will enjoy our forums.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 15th March, 2002 at 12:04 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2002, 03:01 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by MotorHead
one thing i should have highlighted >>RAID0<<

Thanks for all the replies,, i think i'm SOL
Raid 0 is very nice when it works, and more trouble than its worth once it goes belly up.

You probably wont be able to recover the array, hopefully im wrong.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0