AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2006, 11:20 AM
Con's Avatar
Con Con is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 450
Send a message via AIM to Con

Yum, melted chipset on K7N2G

Any of you guy's seen a chipset melt like this before?

This is my parents PC, which is totally standard and not overclocked etc, I built it for them a few years ago now.

Symptoms: Randomly not POSTing, powering up but the monitor was coming on for half a second then going off again, then it would only power up 1 in a few times, till eventually it wouldn't power up WHATSOEVER...

So to start my troubleshooting, I reseated everything, when I noticed the nasty mark on the chipset (in attached photo). I thought that looks melted, but wasn't sure.

So I took the system home with me, and plugged it into a new PSU to see if the PSU was at fault, as soon as I plugged the power cord into the PSU, the system powered up!? Without me pressing the power button. I couldnt turn it off with the power button on the case either... And then I started to smell melting plastic... So I turned it off.

Definitely a fried motherboard I'd say, but how come it powers up with the new PSU I tried, and not with the old one?

I've decided I'll replace the PSU and the motherboard, I can't risk using that PSU again incase that's what fried the motherboard in the first instance... Any thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails
Yum, melted chipset on K7N2G-dsc00046-medium-.jpg.JPG
Views:	281
Size:	110.9 KB
ID:	18626  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2006, 11:31 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

All electronic components have a limited lifetime, they all wear out eventually, sometimes they just die, sometimes other odd stuff can happen, as happened to you.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2006, 12:06 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Quote:
Symptoms: Randomly not POSTing, powering up but the monitor was coming on for half a second then going off again, then it would only power up 1 in a few times
Same thing used to happen to my old PC. Turned out to be a faulty motherboard. Got it replaced, and all was well.

But yeah, replace the motherboard, definitely. =)
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2006, 12:28 PM
Con's Avatar
Con Con is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 450
Send a message via AIM to Con

I'm gonna have to replace the PSU too, can't risk plugging a new mobo into the old one incase it blows it again!

What concerns me about the PSU, is the one that was in the case won't power the fans up etc, whereas another one I tried actually powered it all up.

Either way, I know the mobo is seriously ****ed, and it'll be replaced.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2006, 01:32 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Well, if you're gonna buy a new PSU, check out Super Nade's PSU guide. It'll help you loads when making a decision to buy one.

=D
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what chipset do i have? barneygumble742 General Hardware Discussion 6 16th March, 2005 08:02 PM
From 3.6 to 4.0 - using 9XX or 8X5 chipset ? wwswimming Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 16th January, 2005 02:01 AM
ATI and their new chipset dpgdog187 64 Bit computing 1 12th November, 2004 04:23 AM
ATI chipset for AMD brian770 General Hardware Discussion 2 27th September, 2004 04:39 AM
New Chipset!!!! The Spyder Random Nonsense! 2 10th July, 2002 02:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0